Kitty 9/9 tid.......

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Kitty has been doing really well!

Today, I knew I would not be able to shoot at her midshot, so I arranged for a friend to pick Kitty up and take her to the vet to get tested and shot. I called the vet and explained that Kitty would be coming in---and I told her that I was shooting 3.5Us, but that I was not shooting under 220 without confirming it was a rising number. I went as far as predicting that she would probably test between 260 and 330.

I received a text message from my Friend that Kitty tested 187 and the vet shot 3.5Us :o ----I told my friend to leave Kitty at the vet...that I did not feel comfortable with that dose. My vet called and assured me Kitty would be fine. I then assured her, that Kitty was not leaving there to go home and be alone on that dose.

When I got home, Kitty had been "delivered!" I tested her for her pm preshot--147. This low reading was not meshing with my schedule for the day, so I waited an hour hoping she would be high enough to give a token dose. Can you say REBOUND?! She tested 387. I waited 10 more mins. to retest and confirm the reading....this time 437.

I reduced and shot 3 units assuming the bounce will clear on its own. I wonder if some of the high preshots we see, without testing midcyle could be the result of bouncing from low numbers like these. If I was shooting BID, and only looking at preshots--I probably would have been most disappointed in her cycle and increased her dose--thus contributing to continuing the rebound cycle.

Just my thoughts--but, I think we put too much emphasis on preshots! It is very difficult to successfully adjust doses based on preshots without having midcycle test.

I Hope everyone has a GREAT weekend!
 
Nice #s!!!!! Embrace the blues Cool Kitty, they are more fun than reds!

Psssst, miss Kitty.... way to throw a curve ball at the vets, that'll confuse the heck our of your mom, and specially when she's already stressed out.... yeah, you're provin you're a cat! hehe ;-)
 
Kim,
How did you not slap the vet up side the head? When they shot the full dose into 187, did they at least check to see if she was rising? Then you tell them to keep Kitty there, and they send her home????

I reduced and shot 3 units assuming the bounce will clear on its own. I wonder if some of the high preshots we see, without testing midcyle could be the result of bouncing from low numbers like these. If I was shooting BID, and only looking at preshots--I probably would have been most disappointed in her cycle and increased her dose--thus contributing to continuing the rebound cycle.
Just my thoughts--but, I think we put too much emphasis on preshots! It is very difficult to successfully adjust doses based on preshots without having midcycle test.

You bring up some very good points. From personal experience, I can tell you that I rarely tested Bob mid-cycle. I based doses on pre-shots, and used the "line in the sand" theory for adjusting. Above this, shoot this, below that shoot that.
All I can claim is ignorance. I wasn't a member here for the first few weeks of Bob's dance. I think what I basically did was beat his liver into submission. Now I can perpetually fear I somehow screwed up his liver during the process.
I think that now I have a better understanding of how PZI works than I ever had when I was using it. I suppose if Bob ever goes back to dancing, I'll be more apt to do things "right" and really feel a sense of control over the treatment/testing aspect. I also know that I've reached the following conclusions, keeping in mind that ECID, and nobody understands your kitty as well as you do:
I will never fear the "greens". Even if I'm getting red pre-shots, Bob can be the Kristmas Kitty - reds and greens go together really well! I'd probably go with a dose that gave me greens in the middle.
I would do +6 tests every cycle, even if I had to set my alarm two or three times a day (I have a really screwed up work schedule which is why you'll see me here late PM or middle of the night one week, and just in the afternoons and early evenings the next week.)
I'd also look for at least a 50-60% drop at nadir, excluding obvious bouncy days.
I'd hold a dose as much as I could, but given what I said above, probably not as long as I usually advise people to do.
But it's always easier to treat your own kitty and have to live with the consequences than to advise someone else and live with the consequences of giving "bad" advise. I'd feel terrible telling someone to be agressive and having that go bad.

Just rambling, but I think Kim's original thought about too much emphasis on pre-shots and not enough on mid cycles is a good topic for discussion.
Carl
 
I have been wondering too how your Mom is doing. Hope things are going well.

Midcycle numbers being important? Maybe my badgering has paid off?
 
:lol: Yes Sue, it did Pay off! Kind of funny to hear me advocating mid cycle testing!

Mom is stable and doing as well as possible. She is still in the hospital. Thanks for asking!
 
Sounds like you've had a day! Glad Kitty is doing well. Sorry to hear that your mom is in the hospital but good that she is stable. Sending good and healing thoughts your way!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top