Kitty 7/29 tid....pmps dose advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
7/29

amps 296 shot 3.7

mdms 342 shot 3.7
+2.5 312
fluids
+5 250

pmps 217 shot s3.7 (overlap?)
+4 173




HELLO YELLOW!!!!

We started a new vial yesterday. I reduced the first cycle on the new vial to 3.5--just in case it was a zippy vial!!! But, outside of that cycle I have been shooting 3.7---and it looks like she likes it! We have spent a lot of time in the yellows the last 24 hours----- a tremendous step for us. ***negative Ketones!!

I am just hoping the trend continues....we are not greedy!

I wish everyone a Great Day

Thanks everyone for the input and time you contrubite to PZI. No words can express my gratitude. Your time and service to FDMB is invaluable in continuing to help Diabetic kitties. We are very fortunate to have a group of dedicated "experts" to guide us in our everyday life with our sugar cats.....Thanks to everyone for giving so unselfishly!
 
Re: Kitty 7/29 tid....Hello Yellow!!!!

Love it!
looks like it will be a good day for you 2
Have a good one! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Kitty 7/29 tid....Hello Yellow!!!!

Kitty likes the yellows! Go Kitty! Shaikha got a yellow today too finally, so maybe it is catching. :)
 
Re: Kitty 7/29 tid....Hello Yellow!!!!

Nice to see all the yellows you've been getting and no bouncing around.

And I agree, we have a great group where everyone checks in on and helps each other, it's a beautiful thing.

Group hug. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Kitty 7/29 tid....Hello Yellow!!!!

The quotes around "experts" being the key, lol ;-) (no offense anyone! I just cringe that anyone might mistake me for an expert!)

C'mon Cool Kitty, it's time for a breakthrough!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (but please don't scare your mom! ;-) )
 
217 pmps---should I retest or shoot a reduced dose?

lowest test this cycle..... been shooting 3.7
 
I thought the rules were to only shoot a rising number.....who knows if this is rising? At +5 she was 250.......I am cool and I don't think she will drop anymore, but truly I didn't think she would be at 217 either!

Okay, so shoot 3.7 into 217?
 
I might be tempted to hold the dose, you havn't gotten any too low numbers, but it is night time and if you aren't going to be able to test you could decrease some and go back to normal tomorrow.
 
Well, I just fed......now I just need to shoot.....I know she won't hypo, but why am I chicken Sh*t on these numbers?
 
I'm probably late, but I hope you stayed with the same dose.

Carl in SC
 
Nancy makes a great point. He's gotten more before and did just fine.
I also have to say...
I've been reading and posting in a lot of threads lately where people are debating with themselves over .1 or .2 increments in doses, like "do I shoot .4 or .6?" It really drives home the ECID concept. You however, are dealing with "big" numbers like 3.5, 3.7, and 4.1 and I have to tell you it's actually refreshing to see someone who is dealing with high doses like I have had to do.
A couple weeks ago, I sat here thinking "what would people say if they saw me ask "OK, Bob is at 200. Do I give him 3 or 4 units tonight?" I never asked, because I assumed (most likely unfairly) that people would start hammering me with "OMG, that's a no-shoot number!". My bad, I haven't given people here a fair shake. I just hadn't read any posts where folks were dealing with large doses.
I can see from this thread that there are people like me out here who are agonizing over how or if to reduce a dose as high as 3.7u when kitty is lower than 300 for instance.
At the height of Bob's dosage, he was getting 3u am, and 4u pm. He started like most cats at 1u BID. He went up that high in about 5 weeks.
Tonight I'm looking back at his log, and on June 26th, he got 7u and both his readings were under 200. But, that is what HE needed at that time in order to stay under 200. ECID. On Aug 19th, he was given .5u BID and I shot under 100 both times. At nadir, he was above 50 both times. His body sort of laughed at .5u basically. On June 20th, I said "hell with this, I'm not shooting, let's see what happens." Since then, he has not had a drop.The highest reading I've had is a 97, the lowest a 54. He's lived pretty much between 65 and 80 for 10 days. Since day one of home testing and shooting, I never had a hypo with Bob. I was worried about it pretty much constantly, but it just never happened.
Didn't mean to ramble, but I guess my point is this. Kitty is living in the 7u a day range right now. But as long as you keep him above hypo range, he seems to be okay with what you're doing at 3.7 or so. BUT, he could be a month away from the falls if his body decides that it's ready to make insulin by itself like Bob apparently did. In the meantime, as long as you are watching for a big drop, and I am sure you know what to do if it happens, then you can deal with this. You already have been, and it looks like you've done a great job so far. Kitty just seems to be taking his sweet time (no pun intended) healing.
Carl in SC
 
