Kitty and Chewy 4/3 --Food Is Bad Today....

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

Food is NO GOOD this morning. Kitty has decided to boycott all foods offered today. I have to think, that she is relating the foods to why she is feeling bad. She was eating boiled chicken--now, NO...then Wellness--now, NO....then Friskies Special Diet--now, NO! I had some treats in a bag and just happened to grab the bag when going through the food choices and her eyes got BIG and she started starring me down. I offered her one, they probably are 30 percent carb---she Ate it! So, I gave her more. I know----but, I don't care at this point. Thinking she might eat some dry food (I know)-- I went to the vet and got a bag of MD dry---she isn't that hungry yet! I swore I would never buy another bag of dry, oh well. I want her to Eat. I think watching her not eat is the worst part of all of this. I am hoping that at some point she will decide to eat something, anything.

Her insulin dosing is getting to be a concern also. I have dosed tid for 8 months and now since she is not eating--- I don't know what or when to dose. Her +8 AMPS this morning was 90-- after a 417 pmps last night that I shot 2.8 into--and she was eating some. This morning, I waited until +12 and she was 357-- I shot 1.5. I have no idea what to shoot-- I can't count on her eating. The LAST thing I need is a hypo. So, I will test again in 8 hours and see where her BG is and try to dance around and keep her in decent numbers. She has been DKA, so I don't want to skip many shots or reduce more than necessary and bring Ketones into this complicated picture.

She seems decent this morning--- sitting in the open windows in the sun...BUT, she has to EAT.

This is so Frustrating. I am willing to do whatever necessary to help her.....but, it is heartwrenching to see her not Eat.

I thought after she ate yesterday, that maybe we were making progress.

Chewy......who knows?! He is eating all of the food that I am offering Kitty that she won't eat. He is in Heaven and gaining weight! I will check his BG soon.

Please continue to Keep Kitty in your thoughts and send Eating Vibes her way.

Wishing Everyone a Great Day....
 
Kim I'm so sorry, I know this is hard to watch ... but Kitty isn't doing this to get you upset, she doesn't feel well, poor baby. Have you tried ondansetron instead of covonia? Also have you talked to the vet about adding pred? I know she is taking a lot of pills but pred. helps them feel better and eat, and at this point??? My good thoughts and vibes are being sent to you and Miss Kitty.

Go Chewy! I like this cat!
Nancy ....
 
Kim,

I'm so sorry. I can relate to exactly what you are going through. I have done the same exact thing - given treats, dry food - anything to get a cat to eat. My heart is with you both. Sending lots of vines for Miss Kitty to feel better and EAT.
 
Hi Kim, I'm so sorry you and Kitty are going through this! This was my life last year for a month with Harley I almost lost my mind because one day he'd nibble, the next day he'd eat, the next day he wouldn't eat. I went through every food at the pet store plus any prescription food my vet would sell me and that includes dry. And this was WITH pred.

I also posted on Health so I won't repeat it here but I second Nancy's recommendatrion of trying a different anti-nausea med. Not replacing the Cerenia but in addition to it. Ondansetron is a good choice. The typical starting dose is 1mg every 8-12 hours. It can be dosed BID or TID.
 
Kim -

I am so sorry you and Kitty are going through this. While I never had a cat with the problems she has, I did go through the not eating with Smokey. I'd follow him around with a bowl and spoon - crawled under furniture, room to room - doing whatever I could to get something into him. I know you've probably already thought of tuna, but I hear some people talk about baby food. Never tried it, so I don't know. I know if the answer is out there, you'll find it.

Don't forget to take some time for yourself, too...a little extra sleep, nice warm bath, a walk, something to recharge yourself.

Hugs and prayers -

Libby and (Hershey, too!)
 
I used Ondansetron when Thumper had p'titis but I think the vet gave her a cerenia injection. I also used the plain chicken baby food like Libby suggested, the one with nothing else but meat & water, it might say broth. She would not eat on her own for several days. I was so worried about her not getting any calories I started syringe feeding her. I went to the pet store at first & got some Cat Sure, I heated it just a bit & syringed that in her. You can check with your vet also to see if they have any Clinicare, there is a Renal formula available with that one. I wish I was closer cause I have some of that. After I was sure she was ok with that I added some baby food with it then got some A/D from the vet. I'm at work till 5 but call me if you need to later. I wonder if I could overnight that Clinicare to you? :YMHUG:

Barbara
 
This is so frustrating. I had my house painted in the fall-- and needless to say, all of the windows in my bedroom were painted shut--so, I have been on a ladder all morning trying to get a couple open so she can lay in them and get some fresh air. She went outside with me for awhile and walked around. She has nibbled at her food and some boiled ham, but nothing of any great volume.

