Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7 pmps +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
MDPS 397 shot 3 units
+3 325----she ate at shot time and she probably was close to zoom mode
+5 304
+6 308 surfing along
+7 315

pmps 332 shot 3 units
+ 4 272



Okay---Kitty is TID......

I started an hour later than I wanted, but......I hope this is the right decision---we were at +10 and she was at 397---I started to hold out for 1.5 hours and see if the 5 units BID would work.....she wasn't rising--she was just hanging out the last 3 hours in the 390 range.

I am going to try this for 5 cycles this weekend and just see if it provides any positive results. It might take longer for her to settle in---but, we will see how it goes.

So, shot times are 4, 12, and 8..

This all sounds great---but, I am not sure about the schedule.....I guess since Prozinc is flexible, if this works I will be able to adjust to a BID schedule on days if necessary.

So, Nancy and Wendy and anyone else that knows....The key is to find her nadir and just be sure she is rising when I give the next shot...correct? I can't imagine that we will have a problem with low numbers--I have shot 4 units into 230 and had no problem. Normally on bid I feed before each shot and around +6--are there any feeding "schedules" you follow with TID--I realize I don't need to feed prior to getting a preshot due to the food spike---but, is there a good time to feed?

Why do I feel like I am starting over?!!!

Truly, while I know this might be a good decision---I almost wish I had help out of the 5 units bid. Maybe I can just do this on the weekends like Joanna said and do BID during the week. If the results are good enough, I will make it work.....confused_cat
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

In a way you are starting over, but it is good start. :) So today you are on a modified TID, that's all. If you need to adjust timings to get her to a schedule you can live with you can also shoot a little later this next time and see where that takes you.

I used to feed Shaikha twice per day (after the PS test and before insulin) but changed that to three times per day. If you feed more often then just make sure you don't feed two hours before you plan to do the pre-shot test. I always get in a mid-cycle test so I'm sure she's rising and test first before I feed and shoot. If I'm unable to get a mid-cycle test in then I'll do a rising number test before I feed and shoot.

When I first started with TID I did several curves in an effort to pin down her nadir and see what sort of pattern she followed. That data helped a lot in knowing whether the dose was working and whether she was rising before doing the next shot.

Given the patterns Kitty is following though, I think TID will do a lot for her. You are not getting good duration right now, so switching to a schedule that matches her duration seems to be a reasonable choice.
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

It is going to be a challenge to just shoot at eight hours---I can't imagine how I will be able to get the test in. Maybe, once I do this, I will feel more comfortable and be able to interpet the numbers without a lot of mid cycle testing. Early on her nadir was late---but, recently it has been around +6 and duration is over about +8.

I almost wish I had waited for the pmps and shot 5 units. I was only about 1.5 hours from that.

Do you think I screwed up not reducing this dose....Robin is correct, I have now shot 8 units today? I didn't consider that.
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

But you said you would have shot 5U at +11.25 anyway, so you shot 3U at +10 instead. Sometimes I've known I had to go out and could not wait to give a shot to Shaikha so I've given a lower dose early. I don't do that often, but it has worked as long as she's rising.

My guess is that with a lower dose each time you may see a slightly earlier nadir. That is what I've seen with Shaikha. On a higher dose she lasts longer, but she always rockets up as soon as the insulin has lost its punch. She can go nine hours if need be, but push much beyond that and you are looking at really high numbers with her.
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

kse said:
It is going to be a challenge to just shoot at eight hours---I can't imagine how I will be able to get the test in. Maybe, once I do this, I will feel more comfortable and be able to interpet the numbers without a lot of mid cycle testing.

I have the same problem some days. Thank goodness PZI is pretty forgiving! If I can't do a mid-cycle test, then I do a rising number test. That's usually what I do in the AM if I'm running behind. It works. After you do TID for a while you get more used to how she reacts to it, Kim. As I've said though, I've actually been able to use less insulin by giving it more often. The usual idea is to split the dose you were giving into three portions, but with the overlap it seems you can get by with less, at least that has been the case with us.

The trick is nailing down her nadir. I try to test around that so I'm sure she's rising later. But any mid-cycle test will do past nadir if you need to. I try to vary timings just in case the nadir changes a little and to note any change in pattern.
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

The more you explain......the more I wish I had stuck with the 5 units BID tonight! :lol:


I just can't imagine this working with my schedule......
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

At first, I'll admit, I was pretty scared I'd never get it to work. But once I started it -- well, look at her SS. Amazing change in numbers, no? It was worth all that angst and testing to see that.
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

You probably have told me this...but I am 1.5 hours out--when you you start testing?
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

I'd start at +3 or +4 and repeat every two hours, or hourly if you are trying to get the nadir. It just helps to know how low she is going and when. It may be a little off this cycle given the overlap with the AM and starting TID, but it will settle out and you'll start to see patterns.
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update!

