kse
Very Active Member
Kitty has been doing really well!
Today, I knew I would not be able to shoot at her midshot, so I arranged for a friend to pick Kitty up and take her to the vet to get tested and shot. I called the vet and explained that Kitty would be coming in---and I told her that I was shooting 3.5Us, but that I was not shooting under 220 without confirming it was a rising number. I went as far as predicting that she would probably test between 260 and 330.
I received a text message from my Friend that Kitty tested 187 and the vet shot 3.5Us
----I told my friend to leave Kitty at the vet...that I did not feel comfortable with that dose. My vet called and assured me Kitty would be fine. I then assured her, that Kitty was not leaving there to go home and be alone on that dose.
When I got home, Kitty had been "delivered!" I tested her for her pm preshot--147. This low reading was not meshing with my schedule for the day, so I waited an hour hoping she would be high enough to give a token dose. Can you say REBOUND?! She tested 387. I waited 10 more mins. to retest and confirm the reading....this time 437.
I reduced and shot 3 units assuming the bounce will clear on its own. I wonder if some of the high preshots we see, without testing midcyle could be the result of bouncing from low numbers like these. If I was shooting BID, and only looking at preshots--I probably would have been most disappointed in her cycle and increased her dose--thus contributing to continuing the rebound cycle.
Just my thoughts--but, I think we put too much emphasis on preshots! It is very difficult to successfully adjust doses based on preshots without having midcycle test.
I Hope everyone has a GREAT weekend!
Today, I knew I would not be able to shoot at her midshot, so I arranged for a friend to pick Kitty up and take her to the vet to get tested and shot. I called the vet and explained that Kitty would be coming in---and I told her that I was shooting 3.5Us, but that I was not shooting under 220 without confirming it was a rising number. I went as far as predicting that she would probably test between 260 and 330.
I received a text message from my Friend that Kitty tested 187 and the vet shot 3.5Us

When I got home, Kitty had been "delivered!" I tested her for her pm preshot--147. This low reading was not meshing with my schedule for the day, so I waited an hour hoping she would be high enough to give a token dose. Can you say REBOUND?! She tested 387. I waited 10 more mins. to retest and confirm the reading....this time 437.
I reduced and shot 3 units assuming the bounce will clear on its own. I wonder if some of the high preshots we see, without testing midcyle could be the result of bouncing from low numbers like these. If I was shooting BID, and only looking at preshots--I probably would have been most disappointed in her cycle and increased her dose--thus contributing to continuing the rebound cycle.
Just my thoughts--but, I think we put too much emphasis on preshots! It is very difficult to successfully adjust doses based on preshots without having midcycle test.
I Hope everyone has a GREAT weekend!