Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 +46 117 +47 129 +50 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Good Morning!

Well, what an eventful weekend and Sunday in the Alley. Chewy has been garnishing all of the attention lately in the alley, and Kitty wanted her part of it! Last night Kitty's midshot preshot was 83! :shock: After 4 hours (a normal bid cycle!) she was 273. I reduced and shot 2.8-- this morning on her tid schedule (8 hours) she was 251-- I stayed with the reduced dose of 2.8. Kitty says....."Chewy Who?!"

Now, to Chewy--- He has had no insulin in 40 hours, but I really think I need to shoot a little. His SS is updated and I would like some feedback. He was 152 at +40 this morning-- it appears that he is mostly fluctuating in the 130 to 150 range. He is eating and there is no evidence of a food spike, but also no real drop in the numbers. I am going to retest him in 3 hours, but my thoughts are if he is in the 150 range to shoot .2. I have seen no green numbers or scary numbers-- I am just concerned that his pancreas needs a little "push" to get into the numbers lower. Am I being Greedy? Should I just let him stay in this range and see what happens? The last time I shot was 40 hours ago-- .3 into 182.

I can shoot the .2 and test throughout the day and night. I would think the most "critical" time would be the initial 6 hours after shooting.

Okay, give me your thoughts!


Wishing everyone a Great Day from a warm and sunny Diabetic Alley.....
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

He's doing great!

Now I know I couldn't shoot on those numbers, but Chewy seems to be a little more tolerant of insulin. I agree he's just holding flat, and from looking at the other microdosers ss, they would give a very very small shot when their cats got above a certain number, and I saw alot shooting on rising 150-170. I think part of micro-dosing is actually using the insulin to get BG in low normal ranges to teach the liver that it's not going to kill the cat and retrain the pancreas to the fact that this is normal.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

I am really not the one to give dosing advice. So I am going to give you guys a :RAHCAT.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

Me either, can't tell you how much!! Just can tell you what I've gleened from pouring over ss and talking to cellosmom.

If you do give the shot, be prepared for the fact that your comfort zone as far as BG goes is likely going to get challenged. If Mr. P kicks in you may see a couple hour run in the 40-60 range, which is frightening when that's been the danger zone for so long. You will still want to test, offer low carb food, but not intervene too quickly because cats on microdoses headed toward remission regularly seem to go much lower because it's completely normal, and their bodies are returning to a non-diabetic state. I know cellosmom's cat never went hypo even in the 40's, and mine was acting completely normal on the day she stayed in the 50-60's on me for 2 hours.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

Your choice - your gut, Kim. You can try the 150 with a tiny dose, monitor and it will give you an idea of whether you need to raise the target, lower the dose, etc. You know what to do if he goes low. You can wait and see if he moves up into a range you are more comfortable with, like 180. Nobody knows exactly how this works -ECID. Some cats seem to surf along in the 150-200 range on their own. While it is hard to consider insulin in the lower part of that scale, the thought is whatever you can do at this point to support the pancreas is important. And a tiny bit of insulin will give it a rest.

I agree that Kitten is especially sensitive to insulin and food. Chewy seems to be less so. Both Kitty(Sev) and Cello seemed to be more than Chewy.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

Sue, what are your thoughts if I do not shoot and let him ride the numbers in the 150s. Would you expect them to continue to climb and I will be able to shoot at some point, or that he will go lower on his own, or this is his "new" norm? I know you do not know...just curious of your thoughts. I want him safe! He does not seem extremely sensitive to the food or insulin--that is both good and bad!
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

I think you just have to play it out and see. WindiZ23 stopped insulin and he has been hanging out in the 200s ever since. (We encouraged her to start mini dosing, but I know it is hard to start) Some cats hang out in the 150 -180s and then drop. There was a kitty on humulin on Health last month. She just waited him out, feeding small meals and he came down on his own into a normal range.

I would just say not to wait too long. I do know that some cats whose owners figure the 150-200 range is okay and stop insulin are back in a month or so with higher numbers and have to start over. Those cats look like they may be harder to regulate the second time around.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

I don't know why I did, but I called my vet to get her opinion on Chewy. She said not to shoot unless he was over 200-- and to quit testing and just test twice a week, unless I saw increased thirst and urination. Okay, at least I called........

So, I am going home now to retest him. If he is in the 150 range , I might let him ride out the numbers a little longer. If he is lower than 150-- no consideration of a shot. But, if he is 180 or above, I am going to shoot .2 or .3 and keep him monitored. I can check him all afternoon. Do you agree that if I saw a BIG drop, it would be within the first 6 hours after shooting........probably?

Thanks!
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

I think you should go for it. Especially if you are around today to test it. He's not dropping down by himself so you could give his P a little help, it's probably still healing.

I think .2u in the 150's is a good place to start, see what it does and adjust from there.

I went back and looked at my ss and I routinely shot into 150's. BUT, of course that was after lots of data gathering.

Good luck.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

I have no advice but I'm watching. This is exciting. Both Kitty & Chewy look great.
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

I agree with Robin. But YOU have to be comfortable with it.
Bob guzzled juice, but I shot two units into a low blue more than once. If you can test all day, a tiny dose may be the push he needs.
Carl
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

I left you a pkg of U100s in your kitchen drawer with 1/2 unit markings - did you find them?
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 Let's talk about Chewy.....

DO IT...DO IT! :RAHCAT
I know you have to be comfortable. It's a nerve wrecking position to be in.
I have said if Baxter was ever in the position again I'm going for it. I think we missed the boat last time. The boat might not come back around.

If you are around & able to watch him. You will be able to catch him. You know what to do if he goes to low. Plus, you have all your friends here to help get you through it. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 +44 131...

I came home expecting a reading no less than 150-- and prepared to offer Chewy a drop or two! But, at +44 he is 131-- that is 20 points lower than +40. So, I think it is wise to continue monitoring today and only shoot if I see a true upward trend and readings above 150.

He is eating now...so, I will test in an hour and see which way he goes.

I found this interesting...take it for what it is worth! My vet said that most of the diabetic cats that she sees, that go into remission due to diet change, normally take about 3 to 4 weeks for their pancreas to fully respond. This was her response, before I told her I was on week four with Chewy. If you look at his SS, there has been a definite change each week...the first week he was in the pinks, the second in the yellows, the third in the blues...maybe he is headed to green on his own!

Thoughts? I really want your feedback...and if anyone thinks I am missing an opportunity, PLEASE tell me. I am home all day and night and am willing to be aggressive, I just want it to be a calculated decision.

Thanks!
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 +44 131...

I think you are cautious when you need to be and willing to try something more daring once you have the data, Kim. I think you are doing great. As long as he is bringing himself down and is hanging out near that 120 area, I wouldn't shoot yet.

And I think his is the model spreadsheet - how it is "supposed" to work. Every week, a little less insulin and a little better numbers. It's just that so few of the cats follow the "model".
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 +44 131 +46 117...

+44 131
fed FF flaked fish and shrimp (he loves)
+45.5 117

I am letting him ride it out for now!
 
Re: Kitty and Chewy! 3/12 +44 131 +46 117...

Awesome, and I think your plan is a good one!
Carl
 
Chewy

+50 119

I can't make myself shoot these numbers. Maybe I am looking at his Spreadsheet through rose colored (or green!) glasses, but it appears he is in lower blues today. Maybe he is going to help me with this!
 
He might need some help, but not with these numbers. This is so great to watch!
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top