Kitty 7/23 tid---pmps YELLOW!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
7/22
amps 314 shot 3 units
+4.5 226

mdps 312 Good day so far
+3 300 (looks slow, but it could be consistent with the morning drop)

pmps 286 YELLOW shot 3 units

7/23
amps 331 shot 3 units
+3 307 (slow drop again----but, it is consistent with the last cycles)
+5.5 314 surfing along--appears no drop today--FLAT

mdps 346 shot 3.25 Flat the last few cycles, but steady....
+4 319 still little movement--gave fluids and a snack
+5.5 288

pmps 257 shot 3.2 (really have no idea---using U40s --never thought we would be into .# dosining) Fluids probably played a role.......




Good Saturday Morning!

Kitty has had a good run of preshots the last couple of days, and even achieved a Yellow preshot last night. She has seen blue on a midcycle test and seems to be settling into tid.

I do think she needs a little increase to get deeper curves--but, I really am not ready to fight the bounces quiet yet! Soon though......

She still seems okay, but I am going to give her the bupe this morning as she seems a little sore. But, as a whole---she is good!

Have a Great Day!
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

Hey Kim,
You are doing a great job. Hope you and Kitty have a "cool" day. It's going to be another scorcher here.
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

Yay for a yellow preshot last night! I am not sure what you mean by fighting bounces again. I just took another look at your spreadsheet and I don't see bounces. I see lack of duration, which is why the TID is helping. Your numbers right now are fairly flat all considering. I really would push for a tiny dose increase for you guys! :-D

One thing to keep in mind is that the renal threshold is around 240. This means that consistent numbers above this line will slowly cause kidney and other organ issues. Since Kitty is already fighting kidney numbers, I think it is even more important to try to get those numbers down. We aren't talking about a huge increase here. A tiny move upward shouldn't cause bounce issues at all.
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

I don't think she will start up the wide swings on just a .25 increase.

If she gets liver training issues as she gets into blues, that I think you just ride out, but don't increase on the higher PSs (unless a dose increase is otherwise merited).

If she gets to steep drops again, well, I am hopeful that just isn't going to come up on TID.
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

Thank You Sue, you are a Saint!

I've been doing pretty good not hitting those candles and rainbows lately!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

AM cycle-----FLAT!

She has seemed a little "off" today ----- but, she is eating well and negative ketone test!
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

Shakes is having a flat day too!
maybe the heat is getting to them..

nice numbers though!
looking good!
:mrgreen:
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

mdps 346 shot 3.25

Today's cycle was extremely flat, so I did increase a little to 3.25. Hopefully this will give us a little drop.

I am liking that her numbers are staying steady, which makes sense to me with tid. It appears to me that in dosing prozinc tid, if you are getting any overlap, you wouldn't get a lot of a curve--- but instead a flatter curve-- as the insulin should be in the system more consistent. So, the flat doesn't bother me, but I would like to get in a better range of numbers. Please correct me if this is way off base. I realize that if the insulin is truly pooping at +8 that the curve would be more U shaped, because there would be no overlap and it would be more consistent with the expected 12 hour curve. But, it appears Kitty is getting some overlap which makes me think her "curve" could be very flat.

So, we will see where the 3.25 takes us............Please no big swings!
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

Good call! Kitty has earned an increase! Nice waiting ......... Kim!

I am doing family time today .... not all that's it's cracked up to be!! Work and camp Monday!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

Looking good Kim!
hopefully no bounce with the 3.25!
everything crosssed that Kitty has a good night with good numbers!!
:mrgreen:
 
Re: Kitty 7/23 tid

If she is going to drop more on this dose, I would expect you will see it not on the first cycle, but maybe around cycle 3 or 4, but I'm just guessing. We'll see!

I think of dose raises as kind of like slowly accelerating a car - you kind of have to push on the pedal a little bit before the car really gets going. If you pump it, that's like no overlap and the car runs jerkily, if you can hold it steady you get a smoother ride (overlap), but if you give it a little too much too soon it will jolt ahead more than you wanted.

Not sure if that analogy really works :roll: but that's one way I think about it sometimes. For BID IMO there's not quite so much of a "wait and see how much this car is going to go" effect as with TID, where you're kind of waiting to see if the gas you are giving it will propel the car forward nicely, or it's just going to poke along and need more gas. Sometimes with BID if the PSs are coming down nicely, but that seems less common overall. And then of course most of the time people let off the gas too much just when the car starts moving, and it slows down again. It takes a while to find the groove where you just ease off the gas a tiny bit once things are really in motion (good PSs & nadirs) and keep the car going at the right speed.

Really in a way learning to keep them regulated is quite a bit like learning to drive - it takes a while to get a smooth ride, to learn when you need to BAM it up to get on the highway fast, when you need to ride steady in the fast or the slow lane, when you need to slow down gently to get on the OTJ off-ramp, etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top