Kitty dose increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
The vet increased Kitty's pzi from 3 to 3.5 units twice daily. I felt like she would increase it, but what was alarming to me were her comments regarding insulin resistance. She said we would try this increase,but that she would not want to increase the PZI over 4 units twice a day. She said if this dose did not get Kitty in better numbers we would need to have a long talk concerning insulin resistance.

She then indicated we might could try Lantus. I might not have enough data, but does anyone see insulin resistance in Kitty's numbers?

I sure hope we will not have to go down that road.

Kim
 
It's always a possibility, but what I notice is that your best numbers were with under 2 units. Before I would think about insulin resistance, I think I would take a weekend, lower the dose, watch carefully for ketones and test often.

I just wonder where kitty would be if your vet had started at one unit twice daily....oh well, spilt milk.....
 
I have those same questions Sue.

Kitty has been through a lot , to have supposedly needed so little insulin early on.
 
well it sure seems like kitty had an odd start with only 1 dose a day. it you want to check a few times every couple of days we might have a better clue if she is dropping and zooming or just hangin in those reds. how can the vet make such an assumption with no curve? it is way too soon to suggest insulin resistance...specially with the lack of data.
if you go on lantus the testing requirments will be more and necessary. not saying that is a bad thing...just saying you may as well start now to see what really is going on during the day before switching.
 
She is boarding at the vet this week, but I know yesterday her pmps was 543 and her pmps was 310-on 3 units. I know she is not hanging out in the reds-/-but her ps numbers are in the high 400s a lot.

When I get her home this weekend I am going to test and look help from y'all.

Kim
 
Bet it will be so nice to come home and pick up Kitty. I love homecomings. I think Lori is spot on that it's too soon to tell without more data and your plan to test over the weekend good. Kitty had a wonky start to insulin and then the DKA. Let's see how things go and then you can evaluate and decide. Give Kitty a big hug from all of us.
 
I've never heard of scaring someone over insulin resistance!!! I believe there is a blood test (IAA or something? we can get you details if you want) that is something like $10 plus some fancy shipping requirements that might make it more like $50. I'm not sure how much people have found useful from getting the test done(?). Maybe some with more knowledge will chime in on that. More or less w/insulin resistance you just keep upping the dose til you get a breakthrough? Not fun of course, but not a huge big deal unless I am confused. I don't think most get the test until you get to doses like 6u or more.

With PZI you don't want to let their body overcome the dose - as you increase the dose they sort of adjust to it and if you don't stay on top of it with dose increases they will need more and more to get any action. That's one reason to move somewhat aggressively with dose increases. There is also a sort of glass floor when you are in higher #s, and sometimes you need more insulin to break down through it and get to good #s. That is short-term insulin resistence I think, or maybe it's another term and I'm confusing the two?

:dizcat

Well anyhow, no comment on your dose, I haven't looked at the SS tonight, but wanted to comment on the concepts a bit. I wouldn't be nervous about going above 4u though (if you get to that point), or particularly see that as a reason to change insulins.
 
I don't understand the 4u ceiling either. Most wait until 5 or 6u before worrying about insulin resistance. Some kitties are just high dose kitties and really do need that much insulin. As long as the dose is raised reasonably, there is no reason to not go over 4u. Also, your numbers before DKA show that Kitty was responding to insulin. Insulin resistance is when the body sees the extra insulin as a foreign substance and attacks it so it can't be used. I don't believe DKA would cause a change like this in her body. I still think the numbers are partially due to the DKA and she just needs more time. My Oscar was one of those with a glass ceiling but no official condition to cause it. We were about ready to go to 4u when all of a sudden he started responding.
 
I've been struggling with the same problem for almost a year. I only joined the message board a week ago, but have tried Humulin and now on the Prozinc. BJ's dose is today at 4.5 units. I tried dropping, but it didn't seem to work....So your dose isn't as high as BJ's yet and the vet has never mentioned that it is getting to high!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top