Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3 +4.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Well, you were right---Red this Morming--

6/30

amps 459. Shot 4.1. -- didn't know what to shoot!
+3. 370
Pmps 316. Shot 3.7--- fed 2 cans for dinner ?????
+3. 301. ???
+4.5 271 Still not much

I'm not sure if you saw my original post last night. I took Kitty to the vet yesterday for some assessments and tests. One finding yesterday was that she has some neuropathy going on in her back legs. She got a B12 shot--- but, the vet was oblivious to the "methyl". I am going to start her on the Methyl B12. Some of what I have thought was arthritis, might be neuropathy. She doesn't like for you to touch her back feet. Hopefully the Methyl B12 will help. To those of you that deal with neuropathy---do your kitties just want to lay around? Kitty seems to just find a spot and claims it and doesn't move around much. Just curious.

Well, I owe you again for supporting me last night. I think maybe a donation to FDMB is in order this
morning in appreciation for your kindness.

Thanks to all of you!

Have a great day and if you are getting flat curves-- get a new vial!!

I'm TIRED!!!
 
Re: Kitty 6/30

One more thing--- how long will this bounce last? Should i have pulled back further on the dose? I don't want to get into continued bounces if I can help it.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30

You need a lot of ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) this morning.
Just caught up on last night's posts. You did a great job last night.
Are you home to test today?
 
Re: Kitty 6/30

I'm working at my office near the house-- so, I will be able to check on her!
 
Re: Kitty 6/30

Sorry for what you went through last night!
When I opened a new vial in June, that is when I started seeing movement,
May was all flat curves...very interesting, so I guess the insulin does poop out

sorry she bounced today, when Shakes biounced it lasted for a few days...
as for the neuropathy, I posted info on your last post concerning dosage and yes shakes feet bother him and
yes he was always laying around cause he couldnt walk...finalyy getting better

hang in there
Denise and Shakes
 
Re: Kitty 6/30

I would guess she might not feel great from the low then high movement. My understanding is a bounce could take 3 days to clear.
Sorry you had some stress last night but it looks like you handled it very well :-D
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3

Wow! I missed a lot last night. I took an allergy pill and while it doesn't say anything about causing drowsiness, I went to bed and slept all thru the night (that hasn't happened in years!)

So, Kitty was down in the double digits, huh? I know that's our goal, but that would scare me too.

I've been using the same vial of ProZinc since I started this in mid-April and I need to order a new one soon. I'm wondering, should I get another ProZinc or should I speak to vet about compounded PZI. Then I see the postings about Lantus' 80% remission rate and wonder if I'm using the right insulin. All this second-guessing can drive a person crazy!

Good work, Kim.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3

Ginny & Alex said:
I've been using the same vial of ProZinc since I started this in mid-April and I need to order a new one soon. I'm wondering, should I get another ProZinc or should I speak to vet about compounded PZI. Then I see the postings about Lantus' 80% remission rate and wonder if I'm using the right insulin. All this second-guessing can drive a person crazy!

Good work, Kim.

The internist I saw said the compounded PZI might not be consistent since it was mixed locally...take that with a grain of salt though...this is the same guy that told me to only feed her 2 times a day & always the same flavor and who went along with everyone else saying it was all her diabetes. :roll: I don't know anything about Lantus but I've heard some talk about it not being as flexable? I don't know if I could deal with that.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3

kse said:
One finding yesterday was that she has some neuropathy going on in her back legs. She got a B12 shot--- but, the vet was oblivious to the "methyl". I am going to start her on the Methyl B12. Some of what I have thought was arthritis, might be neuropathy. She doesn't like for you to touch her back feet. Hopefully the Methyl B12 will help. To those of you that deal with neuropathy---do your kitties just want to lay around? Kitty seems to just find a spot and claims it and doesn't move around much. Just curious.

Shaikha got neuropathy after her bad fever in Feb. when her glucose went wild, and she's had milder problems with it after other episodes. I give a megadose of methlycobalamin daily now. It worked great. She was having a lot of problems walking but within a few days of starting all of that resolved. I don't remember her lying around a lot but her back legs kept wobbling and going in weird directions when she did try to walk so it was scary to see her try to get around. From what I understand, B12 shots won't work because they don't penetrate the spinal fluid, so the form is definitely important. She gets a LOT every day too (5 mg megadose). This is what I use: http://www.vitacost.com/NSI-Vitamin-B-1 ... lcobalamin. I've found it to be amazingly effective.

She's got malabsorption problems anyway, so I also give her a B12 shot weekly (cyanocobalamin form), but the methyl form has a different purpose and that she gets daily. The stomach will destroy a good chunk of it so you want to dose daily and high to ensure enough makes it in. I've not seen shots in the methyl form. Don't know if they exist or not. I just mix it in her food once per day.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3

You go girl! I would have chicken sh*tted the dose this morning, you are now officially the bravest one in our forum, LOL!!!! I just had to peek in at lunch hour to see how she is doing!!!

You only have to worry about perpetuating the bounce if you are looking at steep drops or hypo lows. I don't think she got either of those last night though it's hard to say 100% for sure. I think the bounce is a liver training one, and for those while you don't want to raise the dose, you don't necessarily need to lower it either.

