Judy, for the % I just take the PS and whatever test is closest to the nadir, and either eyeball it (like 320 and 160 is close to 300 & 150 so a 50% drop), or I get out the calculator and figure it out (I think I do (PS-nadir)/PS). I know that probably doesn't work for a lot of people, but I find it helpful. The idea as I understand it is you are looking for what gives you the PS/nadir combo you want, which is more or less 150 and 50 - so you want approximately a 2/3 drop. So 300-100, etc. It worked well for Bix, but some cats don't seem to get enough duration to have it really work so nicely.
It is tough if they are vomiting, or their eating is uneven, etc. Really there are a lot of tough calls in dosing, and I'm not arguing against dose decreases at times b/c they seem "off", or you are having a bad day or whatever. I know I did it a ton of times, and Kim I don't mean to make you feel like you are getting detention time.
My frustration is that I feel like a lot of times instead of helping you through the fears & such, we are playing into it and thereby doing Kitty, and other cats too, a disservice. When I arrived at this forum, I was really pushed to shoot more insulin, and even though I went kicking & screaming at times, that turned out to be exactly what Bix needed. I just worry sometimes that we are all letting our own fears get the best of us, and instead of shooting doses that work, we are advising things like dose decreases that aren't warranted.
I know I have caught myself a number of times wanting to suggest to someone that they reduce a dose a little bit "for safety" when if I stop and think about it I realize that is my own fear stepping in. My prediction is their numbers will go a little higher on that dose, and I guess that suggests that is my definition of "safety" - leaving them in slightly higher #s so there's no remote chance of hypo. But that isn't safety, that's contributing to organ damage and delaying regulation. So when I catch myself doing that I try to correct for it. I also stay silent sometimes b/c I don't want to accidentally recommend too much insulin, even if I think someone is shooting too little. I'm just not the brave one in the pack, and yet sometimes I feel like I am by default!
Anyhooo...... she did pretty well really last night on the lower dose, so go figure.
Ok Kim this is weird, did you notice your dose last night matched the PS? 2.8 on a 285. Spooky! Wouldn't that be cool if you could pick the dose that matches the PS! Then all of everyone's problems would be solved, LOL!