I think you did the right thing, I really don't think BID is working well for her, and the 5u tonight scares me since she looks like she could be in rebound.

Don't expect great results tonight though since it's a +10, but hopefully tomorrow will be promising enough to give you some encouragement. I think on TID she has a good chance of much steadier numbers, and you could get like all yellow PSs and a gentler picture overall.
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! +3

+3 325

She did eat at shot time preshot and I am certain was close to her zoom time--so there probably was some increase before she started dropping.


She acts like a different cat---She is having a really good day, minus the bgs! I am not giving the bupe tonight--she doesn't act like she is in pain, and I would like to remove that from the TID picture if possible.

Stay tuned!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! +3

Oh, here you are! I commented on one of your other threads from today. :dizcat

You missed this dance so much you decided to start many threads today to keep up dancing fast with you! dancing_cat Don't worry I'm dancing too fast also!
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5

+5 304

I have no idea if this is good or bad....but, I do know it is not Red or Black!!!!

I will check again at +6
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6

+6 308 surfing along.....no change since +5

So, if this works as expected, when I check at +7 and definitely by +8 she should be going up. If for some reason she is not going up---I wait until I get a raising number to shoot--irregardless how long that is.......correct?
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6

Sounds good to me but I don't really have a clue. I don't know if anyone else is on?
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6

I would hope there would be more movement---but, she was in a rebound pattern today--so that could still be in play.

This is pretty indicative of the curves we have seen on 3 units---not a lot of drop, but.....this is new, so we will see.....
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6

Yes, that would be it. You don't shoot unless she is rising. I'm guessing it will take her a little bit to clear the rebound and to get used to TID dosing. You may need to tweak the dose up a little but you know what to do. Once the rebound clears and overlaps kicks in you should see things improve. Tomorrow hopefully will be a good day!
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7

+7 315

Still not enough for me to call it rising....

+8--- if it is rising shoot the 3 units correct? I am thinking it needs to be in the 340 range to shoot---any thoughts?

Where are y'all?!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7

45 minutes to go to +8

Don't stay up, I appreciate it, but I will be okay. I will keep her safe and figure it out.

Thanks!
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7

As long as Shaikha isn't lower I call it an increase, even if it is only 10 points. If it is close I'll repeat with my meter to ensure the reading wasn't a fluke. It does look to me like Kitty is rising. You don't need a zoom, just confirmation that she's past her nadir. What is Kitty usually like around +8?
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7

Normally at +8 she is still a little flat--+9 normally is rising....and after that zoom
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7

If she's higher, I'd shoot. Some of this will be getting her body used to shooting every 8 hours. Shaikha is already zooming (she started at +6) but she also got into dry food. She had a fairly flat cycle other than that. I'll likely need to increase her dose a tad esp. if she's really high. You test Kitty in about 10 min?
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7

about 20 mins---my plans are to test, feed and shoot.....you good with that?
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7

+8 332

I fed and am going to shoot the 3 units---Wendy, Nancy--you good with that?
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7 pmps

Hey Kim! Kitty beat Shaikha. Courtesy of dry food, she was up to 402, the little sneak. Increased her dose so hopefully we'll see a better set of numbers tomorrow.

You've done great today!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7 pmps

Thanks for all the help!

Do you think I need to test any tonight?
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7 pmps

No, I think she'll be fine. If you get up early and can do a test at +7 that will give you more info. I usually only get a +7 test overnight or do a rising number test in the AM. I do my "real" midcycles during the daytime as schedule permits.
 
Re: Kitty 7/16.....Update! TID +3 +5 +6 +7 pmps

Being on the right/west coast I am still up if you need anything but I think you have done well!

Take it one day at a time, that's all we can do ..... but congratulations on making a decision!! (at this point any decision!)

If she feels good tomorrow don't over test her ..... get a +6 or +7 but don't hover and feed her! the #'s will fall into place but if she's hungry, give her food.
 
Wow! A yellow. That's very good!!!! Some progress, I think, from the overlap effect. Yeah! She got a little more insulin in total too, which may have helped. With pancreatitis on board, that will make it a little harder to deal with as well. It may be a little weird until you are 100% sure it is gone. Can't wait for the AM numbers!
 
:dizcat oh mi god---how much to shoot, is she rising, when to feed--- Kim, I feel for you. Juggling all these balls really is dizzy making.
:RAHCAT and you are doing it!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top