Kitty 6/6

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

Well, I obviously made a poor decision last night.

Since her ps was in the low 300s and I was giving fluids, I cut her dose back to 3.8. It looks like we are paying for it this morning-- amps 463.

Sometimes it seems like the fluids have a "bam" effect on the bgs and at other times- no effect. It seems to complicate the dosing decision-- I wish I had stuck with the 4s last night. (or maybe it was the white wine instead of the red!)

This morning I shot 4.25.

Negative ketones this morning!!!

I am getting anxious about the vet visit tomorrow.

Wishing everyone a Good Day!
 
Good luck with the vet visit tomorrow. Remember to breathe ;) but no wine!
Touch wood, glad the ketones are being kept at bay.
Better numbers to you today. Good on ya both!
 
I noticed this weekend a bump/ulcer on Kitty's gum near her canine tooth. My vet tech friend, that is also a dental assistant said it is an abscess. I have called the vet and she said to bring her tomorrow--if it is an abscess she will have to pull it and have a dental. Good thing she is on the ab for her UTI.

While, I am hopeful once again, that maybe the teeth are bad and contributing to her high inconsistent bgs--I hate to put her under anesthesia with her age and existing conditions. But, I will have no choice.
 
Now I remember. Well, probably the best I can offer is that many cats, even older ones, do well with dentals and fine with anesthesia. And one of my Mother's truisms - 99% of the things we worry about never happen......

And she is probably in pain, so it is the best thing you can give her. And you are doing it with love, the best place to be coming from.

So, lots of breathing. And know your Kitty will have all her PZI pals thinking about her, pulling her through.

Do you think they will do the dental today or just have a look?
 
She goes tomorrow. I hope they will not do the dental until Wednesday, so they can handle all of the insulin adjustments etc that need to take place.
 
bad teeth can definitely contribute to the numbers. As long as they monitor her while she is under, the dental should be safe to do :-D
 
Good luck and best wishes from Kathy, Maisey and the rest of the crew. We'll be thinking of you both.
 
Good luck at the vet tomorrow for ms. Cool Kitty.
Maybe this is why her bgs remained higher than you'd like in combination with the UTI, even after her dry MD stash was removed.
Its probably good shes on the ab for the abcessed tooth as well.
I think they usually try to treat the abcess with abs for a few days before they do the dental.
 
Not Great, but much better ps tonight-- 363-- shooting 4 units. I shot 4.25 on 463 this morning. To all you dosing gurus--is this a place I should stay with the 4.25?

I must admit, I am more concerned with controlling the UTI and the teeth right now, but should I be shooting 4.25 into these mid 300s?

Thanks for all the well wishes for Kitty and her dental problems! I talked to the vet today-- and I am to take her tomorrow for evaluation and if needed, the dental will be Wednesday.

Please tell me if this protocol sounds correct-- no food or water after 12 pm Tues. and reduce insulin to 2 units on Wed. Morning.

Thanks again-- I am sure I don't express my gratitude enough, but please know how much everyone's support and help means to me. I can never Thank you enough!
 
The 4 units you shot the other day on a PS 421 gave you an ok but not great nadir so I think that shooting that dose into a slightly lower PS might give you a better nadir.

The dental protocol sounds good, the only difference with Harley was his insulin dose was under 1 unit so he didn't get any insulin that morning.

Just so you know, their bg's can run lower after anesthesia for a few days so don't let that throw you if Kitty does that, it's normal.

You don't need to thank anyone, everyone is here because they want to be.
 
Poor Kitty....I've had a toothache before & it was terrible! Wish they could tell us exactly what's going on! Best wishes for the vet tomorrow. Let us know ASAP!
 
LOL, I almost threw in a "no dose reductions just b/c you are seeing better PSs!" lecture last night, but I skipped it. So now you are lecturing yourself, hehe. :-D Definitely reduce like you said though if she goes in for a dental. Half dose sounds about right to me, but you might want to post on Health to be extra sure.
 
Just for clarity, the only reason to reduce the dose for safety on a lower PS, or to use a sliding scale, is if you are getting good nadirs. If you got a nadir of 80 on a 300 PS, then sure, you reduce the dose on a 150 PS to collect data and make sure your doses are safe. You may still need the same dose, but for safety you pull back a little bit to gather data. Sliding scale is for cats who do well on that, but many cats don't need that. If your nadirs are above 150 then your dose is essentially too low, so when you get a lower PS it is an opportunity to get a better nadir, rather than something to reduce on out of caution. Now of course there are times when one reduces for caution anyhow, but just wanted to lecture a *little* bit I guess :lol: . Just kidding! No lecture, just clarifying for anyone who is interested.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top