Kitty 8/3......whew....

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
What a night (91 pmps on tid) and it appears to be continuing today.

AMPS --actually +13.5 was 521
Shot F3.7 (same dose for last few days)
+4. 148
+8. 127
+10 247

pmps +12.5 347 shot f3.7---they fed her at the vet and did not have her food---have no idea what she ate!
+2 382
+4 286
+5 259
+7.5 233
amps +12 356 shot f3.7


She is at the vet for monitoring and testing. It appears we have a breakthrough.

Here's Hoping!
 
kse said:
What a night (91 pmps on tid) and it appears to be continuing today.

AMPS --actually +13.5 was 521
Shot F3.7 (same dose for last few days)
+4. 148

She is at the vet for monitoring and testing. It appears we have a breakthrough.

Here's Hoping!

Go Kitty!!!! That's awesome, Kim. You might have to give up that idea of buying stock in PZI if you end up being able to reduce her dose! What will you do with your extra bottles? ;) :RAHCAT
 
Okay, I have no idea what is going on--but, something changed the last two cylce. Tomorrow make 6 months since Kitty was dx and we have seen few blues and even fewer greens (like maybe 2 early on before DKA).

She did get fluids yesterday--but, they have never had this type of inpact. There is nothing else different--food is the same etc. So, why the big change and will it cotinue?

Today she had amps at 13.5 of 521--not surprised--but, she was 127 at +8 tonight-- she was at the vet. She was 247 at +10 and 347 at +12.5-- the vet shot 3.7 at +12.5.

So, I will just test and monitor and see what is next. Who knows if these numbers will last? I am hoping that maybe the tid shooting broke through some resistance and that she will settle down some. I have no idea when I will shot again....+8 or later, but I will determine that from her test.

Since I am home she probably will surf the 300s tonight!
 
Think about it Kim, something has changed, this is the longest you have held a dose. Add that to the t.i.d. giving her insulin when she needs it! I think this is something! You having patience and making a change, might has helped her do this, you are a good Mama bean! :-D
 
+4 286

Just as I expected-- I am home and very little drop!

So, we continue to test and see what happens!
 
Maybe you test differently than everyone else! It could be you holding Kitty back!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

She is a cat .... after all, she will do this on her timetable, not Mom's!!! but everything looks good, very good! So you are home, kick back and have a glass of wine and smile ..... this is all very good, regardless of where it leads us.
 
Oh my! I just caught up with your post from last night. Cool Kitty is amazing. Go Miss Kitty!!!! Go!!!!
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Come on Kitty be good for mama!

I gotta tell you, I was laughing so hard at the picture of Kitty bolting under the sitters bed! Is she still your friend and willing to sit for Kitty again? :lol:
 
:lol: Me too Barbara---I mean had to disassemble the bed! I am not sure if she will sit for her again...but, I am certain she won't take her to her house!
 
Thanks for telling me where to find the post, Kim. Do you owe the sitter a new bed?! What a riot. Paws crossed for continuing these new numbers.
 
If I was shooting tid--I would be at +8 now and I am at the lowest test of the cycle---so, I am not shooting at +8. While this cycle hasn't had the dramatic readings the last two have---something is still obviously different. I think I might wait this out to +12 and see where we are. I can always adjust back to tid or shoot at +10 if necessary.

I am wondering if this cycle has stayed a little high due to the last two low cycles......

Not sure what is going on!

But, I am sure I am TIRED!!!
 
When Shaikha starts getting longer duration, I cut her dose back and am usually surprised that she actually does better on less. For whatever reason, sometimes a dose that was working suddenly turns out to be too much.

You could go two ways, I suppose. One would be to continue as-needed or move to BID using your same dose (less total insulin per day) or the other would be to continue with TID but cut the dose back so she's still getting less insulin per day, only a smaller dose more frequently.

It's hard to say what would work best, but if her cycles are less dramatic, you may need to give her insulin more often, just not as much per dose as you were. That's my thought, at least. We've had several periods like this with Shaikha but she also goes through pretty dramatic periods with infections, etc. which raise her dose needs only temporarily so she's a little different than most.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top