Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5 pmps +4 +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
7/5

amps. 393. Shot a fat 4.5
*4.5. 187. Fed the drop this am--2/3 can at +3


Good Morning!

We are still flying just barely under the red radar! She continues to have decent drop, but the preshots aren't budging.

Assuming this is liver training-- and I think it is---how long does it take to breakthrough? The preshots were consistently higher the last week than previously. I am going to update the SS this morning--- please look at it and see if there is something I am missing or something that stands out---Thanks!

I hope all of you have a wonderful day!

Kim
 
Re: Kitty 7/5

Good Morning? Geez, you get up early...that's still the middle of the night in my book! :lol:

Have a good day!
 
Re: Kitty 7/5

Thanks Judy....we are trying!

Barbara--it is the middle of the night for me also!!! I have been trying to shoot a little early--look
what I've created!!! I get to come home mid afternoon to shoot!
 
Re: Kitty 7/5

Shooting mid afternoon isn't so bad but shooting middle of the night would be painful for me. I just got Harley back on schedule.

Good luck today.
 
Re: Kitty 7/5

Am I hearing you saying that you don't/can't always shoot 12 hours apart? I know Barbara doesn't because Thumper isn't always ready at shot time. I sometimes break by neck to be home by shot time. Is this something I can ease back on a litle?
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5

+4.5. 187.

I fed the drop this am--- 2/3 can FF at +3.
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5

It is nice to see the blues on your spreadsheet. But the preshots do seem to remain high. I don't know if it is liver training but they remain consistent.

I like the idea of shooting early but it certainly is easier when you have one preshot that is higher so you can still stay on your schedule. I think you said shooting every 8 hours wouldn't work?

I wish I had some brilliant ideas. All of you Difficult Kitty club members are working so hard and your kitties seem to be so unpredictable..
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5

Good morning (it still is here!)
Let's hope that all our difficult kitties do well this week, especially Kitty so Kim will leave her alone!!

Nancy and Payne
(who is doing REALLY well!!)
 
Re: Kitty 7/5

Ginny & Alex said:
Am I hearing you saying that you don't/can't always shoot 12 hours apart? I know Barbara doesn't because Thumper isn't always ready at shot time. I sometimes break by neck to be home by shot time. Is this something I can ease back on a litle?

I don't think it's the accepted thing Ginny BUT sometimes you just can't help it! Thumper seems to pick the wrong time to do it every time, like this morning, I don't know what I would have done if DH hadn't been home! They would die at work if I called to say I was running late cause I had to give her insulin.
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5

Hey---looong day!

I had an appointment at the vet school today, but they called early this morning to reschedule. So, I figured what was one more week.

I am on this crazy shoot schedule at 3:30-- so, I came home from work to test her and shoot. She looked great-- everything good! Her pmps was 486... I said a few choice words, fed her and went outside. I decided there was no way that could be right, so I retested 12 minutes later and she was up 70 points to 556. Once again, I thought this is crazy-- no way. So, I retested again--560. I shot 4.7 units.

I called the local vet and took her in. Once we got there she was >600. They took
Urine and blood and have sent out for testing. They are repeating the free T test also-- at my request.

The good news was no ketones or urinary tract infection.

I finally did the talking today. For the first time my vet listened--- even wanted the SS. She is not sure, obviously what is going on---but, does think rebound us in play.

I think they are running every test the lab has......Debit or Credit!!!!

They are doing liver and pancreas panels--pancreatitis. I might not like the answers--but, I think I am going to get some.

It appears she is going much higher than the preshot test I am recording. So- the drops are modt likely much greater then we are thinking. The vet asked me to test her tonight at +4, +6 and +8.

Her +4 was 280.


The vet was receptive to tid and compared it to an insulin pump-- in theory. She also mentioned Lantus and we discussed the transition issues with the ketones.

It appears she is getting more drop than we thought-- because she is in big time zoom
Mode at preshot. I took the monitor and showed the vet the afternoon readings-- she said she had never seen an increase like that in 12 mins.

So, here we are...... Not really knowing what us going on. First test results back tomorrow, with the remainder in by Friday.

I think it is Major Rebound-- any thoughts from y'all?
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5

When I was giving Squamee insulin, I aimed for a 12 hour schedule, but considered it acceptable to have a 2 hour leeway, shooting between +10and+12.
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5

I am not knowledgeable enough to answer about these numbers. I hope some of the test results provide some clarity. I am glad your vet is finally listening. Will you be able to take those test results when you go to the vet school next week?
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5 pmps

I'm so very happy to hear Kitty has no ketones or a UTI. That's wonderful news!!!!

With the difference in your meter readings my initial thought was meter variance, but probably not.

Does the vet want you to reduce her dose?
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5 pmps

Jury is out on the dose.

You can tell she doesn't feel great-- but, eating, peeing, grooming, & poop is normal-- just kind of lazy acting-- I hate to say lethargic.
 
Re: Kitty 7/5 amps +4.5 pmps

Wow you and Kitty had a big day. I'm not sure what to make of those crazy high numbers.

I guess do the best you can until the test results come back.

Hang in there.
 
Did they look at her mouth to see how well she is healing? I still think that may have something to do with it.

I really think the zooming is a mixture of the insulin wearing off and the liver kicking in slightly which equates to such a huge leap in numbers. A way to see how much is bounce and how much is duration is to try TID when you can.

With the L's when you switch, especially with a higher dose kitty, you don't go back down to 1u. Usually it is a slight decrease in dose - I wouldn't go any lower than 2u to start with if you did want to switch. I personally went from 2u of prozinc right into 2u of Lantus and still needed to increase from there.
 
You don't really get past liver training, from what I have seen, until they spend some time in greens - something on the order of a few days I would say, not all the time in the greens of course, but several hours a day for a few days running. Some cats settle down quickly, some take longer. And there is also a factor mixed up in it of whether or not their pancreas starts kicking in. If their liver settles down and panc starts up, then the numbers get a lot better. But if their pancreas isn't sputtering, I'm not sure what that looks like. I wouldn't expect to see any settling down of the PSs simply from spending some time in blues. Maybe it works that way, but then you'll probably get more liver kicky-ness when they do hit greens, so back in the mess.

I do think you may be right about her zooming higher after the PS and then the drops are steeper. We have seen patterns that look like rebound, like I think it was yesterday she got a high +8 or +9 and then was lower again by the next +12 - that's classic rebound. I didn't see a steep drop, but if she was a lot higher already by +1 or whatnot, then yeah, that could explain a lot.

TID or different insulin seem like the choices to me. I don't think it's chronic rebound, I think it's just these past few days when you've been getting a good-sized drop. It's the same catch-22 we've seen with others - you can't really lower the dose, but you can't raise it, or even keep it steady if it's causing rebound. If it were me I would be looking at going to one of the Ls, and I would get info about possibly adding R into the mix in the short-term until her shed is full (or whatever the right phrase is!), to get her numbers down. TID is beyond me, but certainly it has been a great strategy for a lot of people.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top