kse
Very Active Member
Kitty's pmps last night was 407. I check for ketones last night and they were negative. This morning she ate about 1/4 to a 1/3 of a can of fancy feast +9 on her pmps. I don't know if this would have given her a little spike this morning--but she was hungry and she needs to gain some weight (8.8 oz), so I thought feeding her was more important than a few points. I might have made a poor decision---I don't know.
If I was not checking her numbers, I would think she was doing good. She acts more like herself--grooming well, playing some (she is 15.5!), and interacting well with the other cats. Her appetite is BIG--but, she has always been an eater!
She is doing much better (looking at the whole cat) than prior to beginning insulin. I just want to get her in a better range.
Do you think I stay with the 3 units or bump it up? I would like to test more to have more numbers, but my schedule doesn't allow for a lot of mid week testing. Maybe the DKA is still effecting her numbers---causing these swings---who knows.
Kitty will be boarding at the vet a few days next week---maybe I should let them do a curve and see if an increase is warranted.
One more question---when I get a lower than normal number (like the 260 this week) and I shoot less, am I losing the window of opportunity to pull her numbers down? And, does that lower dose roll forward---effecting higher numbers later---2 to 3 cycles out, or after that 12 hour cycle is that dose history? I hope this make sense!
Thanks for the help!
Kim
If I was not checking her numbers, I would think she was doing good. She acts more like herself--grooming well, playing some (she is 15.5!), and interacting well with the other cats. Her appetite is BIG--but, she has always been an eater!
She is doing much better (looking at the whole cat) than prior to beginning insulin. I just want to get her in a better range.
Do you think I stay with the 3 units or bump it up? I would like to test more to have more numbers, but my schedule doesn't allow for a lot of mid week testing. Maybe the DKA is still effecting her numbers---causing these swings---who knows.
Kitty will be boarding at the vet a few days next week---maybe I should let them do a curve and see if an increase is warranted.
One more question---when I get a lower than normal number (like the 260 this week) and I shoot less, am I losing the window of opportunity to pull her numbers down? And, does that lower dose roll forward---effecting higher numbers later---2 to 3 cycles out, or after that 12 hour cycle is that dose history? I hope this make sense!
Thanks for the help!
Kim