Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4 pmps. +5

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
7/6

amps 258. (tested twice). Shot 4 units
+4. 153


Pmps. 548 shot 4.9
+5. 220


I just love it when a plan comes together! I could write a narrative with a 100 things in it... Ie: fluids last night, food schedule, injections site, increased dose---- but, I have absolutely no idea what is going on.... So, I will just stick to the facts. We've got YELLOW!
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm?

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Hooray for yellow!
Dont you love when that happens!!(confusing but happy!!
GO KITTY!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm?

Yay for yellow!!!
Are you moving back her shot time?? The time stamp on your post was 1:30 am (MT)!
You might need this today ~O) ~O)
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4

+4. 153

Nice and gentle today!

Whatever it takes..... But, this 3 am shot time....geez!
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4

:RAHCAT
Such dedication! At those sleepy-eyed shot times I think I might risk shooting myself! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4

Yay for Kim and Kitty! Good numbers kids!
:mrgreen:
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4 pmps

So much for settling down ---- pmps 548--- shot 4.9

I am still waiting for the rest of the lab work results. She has acted like she felt good today.

I have NO IDEA if I should be increasing these doses or not.

She obviously, does not like the lower numbers!

I shouldn't have been so critical of RED--- now it is BLACK! Geeez...
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4 pmps

I probably should have stayed with the 4.7, but out of frustration I shot 4.9. I am feeding the drop to try to slow it down some.

Any suggestions.. I am all ears!
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4 pmps

Sorry you & Kitty are having a hard time. I wish I had some answers for you.
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4 pmps

All ears .... can't pass that up!

If you think she is experiencing rebound, by raising her dose on really bad #'s .... you are actually shooting into the rebound and extending it.

Since Miss Kitty doesn't have ketones and so far her blood looks good .... I would drop down to 3u and see if that will break the rebound. If you believe it is rebound.

When I was desperate with Payne and decided to do TR, which is shots every 6-8 hrs. each dose as to PS #'s and they have a scale to follow. The theory, I think, is that a cat who always has a full tank, will heal better/faster .... now Payne can take a lot of insulin and chug along nicely but even she went into rebound! and her numbers NEVER go low! What we did take away was the t.i.d. and a fixed dose that we tweek, which got us out of the 400, 500, 600's .... and we started to heal.
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4 pmps

Now knowing pancreatitis is involved -- would you still lower the dose on the next shot?
 
Re: Kitty 7/6 amps .... Hummmm? +4 pmps

Sorry Kitty has pancreatitis. I agree with Nancy and try 3 units to see if the rebound clears. If it is rebound and it starts to clear and you see consistent numbers below 200, the panc will start to heal. But someone correct me if I'm wrong. :smile:
 
+5. 220

Okay, so we have additional issues on our plate, but I don't want to lose sight of the bg.

Would you decrease the dose tomorrow with the pancreatitis involved
or stay the course?
 
Sorry, I don't know anything about Ptitus but I'm on board with lowering the dose tomorrow and letting the rebound clear. Especially if she is going to be getting bupe, once she isn't in pain anymore her bg's will naturally come down and you will be ahead of it.

Now maybe we can see a truer picture.
 
:cry: Yeah I don't know anything about Ptitus either, and even though I often give a big BOO to dose reductions, I would reduce too. Rebound will perpetuate itself and can be a mess. I do like that yellow PS though, and good on ya for shooting a full 4u!!!! I'd definitely be exploring the Ls too. I have only seen a few kitties where reducing the dose really helped, but we'll see. I mean you have to if it's real rebound, but that doesn't mean they'll jump to good numbers when the rebound clears... maybe, maybe not.
 
Well, Payne has pancreatitis and as long as I follow a strict regimen, she is okay. I find that the pred. helps the most, keeps her even and I know not good for her #'s but a leaking pancreas is worse! I think when Kim sets up a course with the school, Kitty will be fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top