Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5 +7 pmps +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
7/12

amps 411 shot 4.30
+4 310 increase no help!
+5 261 a little better
+7 248

pmps 470 shot 4.3
+4 295




Good Morning!

Last nights pm cycle showed little movement after +6--I did not test prior to +6, so I don't have data for that period, But, I have no reason to think there was a lot of movement last night.

The amps was reasonable this morning---confirming to me that there was not a big drop early prior to +6--thus no liver panic.

In an effort not to be held liable for Joanna and Nancy having heart attacks, I increased this morning to 4.3! Truly, after reviewing her SS, there was no data that convinced me that she would respond well to a reduction. I did little mid cycle testing early on, so I don't really know what 3 units did mid cycle. If I apply the "norms" she is curving, just not deep---which would indicate not enough insulin. No where lately have I seen any flat lines or inverse curves. So, I applied that logic and increased.

Perfect world, the increase will push her down further and her liver will not panic---I am not optimitic about either!!!!

She did wake me up to headbutts and is eating well! My vet will be back tomorrow and we will make additional decisions regarding her treatment and insulin issues.

I hope you all have a woderful day!
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps

I posted this on your other thread too.

I have no experience with DKA and paws crossed I never will. Nancy & Payne have a lot of experience with it so take her advise to heart.
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps

I don't know, Kim. I do wish it felt safe enough to try a lower dose, but understand if it doesn't. I wouldn't want you to put Miss Kitty into any danger. And Nancy has the DKA experience, not me.

What were you thinking about a vet school appointment?
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps

Truly, in all due respect to Nancy, I do feel confident in trying a reduced the dose for a couple of cycles--but, after looking at her SS there is nothing that indicates it would be benificial. She is curving--no straight lines or inverse curves, which in my understanding means too little insulin.

I had a consultation yesterday with the vet school. I am waiting for my vet to return to the office to discuss options with her, as I do need some type of local vet partner. There is so much in play, it is hard to know if the poor response is due to the insulin or has the Ptitis created a type of insulin resistance? I say both.

I really want to use Prozinc, as the flexibility is great for my work schedule. But, the vet school has recommended an insulin change. I am leary of this, as the other insulins available (Ls) both have to build up in a shed and due to her Ketone and DKA issues, it is not going to be easy. We would shoot Prozinc one cycle --it poops out at 12 hours and then start the new insulin. So, in theory she will be "without" insulin for a few days--Very scary! The vet school did recommend that if we change insulins, that I admit her to their hospital and let them handle the transition. This is one of the main reasons that I want to be aggressive in any thoughts or opportunities seen to stay with PZI--I really do not want to change. (Has anyone ever read the book---Who moved my Cheese?!--good reading regarding change--I think I will read it again tonight!)

T.I.D. is an option--but, will be very hard to do with my schedule!

So, there are no easy answers and it seems to get more complicated by the day. BUT, she was sprawled out on the bed this morning grooming and pain free....so, at least she doesn't realize what is going on!
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps

That is the part that is so easy to forget, Kim. They have no idea that we are antagonizing over every decision and dose. They just live in the moment - breakfast tasted good, tummy doesn't hurt, this patch of sunshine feels nice.....

Wish I could learn how to do that - been working on it for many years. :-D
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps

Kim, I have Payne ..... it would be hard for anything else to give me a heart attack!! although she is MUCH better today! Sounds as if Kitty is feeling good too, gotta love the pain meds.!

BTW if it wasn't for everything I have learned on this board, Payne would have been in ER last night!
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps

These decisions are hard, but glad there is no crisis situation. Head butts sound great. Remind me, please, is she on pain meds?
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4

+4 310

No help with the increase.....

So, can the Ptitis flare up be effecting the numbers this much? What has changed in two weeks that there is no drop? Her numbers have never been good...but, we were getting drop into the blues..we can't even get to yellow...

Acro???

She has had a dental, is on pain meds...white blood count was up in bloodwork--infection? Maybe she is a lot worse than I realize....
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4

Very frustrating. Do you think posting on Health might bring more ideas?
And keep in perspective that she seems to be feeling ok---that matters for a lot.
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4

Frustrating to say the least.....

