Kitty 6/7---back from the vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Well, looks like Cool Kitty liked the 4 units on the mid 300 preshot.

amps 272!!!!!

Now the rest of the story-- I have an out of town meeting and will leave shortly. I will be back just in time to get Kitty to her 5:00 appt. There is no one to check on her today, so I probably will go with a Chicken S**t dose of 3.5. I know that is too little-- but it will probably leave her in the high 300s tonight-- I know the 4 or 4.25 will bring that down.

For future ref-- what should I have shot under the circumstances?

I will update the vet visit!

Hope everyone has a good day!
 
Re: Kitty 6/7

IMHO you should shoot what feels safe to you unless you are having some serious danger with ketones. One day higher than you like is not going to kill her, and your peace of mind is very important. Have a good day!
 
Re: Kitty 6/7

This is one of those times when data really helps. If you had a mid cycle number after an amps in that range, you could safely figure whether she would be fine with the higher dose. Since you don't, the lower dose is probably best for your peace of mind.

Gotta get you doing some in the door, out of the door, before bed tests so you have more data. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Kitty 6/7

You are correct Sue!

So many issues -- infections etc. The 4.25 on 463 left a ps of 363-- the 4 units on that leaves a 273. I am wondering if she has had low grade infection from the teeth and UTI for awhile and now it is under control, resulting in lower numbers.

I got someone to come today at +6 and + 8 to check on her.
 
Re: Kitty 6/7

Actually the last time you shot a 3.5u on a 275 your next PMPS was only 326 which wasn't that much higher so not a bad decision this morning. But you didn't raise back up on the higher PS and started to lose ground again.

Hind sight is 20/20 but good data gathering for future decisions.

It's good you will have someone get a mid cycle test today to put your mind at ease today.

Good luck at the vet tonight. Maybe once she is pain and infection free she will thank you with much better bg's
 
Re: Kitty 6/7

Just left the vet---

The vet is not convinced the tooth is abscessed. She said their is no infection visible, but there could be some around the tooth. As a whole she said her teeth were not good and a cleaning might would help her. She then said... Was it worth putting her down ? She said another thing to consider was once she came off the ab, would the area in question flare up?

She said it was my call, but if it was her cat, she would probably go for it.

So, I made a decision out of true love to clean her teeth and hope for the best.

The vet said she will give her fluids tonight and during the procedure to help her kidneys. She also said she would do bloodwork in the morning to be sure there were no underlying problems. I told her to take every precaution necessary.

I left her to board tonight


I hope I made the correct decision. And in my heart I did-- because this will help her quality of life. I just hope she comes out of it okay.

She is up to 9.4 pounds from 8.9 last month! She was 10.2 before DM. She was 8 lbs at her low point.

Needless to say--- please send good vibes! Thanks--

I really do think I need some wine tonight.
 
I think you made the right decision.

Since Ms. Kitty already has kidney issues be sure to tell the Vet and not a receptionist (no offence to receptionist's) to put in her chart NO METACAM and NO COVENIA. There are better and safer drugs to use in their place. I say that you need to tell the vet who will be doing the dental directly so that you know that the Vet herself heard your wishes.

Did they do dental X-Rays? Glad she's doing bloodwork before hand. Also if they pull any teeth make sure you get Bupe to give her for the pain. I don't buy into the statement that they don't feel pain. I wouldn't want a tooth pulled and not get pain meds.

I hope you have a calm relaxing evening. drinking09
 
No dental X rays. The vet knows how I feel about Metacam--she won't give her that! She also knows I don't like Convenia and I have rejected it in the past. But, I will call her to remind her!!!

She just had a small panel 2 weeks ago-so, I am hoping nothing has changed a lot. Her bloodwork was pretty stable then.

I will be glad when this is over!

Truly, I am nervous -- but, I think I made the right decision.
 
We do our best, we hope for the best ..... Kitty has been a fighter! any cat that survives DKA is very lucky and she is also lucky to have you! Sometimes you need to toss your fate to the wind and hope for the best ..... you two have come so far.

Nancy and Payne
 
Thanks Nancy!

I agree, I think I have to just go for it and hope it helps her!

Any suggestions for wines tonight?!
 
You've covered all your bases. You will have everyone here sending prayers for a speedy recovery.

The best that we can do is make loving decisions in the best long term interest of our furries.

Since it is 102 degrees with 80% humidity here today I think I'm going for a wine that is light and crisp, maybe a blush white.
 
Hey Robin--- I checked out Harley's ss-- looks like his numbers are looking good since the switch. Also looks like you have been up a lot!
 
I'm so sleep deprived only getting 4 to 5 hours of sleep a night. I took this week off for vacation so I could test through the switch and we could be aggressive in getting his numbers down and finding his patterns before going back to work and I'm getting verrry cranky by 1am, poor Megan. But it seems to be working, eh?
 
Yea, it looks to be working.

Let's see---102 temp, humid and sleep deprived--- that is enough to justify being cranky!! It is always Hot and Humid in my part of N C, but I don't like it!

I hope it continues to go well for Harley!
 
Sending nothing but good vibes for you and Kitty!
you made the right decision and I would not think twice about it

Go enjoy some wine...me personally am a fan of Red, like a nice pinot noir...

and Robin...Harleys numbers look awesome!

good luck and have a good night

Denise and Shakes
 
It sounds like you made the right decision to me. Prayers for kitty & you too!

Robin, I'm surprised it's that hot & humid there! When it gets like that here I just try to stay in the air conditioning as much as possible! I hate it. Boy, what a vacation....no sleep, but it sounds like Harley is doing good so it's worth it. Prayers to both of you too! Glad you haven't left us over here!
 
Yea Robin, please don't leave us over here! They have enough gurus in L land!!
 
Someone mention wine :lol: I have a bottle of a Napa Valley Syrah, Shafer Relentless 2007, that I have been saving for the next time we battle ketones ..... looks like that's tonight :(

She goes in cycles where she goes up, she goes down, then goes way!! up! she is on the climb now. I hope Kitty does well and everyone else, we are doing Payne stuff ....

Oh, the Syrah has a golden purple hue to it, and is sooo fruity! as you can tell I've uncorked quite a few with Payne ohmygod_smile

Nancy and Payne
she is eating, looks good, playing but she is off the meter .....
 
Thanks for the well wishes.

I don't like the heat and humidity either. This is record breaking heat and humidity here, the freeway's have been buckling for the last two days. I can't even imagine if it were like this all the time. By the weekend we should be back to cold and rainy, who would have thought I would look forward to that.
 
Sending good wishes cool Kitty's way!!! I bet she will feel great once her toofies are squeeky clean (and the Bupe won't hurt either ;-) ).

And maybe break out the whisky for yourself til she's back home safe & sound? drinking09 drinking09 drinking09

:mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top