Kitty 6/19 amps +3 +6 +11.5 pmps +3 +5 +8 +10.5 amps

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have to admit, that the hardest thing for someone "new" like me is having the nerve to shoot the same number in a low preshot as you do a high preshot.

I understand the percentages, but it is still something that until you do it and have success it is hard to imagine.

All of that being said, when Kitty dropped back yesterday-- to abnormally lower numbers for her, it was even more challenging. There are times that her preshot number is at 11.5--meaning yesterday I could have actually claimed 239 as the preshot. That is the lowest preshot number I have ever seen. But, I waited until a full 12 hours, just trying to gain data and to see how much she would go up.

Due to all that she has been through-- the dental, the UTI, vomiting etc. I really wasn't sure why the number was suddenly lower. Even if I did have the nerve or understanding to shoot the same units into the lower preshot--I am not sure I would have done it yesterday. Because, in a sense I wasn't sure if I was dealing with the same cat. I have read where people have had 100 point preshot drops, once getting dentals or infections under control. So, last night-- I really didn't know what was causing the drop.

Even though I admit---I thought I probably left ther dose short last night when I gave it.

After reading the comments here late last night, I tested her throughout the night in hopes of seeing exactly what happened with the dose--trying to gain information and data for the future.
 
You are learning things about her every day, and trying to adapt to them to the way the insulin works. Big job! You are doing great.

I am a big believer of going with your gut. And if you are nervous about a dose (especially giving more, not less) it isn't going to hurt to be cautious for one shot. Kitty is definitely making progress, and yes,the dental and meds can still be part of the scenerio.

Sorry - Like Robin, I was at a Father's Day bash with 4 of the 5 kids and 4 of the 5 grandkids. Today I am off to visit the other one for 10 days. I will try to get on the computer at least once daily. But I am really feeling good about you, and Barbara and Ginny and Denise and Donna and Angela. Everyone is getting used to figuring out doses and doing a great job supporting each other. I think Robin, Joanna and I feel like proud parents - "My kids are honor students at PZI High School" !
 
Yea, only problem is-- I spend a lot of time in detention with the candles and rainbows!!!! I guess there is one in every group!

Have a great visit with the grandchildren! Be Safe--
 
Judy, for the % I just take the PS and whatever test is closest to the nadir, and either eyeball it (like 320 and 160 is close to 300 & 150 so a 50% drop), or I get out the calculator and figure it out (I think I do (PS-nadir)/PS). I know that probably doesn't work for a lot of people, but I find it helpful. The idea as I understand it is you are looking for what gives you the PS/nadir combo you want, which is more or less 150 and 50 - so you want approximately a 2/3 drop. So 300-100, etc. It worked well for Bix, but some cats don't seem to get enough duration to have it really work so nicely.

It is tough if they are vomiting, or their eating is uneven, etc. Really there are a lot of tough calls in dosing, and I'm not arguing against dose decreases at times b/c they seem "off", or you are having a bad day or whatever. I know I did it a ton of times, and Kim I don't mean to make you feel like you are getting detention time.

My frustration is that I feel like a lot of times instead of helping you through the fears & such, we are playing into it and thereby doing Kitty, and other cats too, a disservice. When I arrived at this forum, I was really pushed to shoot more insulin, and even though I went kicking & screaming at times, that turned out to be exactly what Bix needed. I just worry sometimes that we are all letting our own fears get the best of us, and instead of shooting doses that work, we are advising things like dose decreases that aren't warranted.

I know I have caught myself a number of times wanting to suggest to someone that they reduce a dose a little bit "for safety" when if I stop and think about it I realize that is my own fear stepping in. My prediction is their numbers will go a little higher on that dose, and I guess that suggests that is my definition of "safety" - leaving them in slightly higher #s so there's no remote chance of hypo. But that isn't safety, that's contributing to organ damage and delaying regulation. So when I catch myself doing that I try to correct for it. I also stay silent sometimes b/c I don't want to accidentally recommend too much insulin, even if I think someone is shooting too little. I'm just not the brave one in the pack, and yet sometimes I feel like I am by default!

Anyhooo...... she did pretty well really last night on the lower dose, so go figure.

Ok Kim this is weird, did you notice your dose last night matched the PS? 2.8 on a 285. Spooky! Wouldn't that be cool if you could pick the dose that matches the PS! Then all of everyone's problems would be solved, LOL!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top