kse
Member Since 2011
We can't seem to get a break....AMPS 567. I gave 3.5 units.
I need to update the spreadsheet--but, it appears Kitty will have about 2 days in the 300s and then shoot up to high 400s and/or 500s for preshoots for a day or too. I have tried feeding in between shots, not feeding between shots--- I can't put my finger on anything different that is driving the numbers.
I haven't checked the last two days between shots--I felt like she and I needed a break, but today I am going to check some to be sure she is getting a decent drop during the day. I did check for ketones last night and they were negative--- I will check again today if I can catch her in the box.
Maybe the DKA episode did create some of this...I have no idea.
I would like to start over at 2 units twice a day and work back up to see if I can hit a dose---but, after the DKA I am scared to drop the insulin back right now.
Prior to DKA--with just once a day dosing- the amps was always (no such thing as always), but normally mid 300s. Now this big increase and swing, with the twice a day 3 units. Liver training????
There is a good vet school near me--I have considered taking Kitty for a visit to get their opinion on her--but, I just figure that insulin is the only thing that will help her, so what can they offer that I am not getting now. What do you think--should I take her?
Any suggestions this morning?
I need to update the spreadsheet--but, it appears Kitty will have about 2 days in the 300s and then shoot up to high 400s and/or 500s for preshoots for a day or too. I have tried feeding in between shots, not feeding between shots--- I can't put my finger on anything different that is driving the numbers.
I haven't checked the last two days between shots--I felt like she and I needed a break, but today I am going to check some to be sure she is getting a decent drop during the day. I did check for ketones last night and they were negative--- I will check again today if I can catch her in the box.
Maybe the DKA episode did create some of this...I have no idea.
I would like to start over at 2 units twice a day and work back up to see if I can hit a dose---but, after the DKA I am scared to drop the insulin back right now.
Prior to DKA--with just once a day dosing- the amps was always (no such thing as always), but normally mid 300s. Now this big increase and swing, with the twice a day 3 units. Liver training????
There is a good vet school near me--I have considered taking Kitty for a visit to get their opinion on her--but, I just figure that insulin is the only thing that will help her, so what can they offer that I am not getting now. What do you think--should I take her?
Any suggestions this morning?