Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps +5.5 Blue!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Happy Forth to All!

7/3

pmps 429. Shot 4.1 units
+2. Fluids
+3. 245
+6.5. 232.

7/4

amps. 385. Shot 4.1 units
+4.5. 193
+7 227. (edit from +6)
+9. 451. Ugh.....

Pmps 388. --- tested twice-- I have no Idea--shot 4.5
+5.5. 178. Starved! Fed


amps---Not much better.... But, thankful it is not RED!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5

+4.5 Blue! 193

Doesn't look bad so far.... Please no zoom!

All the relatives and friends are at my house for the bash this afternoon. I hope they don't stress her out as much as they will stress me out!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5

I will be glad when they go home and they haven't gotten here yet!!!!

Marcy, Robin, Ginny and Sue-- I hope you all gave a Great Day!!!

We live in a wonderful place. I have traveled to many places and can tell you on this patriotic day -- we are blessed!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5

No stress or zoom for Kim & Star Spangled Kitty.

Have a great day and enjoy your family and friends. party_cat
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5

(my internet keeps going out!!! Ugh!)

You could always use Kitty as an excuse to escape for 5 minutes. ;-)

What's on the menu?
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5

Menu...

Southern Flare!!

Bar B Qued Ribs, Bar b Qued Chickens, potato salad, baked beans, corn on the cob, slaw, apple pie, homemade ice cream and of course---Wine And Beer!!!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5

Yum! I knew it would be good that's why I had to ask! I would definitely save room for the apple pie and homemade ice cream.
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5

Happy 4th everyone!

Kim, nice numbers today so far!
nice to see the blues early, hopefully she will surf them today

have a great day and fun at your party!
:mrgreen:
Denise and SHakes
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5

Yay for blue! Hope the company doesn't stress her out! Boy, would I love some homemade ice cream, haven't had any of that in quite a while! Have fun with your company!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +6

+6 already showing upward movement.

Ok-- I know I need to wait for the pmps to pass judgement. But, here is my assessment until now-- the 4.1/4.2 range does not give her as much drop. There is movement--- but not deep-maybe 50 percent per cycle.

She acts A Lot better today---so, I am wondering how those drops and zooms are effecting her. She seems to feel better- I am attributing that to the flatter curve. I have no reason to think this will happen-but, I wish the preshots would continue to slowly drop, less liver training, and I could shoot her down gentle. But, if we get a 400 pmps, I think I need to get more aggressive with the amount dosed.

Food really effects her bg-- and she always eats more when I am here. She is a pig today, but I am feeding raw snacks to keep the carbs down.

Thoughts?
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +6

I'd reverse your logic a little bit - if she doesn't zoom so much and she gets a lower PS, that is the opportunity to edge the dose up a little bit (I'm not talking raise the dose on a 150 PS, but if you get a yellow or pink), and then you have some hope of a good nadir without a steep drop. When you raise the dose on the PSs only if they are above 400, then you are setting up a steep drop scenario.

There are a couple choices there: 1) don't raise the dose on the higher PS, and see if that lands you with a lower PS, and then ramp the dose back up at that point to go for the good nadir. 2) Go ahead with the higher dose, feed the drop, and then if you can, maybe shoot at +10 or +11 at the end of that cycle (if it is looking zoomy) to head off the highest of the numbers.

Or sometimes she seems to naturally get slightly lower PSs, so you can just seize those when they come and raise the dose a little bit and see how it goes.
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +6

Just to clarify, when you are talking about raising the dose on a higher PS, that is more or less a sliding scale approach, which has been used with success with PZI. The problem is that if you aren't hitting green nadirs from lower PSs, your lower end doses are too low. So I don't mean to counter the normal concept that one may need higher doses on higher PSs to get to a green nadir, that concept still holds. I just mean that if ALL the doses on the scale are too low, raising the dose on the higher PSs is asking for steep drops, and not raising it on the lower PSs is missing an opportunity IMO. Hope that makes sense!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7

Pretty irrelevant-- but, the +6 posted was actually a +7 reading!

Edited
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7

Are you going to obsess over numbers on the Fourth .... walk away from Kitty and let her enjoy, have fun with your party! You need a hobby! (other than poking!)
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

Well, We now have the "Red" part of Red, White and Blue....

+9. 451

Two things I think I am convinced of -- duration is 8 hours and the lower blue is not creating the zoom.

Today, she dropped considerably less -- but, had the same zoom.

I am seeking input-- but, my intention is to shoot early and increase considerably.

Thoughts?
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

Sorry about the +9. Some of that might be stress from the party, but it does look like the insulin is only working for 8 hours. I have no advice on shooting early and at what dose.
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

Party hasn't started!!!!

I am thinking about canceling!!!!

