Kitty even higher this amps---567

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
We can't seem to get a break....AMPS 567. I gave 3.5 units.

I need to update the spreadsheet--but, it appears Kitty will have about 2 days in the 300s and then shoot up to high 400s and/or 500s for preshoots for a day or too. I have tried feeding in between shots, not feeding between shots--- I can't put my finger on anything different that is driving the numbers.

I haven't checked the last two days between shots--I felt like she and I needed a break, but today I am going to check some to be sure she is getting a decent drop during the day. I did check for ketones last night and they were negative--- I will check again today if I can catch her in the box.

Maybe the DKA episode did create some of this...I have no idea.

I would like to start over at 2 units twice a day and work back up to see if I can hit a dose---but, after the DKA I am scared to drop the insulin back right now.

Prior to DKA--with just once a day dosing- the amps was always (no such thing as always), but normally mid 300s. Now this big increase and swing, with the twice a day 3 units. Liver training????

There is a good vet school near me--I have considered taking Kitty for a visit to get their opinion on her--but, I just figure that insulin is the only thing that will help her, so what can they offer that I am not getting now. What do you think--should I take her?

Any suggestions this morning?
 
Oh gosh, I really wish I had some wise counsel to give, but I'm so not qualified in that department! Maybe the vet school could help you out. Yeah, you already have the insulin, but maybe they could help with the dosing strategy?

:YMHUG: Sending a warm cyber hug and good juju to you and scritches to Kitty. You are still my hero and I think you are doing an amazing job!
 
I would suggest getting those mid cycle readings today to see what is happening in the middle of the cycle. If that gives us no insight, then the normal advice would be raising or lowering the dose. I am with you; I am nervous about lowering the dose because of the DKA. My gut says that may be what is needed - you certainly had better numbers at the lower numbers. Raising the dose has not helped.

Are you around during the day tomorrow? Could you go back to 2 units in the am and watch her carefully, getting ketone testing and tests in? See if you get any movement?

Re ketones. Have you tried putting her in a room with the litter box filled with shredded newpaper or aquarium gravel? Sometimes that new box encourages them to mess it up and you can get a sample without stalking.
 
I still haven't tested her this morning--I am going to wait until +6 to see what is going on---she is so over the poking!

I am not around tomorrow. If she is getting a reasonable drop during the day, I probably will keep her at 3 units for a couple of more days to see what happens.

Last week the vet thought I missed a shot (interdermal shot not absorbed), so since then I have a friend that is a vet tech that I have had come give the shots--to take that discussion out of the picture. In fact the tech works at the vet office I use--and truly, I don't think I missed with the shot last week--but, I want to assure the vet, so we do not waist precious time blaming the high numbers on shooting technique.

So frustrating! I am actually nervous about testing her--scared what the monitor will read. Crazy isn't it?!
 
Not crazy at all. Join the club. Testing is a double edge- scary when you get high numbers, scary when you get low. But you would worry if you didn't know either......
 
When you get a chance, can you put all the latest numbers on your spreadsheet? I am going by memory of your threads from the past 3 or 4 days, but I want to be sure I am remembering right.

I don't blame you about being concerned over these higher numbers. I would be too. When you check today, if you are still getting a drop into the 200s from a 500+ preshot, then I would lower the dose. That is too much of a drop for the body to feel comfortable with. If the curve is high and flat - another indicator to drop back the dose a bit. If you do decide to drop back to 2u twice a day - test test test for ketones! As soon as they pop up, bring the dose right back up. It is not something to play chicken with.

As far as the vet school - I assume you are talking about the NC State Veterinary school? I don't know if I would spend my money on that quite yet. DKA changes things. The blood becomes acidic, and organ damage does happen. It can take a month or more before kitty is somewhat back to normal. She will always be prone to dropping ketones very easily now.

Where are you giving the shot? The scruff or the side?
 
Checked at +5.5 and got 333. That is a 234 point or a 41 percent drop--from what I read that Kelly told Laura--this looks like it could trigger the liver. I did not test any more today (Kitty is over it!), but am going to test again in 1 hour--pmps.

If I didn't know the numbers, I would have thought today was a good day--she has been alert and good.

Yes, I am talking about the NCSU vet school. I am not sure that is necessary now---but at some point who knows? I really think I have a good vet---but I am not sure she would ever suggest decreasing the dose.

Kitty was dx DKA, and it was awful finding her in the condition she was in---but, I am assuming she got help early and hopefully won't have as many problems. The ketones were gone in 24 hours and the vet had checked 36 hours before she crashed and she was neg. She had "50" ketones at dx and within 6 hours on regular insulin she was in the 200s.

I just feel Kitty and I need some help--I feel certain my vet will want to increase the dose if I tell her about the increases. I am not sure where to turn. I work a lot of hours and am not home to test for the ketones a lot. If you use aq. gravel in the litter box--how long do you have to collect the sample before it is no good?

Kelly-- are you still coming to Raleigh this weekend?

Kim
 
Re the aquarium gravel. I think you need to get to it quickly. If you can put her in the room and hang around until she goes, it would be best. Does she have a time when she usually goes?

It is good that you remember she had a calm and easy day. The numbers are important but how she feels is a big part of this whole picture.
 
Yes, I will be flying into RDU around 7pm I think on Friday and leaving around 4pm on Sunday. I need to check with my parents about our schedule on Saturday since we are doing a family party for my dad's birthday, but that will most likely be after 3pm that day, leaving the morning free.

What were Kitty's mid cycle checks on the days that she had 300 something preshots?

Maybe lets not back off on the dose until next weekend when you will be home for a few days to test. That way Kitty won't be alone for half the day in case ketones do pop up.
 
I will get the ss updated asap---I am away from the data. It will probably be in the am before I can update.

Kelly, I will pm you tomorrow--thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top