kse
Very Active Member
Good Morning Friends!
After the 558 preshot on Tuesday, Kitty (tid dosing) has struggled to come down into decent numbers. I gave sub q fluids last night, in hopes of seeing some better numbers---it did possibly help some--her amps was 379 this morning. This is the first Preshot that has not been above 400 in two days, but it still is too high and not in line with her BGs over the last few months. I started her on Amoxicillin last night, as she started showing signs of an upper respiratory tract infection. I am also going to give her sub qs again today--- she is still drinking excessively. The drinking might be related to the respiratory infection, but I am suspecting it is due to kidney issues. I am going to wait one more day, before taking her to the vet---hoping that the antibiotics and fluids might help.
Sally (dog) had a 409 amps this morning. She stayed in the 100s all last week on 3 to 4 units of N, I was hoping the diabetes was transient, as was the vet. But, it is starting to appear that she is a "true" diabetic. I am assuming the higher BGs, both last night and this morning, are due to increased food intake as her appetite has improved. I increased her dose to 7 units this morning (that is the dose the vet had indicated appropriate before last weeks low BGs) I have shot 7 units into 200s before, so I am not concerned with the dose--- at least, I say I am not!!!
So, I am holding my breath (I know I should breathe!!!!) and trying to remain calm! I am hoping for better numbers today for both Kitty and Sally!
Wishing everyone a Great Day......
After the 558 preshot on Tuesday, Kitty (tid dosing) has struggled to come down into decent numbers. I gave sub q fluids last night, in hopes of seeing some better numbers---it did possibly help some--her amps was 379 this morning. This is the first Preshot that has not been above 400 in two days, but it still is too high and not in line with her BGs over the last few months. I started her on Amoxicillin last night, as she started showing signs of an upper respiratory tract infection. I am also going to give her sub qs again today--- she is still drinking excessively. The drinking might be related to the respiratory infection, but I am suspecting it is due to kidney issues. I am going to wait one more day, before taking her to the vet---hoping that the antibiotics and fluids might help.
Sally (dog) had a 409 amps this morning. She stayed in the 100s all last week on 3 to 4 units of N, I was hoping the diabetes was transient, as was the vet. But, it is starting to appear that she is a "true" diabetic. I am assuming the higher BGs, both last night and this morning, are due to increased food intake as her appetite has improved. I increased her dose to 7 units this morning (that is the dose the vet had indicated appropriate before last weeks low BGs) I have shot 7 units into 200s before, so I am not concerned with the dose--- at least, I say I am not!!!
So, I am holding my breath (I know I should breathe!!!!) and trying to remain calm! I am hoping for better numbers today for both Kitty and Sally!
Wishing everyone a Great Day......