Kitty amps 149, 299 @+3, 328 @+7, bouncing? Dosing?

Carina Josefine

Member Since 2018
After a pretty big drop yesterday on the 6th cycle of 0.25, could it be a bounce we are seeing today?

Shot something in between Needlejuice and 0.1 at am.

Yesterday She went from 351 to 70 in one cycle. Does that mean dose is a little too big? Even if it did nothing for her until that cycle yesterday.

Dising: stick to 0.25 a bit longer?
Go down from that?

I assume increasing the dose is no longer an option?

I'm in my phone so I don't know how to link yesterday's thread. I'm sorry
 
Hi
Looks like Kitty is bouncing from the greens last night’s cycle.
What dosing method are you following?
It will depend on what dose method you are following as to the dose moving forward. No don’t increase the dose.
If you are following SLGS method you would decrease the dose with that 70.. but if you are doing TR you would hold the 0.25 dose.
It takes up to 6 cycles for the depot to fill and for the full effect of a dose to be seen.
Previous post.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...or-down-boom-3-9-7-5-1-9.223722/#post-2502501
 
Last edited:
Ive just read your previous thread and see you are doing TR. Can you put that in your signature please?

So you will stay with the 0.25 unit dose.
 
On these protocols, are there no difference if say the drop is from for example from 200-100 or 400-100? The latter seems more brutal! I should only look at that one number, and how high she is otherwise, or how big the drop, is insignificant?

If that is a stupid question, I apologise. Still trying to learn :)


Hi
Looks like Kitty is bouncing from the greens last night’s cycle.
What dosing method are you following?
It will depend on what dose method you are following as to the dose moving forward. No don’t increase the dose.
If you are following SLGS method you would decrease the dose with that 70.. but if you are doing TR you would hold the 0.25 dose.
It takes up to 6 cycles for the depot to fill and for the full effect of a dose to be seen.
Previous post.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...or-down-boom-3-9-7-5-1-9.223722/#post-2502501
 
There is no such thing as a stupid question. Asking questions and reading the yellow stickies is the way to learn.

All the numbers are important. That is why we like to look at the spreadsheets.
As far as the differences in the dosing methods.... the TR reduces the dose if the number drops under 50. That is why we like to see tests during the cycles .. to see how low the insulin is taking the BG. And you can increase every three days if needed with TR. You need to test more often with TR and can’t feed dry food.

With SLGS method you reduce the dose if it drops below 90 and you hold the dose for 7 days and then do a curve.

As far as the drops go eg 200 to 100 or 400 to 100, that has nothing to do with the methods. That has more to do with how fast or not the insulin is dropping the BG. You can control that to a certain extent by feeding the drop to slow it down. For example if you find that the BG has dropped 100 points in the last hour you can feed some food to slow the drop and test an hour later to see if that has helped. Or if you know that your cat drops a lot at the onset of insulin, you can routinely feed him just before the onset.
It is all a bit of trial and error to see what works and how many carbs you need to give to slow the drop. Some cats are more carb sensitive than other cats. slowing the fast or big drops will help stop bouncing.
Does that make sense?
 
As far as the drops go eg 200 to 100 or 400 to 100, that has nothing to do with the methods. That has more to do with how fast or not the insulin is dropping the BG. You can control that to a certain extent by feeding the drop to slow it down. For example if you find that the BG has dropped 100 points in the last hour you can feed some food to slow the drop and test an hour later to see if that has helped. Or if you know that your cat drops a lot at the onset of insulin, you can routinely feed him just before the onset.
It is all a bit of trial and error to see what works and how many carbs you need to give to slow the drop. Some cats are more carb sensitive than other cats. slowing the fast or big drops will help stop bouncing.
Does that make sense?

That make sense! Seems complicated but definitely makes sense!

So eventhough Kitty has been on 300+ for days, 0.25 is still a good dose to hold, because she did drop to 70 at one point? And I should be focused on trying to slow that drop?
 
Back
Top