Kitty 8/22....tid...Pancreas sputtering?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Cool Kitty is still doing good with the bgs. I need to update the SS, but her pmps was 310 last night and her amps was 308. So, our streak of yellows is broken, but we are still okay!

But, Kitty doesn't feel too good. We had another round of vomiting last night. I started the pepcid again this morning and intend on keeping it as part of her daily regiment. I read that about 35 percent of all Ptitis cats have vomiting as a symptom--so, since the bloodwork showed nothing alarming last week, I am assuming that is the culprit. I called the illustrious vet this morning and mentioned IBD, but she said Kitty did not have the elevated enzymes that would lead to that dx--take it with a grain of salt!

My vet does have the Adequan in and I am starting it next week. I really hope this helps Kitty get around better---she is really stiff.

I am happy with the diabetes management at the moment---but, I would like to see an overall improvement in her total condition.

So, we move forward and hope today is better!

Hope you all are having a great day!
 
Re: Kitty 8/22

Considering the delayed shot yesterday, I think low 300s for a preshot isn't too bad at all. I am sorry to hear that Kitty is so stiff. Please let us know how the Adequan works for you guys. One of my dogs is starting to have really stiff hips after his walks now.
 
Re: Kitty 8/22

sorry Kim to hear Kitty is not feeling so good , its tough to watch this happen to our little babies cat_pet_icon sending extra feel better soon kitty prayers your way :YMHUG:
 
Re: Kitty 8/22

Sorry Kitty is not feeling good today. Did you two have too much excitement at the beach this weekend? :smile:
 
Re: Kitty 8/22...Blue PMPS!

Cool Kitty just gave me a blue...I really don't know what cylce this is mid or pm...we just shoot whenever, 8 hours , 12 hours whenver---We are at +9 now and she is 192!!!! Truly, I think this is her mid cycle---anyway... I am not shooting, I am going to feed her and try to go 12 hours.
 
Re: Kitty 8/22....tid.....Blue!

:lol: I can't imagine why you don't know what cycle this is!
 
Okay, I fed Kitty 1 can of FF at +9 on a 192 reading--retested at +10.5 expecting a 250 or higher so I could shoot----But, I got a 162. Could her pancreas be sputtering? You know not! Any other explanation?
 
OMG Kim, her P is coming back. The feeding test is how you know. You feed, wait 2 hours and test again, if their bg's come down by them selves her P is putting out insulin.
 
If that is the case....I only have one word.....Unbelievable! We are at +10.5 with food on board 1.5 hours ago and at 162. You know, the same thing happened Sunday morning when she went 12 hours-- I fed and expected her to be shootable at +10 (I think) and she was lower after the food.
 
That would definitely be Mr. P!! Any time you give food and the number goes down - especially at the end of a cycle when it should be going up, that is the pancreas kicking in. Very good sign!
 
So, assuming Mr.P wants to work...I just want to be sure I understand. I just wait out the test until I get a test I am comfortable shooting. Then I just continue the same dosing strategy I have been using. I have been shooting 3.5 into anything above 250. Is that the same strategy I should continue with?
 
That's what I would do. Wait for a definitively rising number that is high enough to shoot. Just wait it out and shoot as needed right now.
 
I would stick with that until she goes longer and longer between shots and maybe she will go bid. And then we can go from there.

I am so excited for you, all your hard work is starting to pay off . :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
+12 is 180

I still am going to wait and see if she will rise. I don't even like shooting low 200s.....

Did I tell you I am tired!!!!
 
Kim,
It's a dance marathon. "Tired" is not allowed. You are, however, allowed a 1-2 hr cat nap between tests.

Carl
 
There is another option, you could shoot a reduced dose.

PLEASE, I'm not trying to start a war with the shoot your regular dose no matter what people.
 
I am not comfortable shooting the regular dose into these numbers. I would be up testing all night....I am going to retest in an hour.
 
+12.45 189

I should probably shoot a reduced dose...but, I keep thinking she will hit 250. We have had more blues this cycle, than in the first 5 months!
 
I keep trying on my big girl panties and shooting my regular dose, but it always back fires on me.

I wanted to reduse tonight but since he's been doing so well I shot my regular dose We'll see what happens.

I'm not trying to hyjack your threat.
 
Don't worry about hijaking my thread...it's all cool by me

Just tested Kitty +13 is 208-- fed her--I am going to shoot. I normally would shoot 3 units into this, which is a reduction off of the 3.5--but, I think I will reduce further. I can shoot in 8 hours and be on a decent schedule. What do you think?
 
I think you should pick a number, shoot and go to bed!! You are like on the east coast, isn't it late?? go to bed! ohmygod_smile
 
How much further? Are you thinking 2.8 or 2.6?
Carl
 
Nancy,
It isn't late. Past midnight. It's early tomorow. ;-)

Kim, are you near the coast?
Carl
 
Go Kitty!!! If you are trying to get her back on schedule, that sounds reasonable to me. Not that I'm a dosing expert! Yeah on Ms. P sputtering back to life! I'm so happy for you!
 
kse said:
But, Kitty doesn't feel too good. We had another round of vomiting last night. I started the pepcid again this morning and intend on keeping it as part of her daily regiment. I read that about 35 percent of all Ptitis cats have vomiting as a symptom--so, since the bloodwork showed nothing alarming last week, I am assuming that is the culprit. I called the illustrious vet this morning and mentioned IBD, but she said Kitty did not have the elevated enzymes that would lead to that dx--take it with a grain of salt!

What enzymes? That's a new one on me, and I can't recall anyone on the IBD lists talking about a specific enzyme test to diagnose IBD either. You can test B12 and folate to see if there is a malabsorption problem and infer from that, but usually you do an ultrasound or the vet can feel thickened loops sometimes. I'll dig out some links for you to take a look at, okay?
 
Yes, Carl. I was thinking about you also. I actually have a house on the coast and I live about 70 miles inland (straight line). We normally get drilled by the inland push from Hurricanes. Floyd and Fran were terrible here. My hometown is right off of I 95. The weather media seem to think SC or NC will get the direct hit.

The worse shot for us is Wilmington--it is below us and drives the storms toward us.

I hope we all miss it.
 
Shoot what you feel comfortable with. You know Kitty best and her patterns. If you shoot wrong you can adjust tomorrow and get back on track. Don't worry about losing momentum. Get some sleep.
 
Haha Wendy! I figured there were no enzymes that revealed IBD. My vet....isn't she great?! Yes, please get me some info if you have it. She has seemed better today.

I was hoping you would come along.

How is Shaikha? Is the anemia improving?
 
Kim,
Get some sleep! The storm is supposed to (at least till the next update) be heading for wilmington/new river? That means tomorrow will be a high stress day for your area. 18 hours from now it'll be people further east and north that are sweating it. This storm seems to be taking the classic "I'm gonna scare everyone from Key West to Cape Cod" track. Tomorrow, at least, is going to be chaotic where you are.

Dose her, and let her sing you some blues at breakfast!

Carl
 
Yes, hectic tomorrow here....I hope you are correct and it goes out to sea!

Okay shot is in........I reduced to 2.something, 7 maybe---I use U40s. I will adjust in the morning if necessary!
 
LOL,
you know you've been dancing a long time when you have no problem saying (or reading for that matter)... "I shot 2.something", and it's no big deal.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top