I am going to tell Denise how I feel and let her post it!!!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4

kse said:
So, can the Ptitis flare up be effecting the numbers this much? What has changed in two weeks that there is no drop? Her numbers have never been good...but, we were getting drop into the blues..we can't even get to yellow...She has had a dental, is on pain meds...white blood count was up in bloodwork--infection? Maybe she is a lot worse than I realize....

I just looked at Kitty's SS. Yikes! It reminds me of Shaikha. Honestly? I think I'd try TID dosing. It isn't as bad as you might think. Getting a smaller dose of insulin more frequently might keep Kitty from swinging so high by dose end. If you don't want to try one of the L's then I'd give TID a try to see if you can get her evened out more.

And yes, a pancreatitis flareup can definitely impact numbers, as can an infection. Usually pancreatitis is sterile, but sometimes cats will get an increased white count during flareups. That is definitely the case with Shaikha (as high as hers go -- for her, it means it goes from low to low normal). Have they checked Kitty for a UTI? That's another possibility that could be contributing.

Look at Shaikha's SS before TID and during. Remarkable change, no? Something definitely happens to Shaikha's ability to process and use insulin during periods she flares up, but thinking about what pancreatitis is, it isn't that surprising. Inflammation and pain do have an impact on how the body functions.

Think hard about TID. That would be my suggestion.
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5

+5 261

A little better---

Okay, you guys are really going to think I have lost it....but, I think I am going to go get another bottle of prozinc and try a new vial. I know, I know....crazy....but, I want to try everything......

I have been called a lot of things worse than Crazy!!!!

Denise....where are you?......I want to tell you how I feel about this dance so you can Post it for me!!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5

Didn't you just get a new bottle of insulin recently? I know you are looking for an answer but I don't think that is it. I think you might be better off taking Wendy's suggestion if you possibly can swing it. If not maybe you should just go ahead with the vet school recommendation. You can deal with the other insulin...look at all you do now...getting up to shoot in the middle of the night! And you don't have to quit posting here...in fact you CAN'T we wouldn't know what to do. You have certainly done all you possibly can & I wish I had an answer. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps

Nancy and Payne said:
BTW if it wasn't for everything I have learned on this board, Payne would have been in ER last night!

Nancy, what's going on with Payne? Did I miss something?
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5

Well, I personally would like to know the other things you've been called worse than crazy ..... :mrgreen:

About time I'm not the only one saying t.i.d. ..... thanks Wendy!! And although Kim has been home pretty much for 2-3 weeks and would by now would have all this data on how it works, I will not be the one to mention that .... ohmygod_smile

Also Kim, explain how the vet coming back is going to help? this is still the vet who has not made a good call yet? just checking.

My favorite part is Kitty feeling good and not knowing what you're going through .... that is what we want! But we feel for you Kim ;-) we really do!
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5

Where is Denise?????????????

I want her to give Nancy a message for me also!!!!!!!! :lol:
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5 +7

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Super Cool Kitty and Big Girl Kim!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5 +7

+7 248

Late nadir today...glad to see she is in decent numbers at this stage of her cycle. Maybe today hasn't been so bad afterall.....
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5 +7 pmps

pmps 470 shot 4.3

I shot the same 4.3.......I changed my mind btw 3.5 and 4.3 numerous times. I really have no idea what to shoot.
 
Re: Kitty 7/12 amps +4 +5 +7 pmps

Actually that's not a bad day. She had a decent nadir.

Did you re-read your book Who moved my cheese yet? I might go re-read my copy tonight too.
 
If you decide to try one of the Ls I would post in those forums for advice first. I don't know that hospitalization is the way to go - the stress (to her, not to mention you) might outway the benefits. I would ask the L peeps though and see what they say about how to do a transition successfully. Don't blame you for not wanting to try that, especially with her higher dose it is a scary thought. I would post over on those forums and ask for suggestions, especially from those who have switched before. I think Ele & Blackie did a faster dose progression than is typical, and I'm sure there are others.

Veto to the new vial :mrgreen: She is getting results, it's just a steep drop finessing issue in my view.

If she is feeling well I would try to focus on that. The dosing questions will drive anyone crazy, sometimes you just need a breather from thinking about it. Just enjoy the snuggle time!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top