Kitty 6/17 pmps +3 +5 +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
6/17 pm cycle

pmps. 386. Shot a skinny 4. Ate 1 can FF
+3. 304 Ate Tbs. FF
+5. 216
+6. 180


Dear Lord,

Please don't let a candle or rainbow appear in the heading.

Amen
Kim
 
Re: Kitty 6/17 pmps +3

:lol: It has caused my heart to skip a beat and everytime I yell noooooo the drooler quickly gets up and goes and gets in her bed.
 
Re: Kitty 6/17 pmps +3

I need to update my SS, but I can't get it to load. Is anyone else having problems?
 
Re: Kitty 6/17 pmps +3

To follow up on some other threads, I only meant a hypothetical shave off the dose if the drop proves to be too steep and she is bouncing. I was just musing, though I may have written it poorly.

I had a thought though in looking at the other thread and seeing your feeding times. What about feeding the drop? Some have had really good results from that, feeding somewhere more around +3 or +4 or wherever to soften that part of the curve. I noticed you are sometimes feeding at like +6 or +8 (not sure if that is planned feeding, or just tracking when she eats on her own), so that's what gave me the thought to try feeding more in the first half of the cycle if she looks to be a big dropper.

I haven't studied her #s in a while, so again, just musing. :-D
 
Re: Kitty 6/17 pmps +3 +5

+ 5. 216----I think we will see blue tonight!
 
Re: Kitty 6/17 pmps +3 +5

Oh no....I told Judy I would update my SS..Judy if you see this I promise I'll do it tomorrow! It won't load...I'm stealing Kim's excuse! :lol: Seriously though Kim, I have had problems a lot with my SS, can't get the #'s in the right box, etc & have to keep adjusting it. I'm not fooling with it tonight ...I'm going to bed! Glad I haven't noticed your rainbows!
 
Re: Kitty 6/17 pmps +3 +5

I a trying to decide how bad I want to see them?!

Tick tock tick tock
 
Come back Joanna-- I just read your reply to Angela.

How short do you think I am shooting Kitty?
 
Oh not necessarily. I mean she did get some steep drops lately and you don't want it steeper than that really. But on the other hand ideally you want to keep them under 180 or so for as much time as you can. I think you are doing great actually, you are shooting more boldly lately, and seeing some blues. One step at a time.
 
I got to thinking (uh oh :roll: ) and wanted to clarify a little. I can't say what you should do for Kitty, but I can tell you what *I* would aim for. And this applies to a lot of other kitties too:

I would raise in 0.2 increments every 3rd day until I got to solid blues and greens. If I started seeing patterns that suggested I couldn't continue down that road - consistent good nadirs but really high PSs, nadirs that are too low, weird stuff like clear inverse curves (not just maybes or flattish ones), then I would try a different insulin.

With Bix, I putzed around with uncertainty & fear & all for a while, and when I finally got systematic about it and stuck with that plan, he was regulated within 2 weeks. I had resolved I would give it a month and if he was not regulated by then, I would switch insulins. Of course he only needed about 1.8 to get regulated, so of course that is a little quicker than a higher dose kitty.

But my point is that I am concerned we have collectively gotten overly conservative here, and are doing kitties a disservice by not pushing more for more insulin (in most cases, not all). I know when I got here I was pushed daily to raise Bix's dose, and whenever I got nervous about that people talked me through it. No one took a "well that's ok, it's up to you" sort of approach, which I tend to do. I think as an advice giver it is hard to find the balance between respecting someone's right to do what they want, and at the same time pushing them in a helpful way to get their cat regulated. When we see a number of cats who have been here a few weeks/months now and are not regulated, it definitely concerns me that those of us who are giving advice aren't striking the right balance. We typically push pretty hard to get someone home testing and to switch to LC foods, but we don't push very hard on insulin increases.

So basically for Kitty, I would say her #s are generally too high, and especially with a ketone history, that is a risky situation. I would tend to say she needs more insulin. If it turns out (and I don't think it's clear yet) that she is getting overly steep drops, then I would try a different insulin, or a different shooting strategy, like TID or As Needed dosing. So I think that's the bottom line. I certainly respect too that there are other factors, like it's not practical for many people to raise doses every 3rd day (I wasn't working at the time, so I could do that for Bix), or their goals may not be the same as mine, etc. (See there, I wimped out already! I just don't like pushing people!!!!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top