Kitty and Chewy 4/9...She ate the WHOLE thing-- 3 times!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

I awoke this morning to Kitty sitting on the bed beside me and pawing my face! :-D I fed her a food that she has had great interest in, but is not diabetic, renal or heart friendly! But, she ate the whole can! At this point, I think it is most important that she just EAT! I will try to adjust her food to a "better" option if she continues to improve. Like I continue to say, she is extremely weak and frail-- but, the only hope of her improving is to eat and gain some strength. She appears comfortable-- she is sleeping a lot.

I really cannot express in words how Great it is to see her Eat! Her amps was +10 this morning and was 375. I only shot 2.8 last night and this morning, as I know she is not eating enough to count on a lot of carbs. I really didn't think the 375 was so bad on a higher carb food and a reduced dose. I am testing at +10 and dosing either then or at +12-- depending on her reading-- I shot 2.8 again this morning. Like I said with the food, if she continues to improve I will work to get her in better BG numbers---but, for now I just want to keep her safe.

Chewy is Great! He tested 83 this am. I wish he would drop down a little further-- maybe he will as his pancreas continues to heal. He has come to love the other cats--sharing his food with them and licking their heads while they eat. He is the only male cat! He likes his girls! And, we like him!

Please continue to keep Kitty in your thoughts and prayers--she is showing some signs of improvemet---BUT, is still very weak and frail.

Wishing Everyone a Great Day from Diabetic Alley.....
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/9--She ate the WHOLE thing!

This is great news Kim. Continued success to you and Kitty, and all the other critters at the Alley :)
hugs :YMHUG:
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/9--She ate the WHOLE thing!

I am thrilled that she ate a whole can of food!!!! You're such a good mama and I absolutely agree that the main thing is to get some food in her on a regular basis!

Oh, sweet Chewy - taking care of his girls; I'm sure y'all DO like him!!
smiley-10.gif


Have a great day -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/9--She ate the WHOLE thing!

That's wonderful! I'm so glad Kitty is feeling better and Chewy is doing well.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/9--She ate the WHOLE thing!

Good for Ms. kitty for eating. I agree to feed her what ever she will eat at this point.

Continuing to send healing vibes to all.

Awww Chewy likes being the man of the house and taking care of his girls. I'll bet his bg's will continue to come down as he heals.

What a great job you are doing in the Alley.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/9--She ate the WHOLE thing!

Kitty has had the best day today she has had in weeks. I am not really sure why she is doing so much better...meds, the Ptitis relaxing or what, but whatever is going on-- I am Thankful!

She ate 3 cans of food today!!! I had to call the vet to see how to handle the phosphorus binders on such a large increase in food. I still realize that she is not well and has a lot of issues, BUT it is so great to see her EAT! I am shooting bid for now--trying to let things settle down and truly, I haven't needed to shoot tid since she has been eating so little. Tonight at her bid PMPS she was 440---that is not terrible as the food she is eating is pretty high carb. I only shot 3 units, so she probably will be in the 400s or higher tomorrow morning also. I know that I can control the BGs with tid, so for now I just want to keep her safe. If she continues to improve and eat, I will switch back to tid quickly.

It has never taken a lot to make me happy--- and today, I have been VERY HAPPY watching her Eat!
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/29...She ate the WHOLE thing-- 3 times

Yeah Kitty!!! bcatrun_gif You GO GIRL!!!

Pretty soon she'll be ready to celebrate w/ Chewy... party_cat
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/29...She ate the WHOLE thing-- 3 times

I'm so glad Kitty is eating! And you are absolutely right on - feed her whatever she will eat right now, that's the most important thing. You can always shoot insulin around the BGs. And oh how I can relate to being so happy, ecstatic even just to see them eat one meal, let alone three...

Psssst, Miss Kitty, "Nom, nom. nom, nom, Mom's love noms."

flip_cat
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/29...She ate the WHOLE thing-- 3 times

Good job Kitty!! cat_pet_icon

So glad to read she is eating more each day!

Praying for progress for Kitty! :YMHUG:
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/29...She ate the WHOLE thing-- 3 times

YA....HOOOOOOh!!!!!! :RAHCAT GO KITTY....

Kim,
I'm sure this just thrills your heart! I know you are still on guarded territory, but enjoy each moment of triumph with kitty. That is so wonderful. Sounds like she is having some wonderful quality days with you. I love it!!!! Rock on kitty.....
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy 4/29...She ate the WHOLE thing-- 3 times

Go Kitty!
So happy for you that shes starting to eat well.
Just let her eat what she likes for the being.
Still praying and sending healing to Kitty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top