I would hold steady and see where you are. She may run all high this entire cycle and then get better numbers tomorrow. Most bounces I have seen start tapering off after the first cycle, but from what I have read it can take up to 3 days to fully clear (but I think by the 3rd day the bounce effect is pretty weak at that point). If tonight's PS is quite a bit lower, or if she gets a steep drop today, you may want to pull back a little more. I think the dose was somewhat too strong last night just based on the % and that you had to feed her to keep her #s up, but if the vial starts pooping out from day one, you may not need much of a pullback. It's hard to say really.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps dose??

I shot 3.7 on the 316. I fed an extra can at dinner--

This is .5 less than last night on a 40 point lower pmps.

I hope this isn't too brave!

I'm already shaking!!!
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

Good on ya Kim. You are the new BOS girl :-D
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

On my way to Petsmart to restock the HC and LC food!
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

Decent call .... I hope you aren't stocking up because you want to do this again? ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile You did great last night!

Nancy and Payne
(who doesn't look good this AM but I'm trying to figure out if I just watch her too much ..... :)
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

I thought it was a decent call based on last night. But, then when I look at 459 amps and 4.1 shot-- leaving 316 pmps.... Maybe, I am crazy aggressive.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

Nancy and Payne said:
Nancy and Payne
(who doesn't look good this AM but I'm trying to figure out if I just watch her too much ..... :)

I sometimes think that too Nancy....actually the vet so much as told me that the last time I was there....just call me helicopter mom!

Kim, it looks like Joanna was saying to hold the dose too....time will tell. This sugar dance is too much for me....I can't figure it out & I don't like it one bit! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

From what Joanna wrote I thought I should pull back-- 30 percent lower pmps than amps

I am going to have some wine--now!
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

Geez, see I can't even figure it out when she spells it out! :lol:
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

Never too early for wine .... :) your higher AM # is part of the rebound and you might be leveling quick!? so lower PM, just a thought. I think data gathered before/after DKA, dental, and stress, etc. need to be in a separate column than normal day to day data.

Since you want to do math, now that you are calm :razz: why don't you figure % # on SQ fluids .... it would be interesting to know. (just in case :)

Nancy and Payne
(who is better and sleeping in sunny window with civvie Tommy ..... )
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

Who said I wanted to do Math?!

I want a nice quiet relaxing evening!
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

Kitty's #'s will tell you if your dose is close or not. You know how to handle it and how to steer the numbers. Just keep testing to see where she is headed.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps-- what you doing tonight?!

A nice, quiet evening .... interesting!

I have relatives arriving and I am by nature not a neat freak (Mom was but that is another board ... :) so I am cleaning, cleaning .... which, by nature, as I said .... I would rather be in the garden, painting, making compost, but not cleaning! but being this close to SF and Napa, we see people like I had a beach house!

You are doing well, as always!

\M/
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3

You are doing so well! It is great to see that she is finally responding - although it is driving her mom to drink! drinking24

I know deciding the doses is hair raising but you are using great logic each time. Are you feeling more confident about handling those lower numbers?
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3

Well at +3 very little movement-- 301. She did eat extra tonight--- I was scared! I know she will drop, but am surprised no more early movement than this.

I am glad the preshot is lower-- could this small movement and flatness be a result of last night?
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3

Oh my God...did I put a rainbow or candle in the heading??!!!!!

Hey Sue!!!! You're Back!!!!!!
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3

Ha, Ha. I am back from the grandchildren for 3 weeks before the long 6 week trip. See if I can help out, although Robin and Joanna have been working like mad!
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3

Sue's back!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Good! now I can go open a new case of wine :) it is just right for you to be here .....
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3

Sue, 9 weeks away from home and I'm still trying to figure out one night away!

BTW, how many cats do you have now?

Joanna and Robin have been busy.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3

I only have one and he is not diabetic. That is why I can get away....When I traveled before, it was only in the US and we always took Oliver with us. It does limit your life, but hopefully it doesn't last forever.
 
Re: Kitty 6/30 amps +3 pmps +3

You are doing great! Looks like the 4.1 did just fine, although unless you got a midcycle check you don't know if she got a big drop on it or not. I think the dose is a guessing game right now, so 3.7 seems reasonable to me. I wouldn't drop lower than that certainly unless you get any signs the dose is too high. Will you be able to get in another spot test tonight? By the +3 my read would be the dose is too low. You might go back to 4u in the morning, unless this cycle turns good or something? Just a guess.
 
+4.5. 271

I might have messed up on the food tonight- I don't see Friskies Ocean Whitefish and Tina on J&B's list. Anyone know the carb count on it? I normally don't feed it-- but, I thought it would be okay.

Is it in the 3 carb family? LC or MC?
 
Food -- has rice in the ingredient label-- anyone know the carbs?

She sure liked it!!!!
 
Not bad, but double what I normally feed --

I normally feed less than 3-- she is pretty carb sensitive
 
Sounds like I missed some excitement last night. You are becoming quite the expert Kim. Wishing you and my favorite Miss Kitty sweet dreams and good #'s.
 
I thought Henry had neuroapathy too but turns out he has spinal disc disease, pressure on nerve roots.
I thought he had neuroapathy because of wobbly walking with back feet going out in funny directions, walking on hocks, etc.
And he does lie around a lot; he will walk a short distance, stop and rest, but he is better and walking faster after he started baby aspirin. He still jumps up on couch and ottoman but won't attempt to jump on bed or dining chairs.
We're going to try acupuncture soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top