Kitty 7/7 amps +5 pmps +5 +8

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
amps. 432. shot 4 units. (Red is better than black)
+5. 201. looks ok to me

pmps. 449. Shot 3.5 units
+5 210 intereresting!
+8 281 Hummmm


I might should have reduced the dose more, but since the preshot was not "alarmingly" high I shot 4 units. I dropped back from 4.7 to 4 and I figured if I see that the numbers run up tonight (2:30 pm), I can drop back further. I will drop to 3, if next test looks like rebound.

New game for us....

Super Cool woke me up with headbutts at 2:00 am wanting her FF. It is Great she is wanting to eat with the Ptitis. I can't wait to get her meds started. She is a great kitty!

We will be okay---
 
Re: Kitty 7/7

And that's what it is all about, how much we love them and how hard they fight! Miss Kitty is a fighter! both of you will get through this just fine ....

If her AM is high still I would drop to 3u to see if that budges it! Congratulations Kim for staying with it! you are a very good bean!
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5

Such perseverance and frustration tolerance you have. But love those head butts - that truly does make it all worth while.
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5

Kim, When I'm feeling a little down and discouraged about Alex's progress, or lack thereof, I'll read one of your posts, and your positive attitude reminds me that I can do this.

Here's to headbutts!
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5

Looks like a good start to the day. Nice slow drop.

I agree that you are an amazing bean, Kim. I always admire how you keep a sense of humor!
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5 pmps

Thanks for the comments and well wishes!

Today has not gone as expected--nothing ever does--that's life!

My vet is off today--but, I do have the bupe and am starting it today. She also will get fluids today. But, it will be tomorrow before we have the consultation.


Pmps was 449-- I know that is not Good, buy it wasn't a crazy 550 or worse. I did reduce to 3.5-- just curious to see what it does. It probably is a short dose, but maybe it will stop the big swings. It will be interesting...

In my reading about Ptitis today-- I have discovered some interesting info. Take it for what it is worth---It is expected that at least 30 % of FD cats have chronic pancreatitis. CP can contribute to insulin resistance, and should always be ruled out when increased insulin amounts are given without achieving better regulation and bgs.

The more I have read about Ptitis, the dx supports a lot of Kitty's issues.

Also after reading, I think the increased insulin units probably are needed.

The good news is -- hopefully with diet and the right regiment we can control the CP. But, there is no guarantee.

We press on......
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5 pmps

Of course it can be controlled! Just look at Payne! (I need to figure out how to add pics.) who is finally thriving! much to the dismay of the 100 lb. puppy! You just need to pay attention and you are good at that. :lol: :lol:

With Payne I have found diet so important .... she can't do grains and starches, AT ALL! but she loves food, especially people food. Plus she has all day to figure out how to get it! I give her raw chicken gizzards and raw turkey meat to keep the edge off, and last resort a dried cut up chicken breast than I buy off Amazon by the case! It is her treat for blood :) but the civvies LOVE also! But our main staple are the FF pates but no fish.

Also, you are doing the SQ fluids, because hydration is so important. I mix 1 can of water to each can of food, although one civvie waits for others to lap off slurp .... then he comes and finishes. :lol:

Although Payne does not throw up or have loose stools, or seem to be in pain .... I give her 1/4 of a 10 mg. Pepcid 2x a day. She also needs pred.2x a day .... I have tried reducing/ending pred. because among other things it messes with her #'s but this is not to be. Because she will throw ketones at the drop of a hat, for some reason, the pred. keeps her even and now doing really well.

So this is longer than I wanted but you get it, you are already doing a lot of this, now the fine tuning begins and I would imagine you are good at that :)

Nancy and Payne
(puppy is moving tail, she is biting it :)
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5 pmps

Well that information is interesting isn't it. That would explain some of the issues she's been having.
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5 pmps +5

+5 210


This is interesting to me--this drop is on 3.5 units. It will be interesting to see the duration on this dose--but, to a novice it appears that the 3.5 is getting as much drop as 4 and 4.5 doses.
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5 pmps +5

Donna and Asher have that same thing going on, it doesn't seem to matter what the dose is they get the same numbers. I wonder if that is one of the Prozinc quirks?
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5 pmps +5

My hopes are that the lower dose keeps her preshot down and reduces the spike at the end of the cycle.

I'll find out the answer in about 6 hours!
 
Re: Kitty 7/7 amps +5 pmps +5

kse said:
Super Cool woke me up with headbutts at 2:00 am wanting her FF. It is Great she is wanting to eat with the Ptitis. I can't wait to get her meds started. She is a great kitty!

And you are a great bean! :smile: I can't believe you get up at 2:00 am to feed her! Callie (Thumper's sister) purrs in my face, stares at me, or taps me on the cheek starting around 4:30 sometimes but I just ignore her! :lol: I'm glad she's not vomiting & still has an appetite!
 
+8 281

I will have to go back and look, but I think this is the best +8 I have recorded lately. She normally is in Zooom mode by now.

Will the numbers hold on the 3.5?
 
Nice to see the numbers are still showing a response! New vial still has kick? Or sometimes after some breakthrough numbers they seem to respond better to lower doses. It's all a mystery to me, but I'm glad to see you are getting some drop. Hopefully you will land in some better PSs and the numbers will come down some more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top