I shot this morning at 4:15 am. I am going to check her again in an hour. All this is weird to me-- I started a new vial and am getting good drop and NO duration. Duration has never been a problem. I think I am going to have some bloodwork done tomorrow, just to be sure nothing shows up.

But, everytime I get a new vial something changes-- good or bad. I have two partial vials in the fridge...I might shoot out of one of them tonight.

How within a week can she lose duration?
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

I'm not sure this is all aboutl the insulin, because there are so many other factors .... it does occur to me had you been shooting t.i.d. she would not have gone into the reds. And don't cancel!! it is a holiday!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

Thanks for not YELLING Nancy! I know you want too!

I know what you are saying, about the insulin-- it is just a thought. I have 1/2 of the 2nd vial left on my spreadsheet-- I might try it. What do I have to lose?!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

Why aren't you playing hostess? Remember yelling is all caps. :lol: :lol: :lol:

ONE MORE TIME (now that is yelling!)
You can re-arrange all the chairs on the deck of the Titanic BUT in the end .... the insulin doesn't last 12 hrs. it is that simple. You have been home all this time and you still are re-arranging chairs. You want to keep her out of the reds, not good for her .... if you need to give her insulin more often??? what is the difference? it is the one thing you haven't tried or figured out the % of :)

OKAY NOW I'm done and I'm opening a bottle of wine, even though it's early here, I want to be awake for the fireworks!!

Nancy and Payne
(who feel like we are moving a rock uphill with nose but this is my last!)
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

Or the other way to get longer duration is to switch to Lantus.

At the Vet school tomorrow you can have her looked over, ask your list of questions, have all the tests you want done and talk to them about switching insulins.

Now go enjoy your party. :-D
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

I agree that the zoom is probably a duration issue more than a bounce issue. Going tid when you can would be a good option - but don't expect many vets to be in board with it at all. Its just not something they normally deal with and they more than likely won't have experience with it. I'd think about shooting 4.5u tonight. What do you think?

btw----- that menu for today sounds wonderful!!!! Makes me miss home :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

Getting ready to test..... Thinking.... confused_cat
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9

You could use one of your old vials tonight and shoot 4.5 units, and talk to your vet tomorrow about the items Robin listed. Kitty may benefit from an insulin change. If you do change, talk to your vet about getting R because the L's have to build up the shed and I would hate to see Lady Liberty Kitty put at risk of going DKA.
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink!

Imagine this....pmps 388-- checked twice???
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink!

Nice!!!! I like Joanna's idea of being more aggressive on the lower preshots.

Have to run, DHs parents are on Skype.
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink!

Go figure on the pink pmps...... Guess her pancreas is working (lol)!!!!

Shot 4.5 out of the same vial confused_cat
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

Kitty keeps you on your toes! My guess is the zoom was a mini bounce + duration length issue, so the pink preshot is because the bounce has already wore off.
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

I really want to test...... it is +3...but, I am going to give the ears a break.... Maybe! I will test at +6 on this dose.

She growled at all the company!!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

My cats run off & hide everytime someone comes over! Are you really taking her to a vet school tomorrow?
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

I'd growl too .... you might as well go to Lantus, you test like they do :) no take that back!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

I'm practicing!!!

I need to start practicing putting a link to yesterday's condo at the start of each thread! I'll do that tomorrow.

And......whew, I better pay attention to the candles!!! I can only imagine....
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

It's typically a rebound pattern when the +6 is decent, +9 is high, +12 is back somewhat lower. Of course rebound can be liver training or steep drop - doesn't look like she hit any lows. Or it could be the 451 reading was off. I don't really see where a bounce would come from on this cycle, unless she dropped a lot on either side of that +4.5. I can't see that a high blue should really cause that much liver training reaction.

confused_cat

Sorry you are having a tough time.
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

Tell me you didn't do a candle again??? Sue, oh Sue!! :roll:

Company gone? my last person just left, now if my children will go ..... it will certainly be a celebration!

Nancy and Payne
(loving the AC and looking really good!)
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

No, I didn't do another candle.... I was just imaging if I did one by mistake in LL.....Whew!
 
Re: Kitty 7/4 amps +4.5 +7 +9 pmps pink??!!

I think over there Sue doesn't yell at you, it's off with your head! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
+5.5 178-- she is starved... Trying to get in the fridge! I fed her--1/2 can FF.

Please no zoooommm!
 
Some kitties seem to be more sensitive to the drops too, she could be one of those. I mean, it doesn't look steep to me, but maybe it feels like it to her, especially when she might not be used to it. Hopefully it is a good hungry and she is feeling ok!!! We will all breath easier if her #s calm down soon!!!! I remember vaguely how incredibly stressful it is and how you hang off of every number and have an emotional rollercoaster that matches the BG curves. It does get easier though, especially if you can get them regulated and get more of a comfort level with the greens & blues. It's a journey though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top