In an effort to clarify....Kitty is being dosed tid. She is getting insulin three times a day. My biggest concern in her dosing decision tonight, was the consideration of insulin overlap from her midcycle dose.

Normally with tid, you are advised to shoot a rising number--- the 217 was Kitty's lowest reading in her mid clycle and it occurred at +8(pmps). If she was being dosed bid, I would have no doubt that the appropriate decision would be to stay with the same dose. But, the situation for Kitty was different, based on tid dosing protocal. This is only the second week of tid dosing for her, so most of the data we have collected was based on bid.

Kitty is receiving close to 10.5 units of insulin a day (tid)---- and that amount probably is too low.
 
Carl, that is awesome you have gotten Bob well-regulated (or OTJ? I'm not sure I followed). I agree sometimes we are too conservative with the no-shoots. My experience has been less hammering anyone not to shoot, than trying to get them to go ahead and keep the dose close to the regular dose. I think we should actually be having it more like a starting no-shoot of 180, and then a *slightly* reduced dose if it is 180-200, full dose 200+. The idea though is to start at 200, collect data, and gradually lower it to 150. Somehow though I think people have gotten so shy about it that it's rare anymore to see anyone actually shooting a decent dose at 150 (which is the goal IMO, and maybe you take a couple weeks to get to the goal, but not much longer than that if possible). Part of it I think is we have so many cats with really varied PSs that their peeps are having a hard time getting much experience with PSs in the 150 - 200 range. I don't feel comfortable advising anyone to shoot under 150, but I know there are a small number of people who have done that, and like you, just don't post too much about it publicly. :-D

Kim, I don't know about the rising number thing. That was the rule I was told, but I know with Kitty so far it has seemed like you need to bypass that to get anywhere. Hopefully some of the TID peeps have been able to advise you on it. I'm kind of sitting on the sidelines on that one. If it were me, I would only shoot on a rising number, but then I would not be able to stomach TID in any case and would have switched to one of the Ls long ago. :-D
 
I have been told many things about t.i.d. but after almost seven months doing, it is a little different than b.i.d. and I think one of the differences is the rising number thing.

With kits like Payne and Kitty, using a no shoot # is usually the best and a lot of the time you don't know what #'s came before, like your AMPS # ..... unless you are Kim and wake up and test at 3:30 AM. :mrgreen:

With Wendy's Shaikha, who does go low, then I think it makes sense, you don't want to shoot if she is falling.
 
I only shoot if she's rising because throwing more insulin on top of insulin that is still actively working leads to unpredictable results. Look at what happened the other morning as to what can happen. :shock: In that case, Shaikha was much lower than I thought as she was actually falling when I thought she was rising when I shot, which led to pretty low numbers.

What I do myself is to test at +7 or +7.5 routinely to ensure she's rising unless I'm certain she is based on prior numbers. I usually do that in the AM, for example, when I don't have data collected overnight. If she's still falling, then I don't shoot - I wait until she is rising before I will. Usually it doesn't take much -- 15 min to an hour at most as she tends to be a zoomer. I tend to worry more about numbers below 200 than ones above that, though since there is less room to fall further on lower ones. If she's at 215 at +7 and around the same at +8, I'll give her a shot. If she's below 200, that's when I'll do more rising number tests to be certain. I never shoot below 150, but will shoot above that as long as I'm certain she's rising.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top