Kitty 6/21 amps +4.5 wonky +6 +8. pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
6/20
Amps 446. Ate 1 can FF. 4.25 units
+6. 208. 55 % drop
Pmps 514. Ate 1can FF. 4.5 units
+ 1.5 sub Qs
+3. 300
+4.5. 217


6/21
Amps 312. Ate 1 can FF(not readily)-- gulp. Shot 3.7
+4.5 370---- wonky!
+6. 304.
+ 8. 317

Pmps. 424 ate1 can FF. Shot 4.1-4.2 (U40s?)





Do I have the nerve to shoot the 4 units?
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps (gulp)

Answer-- Is No!

I shot 3.7. I know, I know --- I shouldn't reduce, but.... Seeing is believing to me.

I am still shaking from the 3.7.
 
Re: Kitty 6/21

Unless I decide to go to the convention!



Yes, today is actually a good day for me to get a little brave-- I can be around. And the vets are open.

Other than the vomiting episode-- we have not seen green on a test since Feb. We should be okay-just a little scary.

Her ps are all over the place--- 400,500,300,200 how do you have any idea what the dose should be?
 
Re: Kitty 6/21

If I used the percentage mentality-- the 4 units drops her somewhere close to 55 percent.

That would have left us 140.

Can you tell I am trying to convince myself?!

I think I am talking to myself!
 
Re: Kitty 6/21

You were talking to yourself...
I think she'll be fine. Just more data gathering for Sue - when she gets back from the convention.
 
Re: Kitty 6/21

Have mercy--- they haven't even left for the convention and I am already talking to myself!
 
Re: Kitty 6/21

Where have you been all morning Barbara?!

You packing too?
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps

Oh, believe me I want to but I'm just getting ready to test a second time. Will post in a minute!
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps

I think that's just fine. PZI usually does well with a sliding scale.

Glad you'll be able to test mid cycle though.
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps

Though......?????? That's reassuring!!!

Have a good trip!
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps

If you just shot 3.7 on 312 then I believe you have the date on that wrong. It is 6/21. My daughter's birthday. You are doing great and she will be ok. Squamee went down to 35 and ate her way back with nothing but a little higher car food. Not that think Kitty will go that low. ( do these cats know how to do the limbo? Are you gals young enough to know what that is? )
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps

Yeah, I had the date wrong--- thanks!

Happy Birthday to your daughter!

And yes, I am old enough to remember the limbo.... I hope I don't hear the chorus today......"how low can (Kitty) go.....!"


Have a good day--- keep a check on us!
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps

All these people talking about packing and going on trips? I haven't been away from my house for more the 12 hours at a time since Alex started insulin. :lol:
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps +4 wonky

+4.5 370

So, I go home to test her--- just knowing today was the breakthrough day.

58 points higher than amps?

Maybe she was dropping fast and her liver didn't like it.???

No-- it wasn't a fur shot!
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps +4 wonky

Yes Ginny, Tom and I haven’t been out of the house together for more than 10 hours since January. We are going a bit nutz here :shock:
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps +4.5 wonky +6

+6. 304
+8. 317


Her ears need a break-- I am giving it up for awhile, except ps and anything abnormal-- high or low. Well, if abnormal is the criteria- we will never be able to stop.

Flat day to say the least-----

I am assuming she continued to go up this am and had a late onset resulting in not enough insulin for movement. Who knows--but, it makes sense to me.

Going to put the Karo up!
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps

Ginny & Alex said:
All these people talking about packing and going on trips? I haven't been away from my house for more the 12 hours at a time since Alex started insulin. :lol:

I know that feeling...well, I actually got a break but DH had to stay home & take care of her. It's the day to day that bothers me sometime though. I need to run errands, etc sometime but I'm always breaking my neck to get home before PMPS! :smile:
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps +4.5 wonky +6 +8

One of my friends' college-age daughter (they're cat people) is supposed to come over tonight to meet Alex to see if he will allow her to give him a shot. Of course, we're having thunder storms again and he's probably under the sofa. Anyway, if this works out, hubby and I might try to plan a trip--at least a weekend and then who knows, maybe move on to a week away!!!!!!

In the past, we've always taken a couple of big trips (usually April and October) and part of me feels guilty for still wanting to do this. I want my Alex to do well, but I'd like a break too. Keeping my fingers crossed that Monica or the pet sitter coming on Friday will have success with him.

Kim,
Don't mean to hi-jack your thread!
 
Re: Kitty 6/21 amps +4.5 wonky +6 +8

Pmps 424. Ate 1 can FF. Shot 4.1-4.2 (U40?)


Well, I am not crazy about the number, but it makes the dose choice a lot easier!!!

Here's hoping for a better cycle!
 
Joanna-- any ideas on today's am cycle?

I'm not testing tonight-- she needs a break!
 
Well, I'm not Joanna (remember she was going out tonight, will be on late) but you get a high PS # you shoot a decent amount, then it comes down on that amount ..... so you shoot less insulin. If a higher dose gives you good results, why do you then go down? just wondering? She never really goes that low ..... ? just an observation.
Nancy
 
Yeah, I'll second what Nancy said, puzzled where the scare factor is. Is it b/c her doses are higher than a lot of kitties here?

So if you look at the PM cycle on 6/17 you shot 4u on a 386 and got a low of 180. So looking at that, if you were to shoot 4u on another PS like tonight's around say 300, you would expect her nadir to still be safe. By %s it is about 55, which would put her at around 135. Even if you look at it as absolute numbers rather than %s, you would still expect a nadir around 100, which is perfect, and still gives you plenty of margin for error.

So does looking at it like that make it feel more comfortable to you? And if not, if you can articulate where it still is scary, that might help us be able to explain it so it isn't so scary.

Another way to look at it is to know what you are shooting for. With Bix I tried to aim for nadirs of 80. That way it was a good nadir, with still some margin for error. Aiming for a 50 I thought was too risky if I got the dose wrong, and aiming for something higher was counter to my goals (this was at least during some stretches - I didn't always use the same strategy). So when I was using that approach, with each cycle I would update my notes. If the nadir was say 120 and not 80, then I would raise the dose for the next shot on that PS. And if I got a 60 nadir, I'd either hold the dose, or ease off it a little if I felt like it was pushing too hard.

So if you look at it that way, you can conclude on almost every cycle that Kitty's dose is too low, and then if that perspective made sense to you, it might feel clearer that you would need to raise the dose to hit those nadirs. Now it's not quite that simple b/c I wouldn't recommend aiming for a green nadir from a 400 PS, but certainly from a yellow one I think it's a good goal.

Anyhow, just trying to brainstorm some things to see if any of it makes you feel any better. If not, no worries. I hope she is continuing to feel better, that is what matters most!!!

btw, nice to see the lower PS this morning! Still pink, but almost squeaked in under the pink line I think! Now you will have some data from this dose today, and if indeed it was too low, then you will know it's safe to shoot 4u on a 300-ish PS. It's all just step by step and learning process. You would laugh if you knew what a total chicken I was, and times when I was scared to shoot even 1u on a 400 PS, and Bix was on dry food at the time! :oops: Live & learn. Soon enough you will be lecturing the newbies too. :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top