I am going to call the vet and ask about adding the Ondansetron. I am not sure about the Pred-- since it is a steriod and with her heart condition, but I am going to ask. The vet says the heart is going to be what takes her, but at this point the Ptitis is so severe that I think we have to take our chances.

Things seemed better yesterday. I am going to go get the baby food and try it. I know she wants to be home and she is so comfortable here, but I really think she might do better with hospitilization. Though the vet said there is not much additional they can do, unless she quits eating. All of this fight and they have told me her heart might only last a couple of months. They continue to talk about her heart, so it must be bad. BUT, until last week when I was pumping fluids in her daily-- I have NEVER seen one labored breath.

I want so badly to help her.....I don't want to wait until it is too late. I just am not sure what my next step should be.

Thanks for the support......
 
Kim,
Scruffy, my CHF kitty, likes ham too but it contains a LOT of salt which makes him retain fluid that the lasix is trying to get rid of. You might try not to give her much of it altho' maybe eating trumps the salt, that I don't know...

Thoughts, prayers and hugs,
 
I agree about the ham comments! It is loaded in salt, but no worries---she didn't eat enough to hurt her.
 
I just got off the phone with the vet school. They are calling in the Ondansetron to a local pharmacy and we have a 10 am appointment to see the internalist tomorrow. The vet said that they could start more aggressive therapy in the hospital if she is no better. I would rather be agressive than sit back and watch her waste away. I feel better when I am being proactive.

I didn't ask about the pred., but she did mention an appetite stimulant. I will discuss the pred with her tomorrow.
 
Kim,
Odd question, but has the vet looked at Kitty's tongue? Remember last month when I was having problems getting Mullet to eat, and it turned out to be a rough edged tooth that had put sores on his tongue? Well, the first thing the vet told me after telling me it was just a tooth problem was that he noticed these lesions on Mullet's tongue, and that made him check the bloodwork for something specific. It either had to do with kidney's or liver values. But he told me those were okay. He said that "high" readings on something (by this time I wasn't paying close attention! I was like "okay, I don't care what it isn't, tell me what it is!") having to do with those organs would cause lesions on the tongue. Given that Kitty has had high numbers on kidneys(?), maybe she's got a soreness on her tongue that will stop her from eating, just like Mullet did...

The baby food worked like a champ on Mullet. It took 4 or 5 days of eating mushed up food and baby food, but he's now eating like a pig again. And I haven't had the dental done yet. I wish I could look in his mouth to see if the tooth is still a problem, but I'd lose fingers trying. He has to be sedated to examine him anywhere. Heck, they had to sedate him to cut his nails at the vet! It takes two people to do that at home.

Carl
 
So sorry all this is happening,

Just wanted to add that I went through Ptitis with my mother, who is obviously not a cat. But she did stop eating because it made her feel horrible, the pancreas creates the enzymes needed to digest foods and if you can't digest the food it makes you feel worse. Even with pain meds and anti nausea meds, you still feel pretty crappy. She had to go on TPN, which is IV nutrition for a month so that the P would have a chance to heal. Maybe Ms. Kitty really does know that the food makes her feel worse and is trying to just eat enough to get by and maybe give her P a rest. Poor kitty.
 
So sorry you and kitty are going through such a hard time. I'm sure her being outside with you this am and enjoying the fresh spring air made her feel a little better. Being outsdie always makes me feel better no matter how sick i am. I'm praying for her to start feeling better very, very soon!! Will be praying for you both in the am at vet's office. Maybe the anti-nausea meds will help or the appetite stimulant. Maybe try that before putting in hosp. But i know you will make the BEST choice for your kitty. I'm with you on the proactive thing. It always makes me feel like i've done EVERYTHING there is possible.

You are doing such a good job!!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top