Kitty 7/30 tid...How do you stop bounces?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
7/29

amps 296 shot 3.7

mdms 342 shot 3.7
+2.5 312
fluids
+5 250

pmps 217 shot s3.7 (overlap?)
+4 173


7/30
amps 371 shot f3.7
+4 198 BLUE!!!

mdps 429 Boing...she hates blues!
+5.5 285

pmps 320 shot f3.7


Good Morning,

So we had a great cycle going last night.....BUT, we know Cool Kitty does not like blues---this morning's amps reflects it.....371. I shot a fat 3.7.

I don't know how we will make any progress------ She HATES blues! I intend on sticking with 3.7 through today, but if nothing changes I will increase to 4 units tonight. I really think she needs more than 3.7 to substain lower numbers. Even with the bounce this morning-- It does appear the BIG bounces have subsided.

Wishing everyone a Great Day!
 
Re: Kitty 7/30 tid

She may not like blue but at least she saw one so you are making progress. Lets hope she sees another one today. Fingers and paws crossed.
 
Re: Kitty 7/30 tid

We have BLUE....!!!!!!!

amps +4 198.......okay maybe it is purple...but, the chart says it is blue!

Waiting for the BOUNCE!
 
Re: Kitty 7/30 tid

kse said:
We have BLUE....!!!!!!!

amps +4 198.......okay maybe it is purple...but, the chart says it is blue!

Waiting for the BOUNCE!

Ha! I know the feeling. Go blue!
 
Re: Kitty 7/30 tid

Woohoo blues!!! She will get used to them and come to love them hopefully (or decide they are too high for her and she prefers pretty greens even!).

Go Cool Kitty!!!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: Kitty 7/30 tid...Boing!!

mdps 429

Her liver hates Blues......I shot the same F 3.7.

Think about it, this was truly a +8 reading! So, does this ever stop? Everytime I up her dose enough to get her into better numbers, we contend with this bounce.

It appears I have two options---I can reduce the dose and have flat mid yellow to mid pink curves or try to fight the liver.

She has felt good today ---I felt like the last few days, I had seen an increase in urination and drinking. Today she has seemed better.

Any thoughts, sympathy,anything??!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/30 tid...Boing!!

My thoughts are that you are doing a great job, you are pushing through incredible circumstances and you are going to fight until you win.

Here is your sympathy :YMHUG:
 
Well, I have sympathy ..... and understanding. Sometimes on t.i.d. it seems that in your mind, over-all is the daily dose. I have found that if I stay around 12u a day, we are okay. When she has a flare-up (CP) I will up her dose and then when she is better it becomes too much and we head back to the 12u a day.

You know that every time you see blue, your gonna see red or high pink .... rebound? liver training? not sure .... but you know it happens. This dance is very, very complicated and we know, the better we know the steps, the better we do the dance. We learn the steps by doing what we are doing, don't question that you are doing well, you are ..... now what were my choices again? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
I admire your drive and your determination, kool kitty has a pretty kool mom to ;-) you've got what it takes to take the bull by the horns ( I wish I was more like that ) I was tip toeing thro the tulips , I wish we lived closer so we could have a glass of wine together :smile: I think you do wonderful ! :YMHUG: ( if I would have a glass of wine I would no doubt pass out lol !)
 
Ditto to everything Nancy said. Don't be too upset -- remember that Kitty still is fighting pancreatitis. It can takes WEEKS for that inflammation to calm down, so I think you are doing remarkably well given all of that! Heck, I'm adjusting dose all over the place trying to keep Shaikha in balance with this recent flareup. At this point I'd relish the consistency you've got with Kitty! :lol:

Shaikha also doesn't seem to like the low blues or greens, and her liver freaks out when she gets close. Usually, though, bounces don't last long and then we are back to the races. What I've allowed myself to do is not chase the blues or greens too hard. I want us to get there, but we are balancing so many health conditions with her that it will likely be a marathon rather than a sprint. That's not to say I don't want to be aggressive, but she doesn't have a relatively healthy pancreas or liver compared to other kitties without the same problems she has.
 
The only way to get the system used to those blues is to get her seeing them more. You can't decrease to avoid the bounce because then you will never get to see better numbers! So glad to see blue for Kitty! I hope that liver stops panicking on those numbers soon!
 
Hang tough kid!
you are doing a great job with this f'in dance...
just rmemeber that you are doing everything you can,
and she is a very lucky Kitty!!
now go have a glass of wine and chill

and yes it is a shame that we all dont live closer together!

Densie and Shakes
 
mid cycle +5.5 --pretty decent drop to 285 from 429


Think I will have a glass and toast the drop...truly, I was going to have one anyway...either toast the success or drown the sorrow!!!!
 
I am feeling pretty good...the weekend night cycles never seem to worry me as much for some reason!!!! :lol:
 
Well, I don't like wine...I want bananna rum in pineapple juice, but I drank it all!

drinking24

Kim I think you are doing great. I know I couldn't do as well as you!
 
Banana rum and pinapple juice???? That actually sounds pretty good...frozen or on the rocks?
 
If you are seeing liver training bounces, the quickest route from what I have seen is to get them in as good numbers as possible for as long as possible. You can't lower the dose, or the liver goes haha_smiley and thinks it is right.

If you are seeing rebound from steep drops, then you need to reduce the dose. If that leaves them sitting in higher numbers b/c you can't ever get away from the steep drops, then you do something like TID like you are, or switch insulins. Hopefully she won't get too steep of drops on TID.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top