Kitty 6/11

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

Kitty wan't as anxious to get up and eat this morning as yesterday. The bupe has ended-- It will be interesting to see if she acts as "spunky" without it.

We are sitting outside debating if we should head to the beach for the weekend. I am trying to convince her that we should hang close to the vet this weekend and that we can go later in the week once she has progressed more.

Preshot looks pretty good this morning--325. I am getting ready to shoot-- I am trying to decide if I have the guts to shoot 4 units. (I know, I know!!! I need more test, data....!). She got fluids last night, sometimes that seems to have a positive effect on her bg.

She does seem a little slow compared to the last 2 days--but, it is early.

I hope everyone's progress from yesterday continues into the weekend!

I'll check back in later for the morning reports!
 
Given her higher numbers I think 4u is ok on this PS. What was her PMPS?

Well now you know how she acts when she is completly pain free, compliments of the Bupe so you can judge how she's doing using that as a benchmark. I would look at the arthritus next for pain releif.
 
Last night's pmps was 353-- I shot 4 into that. I did shoot the 4 units this am also. I need to update the ss.

She seems to be better now-- I think I just got her up too early. Maybe she is finally comfortable enough to really rest now.

I still have not started the dasoquin--I have been waiting for all the external factors (UTI, teeth etc) to clear, so I wouldn't blame or question the dasoquin for anything negative going on. I do intend on starting it soon!

Robin-- question for you-- is there a supposed advantage to shooting in the armpit? Or is there another reason behind this? I am assuming it is due to better absorption. Just curious!
 
Good you shot the 4u.

Yes, shooting in the armpit has better absorbsion. It has changed Harleys cycles dramatically, I think that shooting his flank I was shooting into the fat layer. If you draw a line from the top of the shoulder blade down to the elbow and find the half way mark and go a little forward you will feel all the loose thin skin. That is what you shoot into. Megan warned me though that with this spot you are more likely to give a fur shot so it needs to be shaved, the fur can be deceiving but when you are looking at skin there is no mistaking where you are shooting. You should try it.
 
I'm shooting into the scruff. From what I have read this is probably not a great spot-- but, it is Easy! I might try the area you are describing

Do you think Megan would like to come spend a week in Hot NC with me and Kitty?! Expense paid trip!
 
I've read that the scruff isn't the best place too, that's when I heard that shooting his flank was better, but my vet had showed me the under arm area to shoot and I tried for a while but it seemed awkward and after a while I gave up. Then last week Megan showed me on her cat exactly where the spot it was, but old habits die hard and it wasn't until we couldn't figure out why Harley wasn't getting a usual Lantus curve that she said to try it again and see if it made a difference. Boy did it.
 
This armpit idea is interesting. We shoot into the flank and always have. Asher is not thin so maybe we are getting the insulin into a fat layer.
 
Huh interesting thing about the arm pit. I just may have to try that too! I have been shooting oscar on the flank for the past year
 
Very interesting about the arm pit, but I will tell you that when we first started I was shooting the scuff,
was not getting great numbers so I spoke with my vet and she suggested to shoot in his side
The first day I changed he had a drastic change in numbers and so I stayed with shooting in the side
and it seems to be working well

I do recommend changing but wait until you are home to test..

Also please let me know when you start the Dasoquin, I saw a change in Shakes numbers
but he was getting bad numbers all the time anyway....
so maybe if it doesnt affect Kitty I will try again

thanks and have a great day! :mrgreen:

Denise and Shakes
 
I am waiting and hoping that one if these things that might make a big difference happens! Dental, clear up UTI, remove dry MD stash, injection site change-- something!
 
Believe me I undertand!! It took me and Shakes 8 months to get where we are!
hang in there, it will happen!
 
Shakes is 11.8 and everyday I pray for remission,
for him especially, but for me two because I have not been able to sleep in on the weekends
in 8 months!! my husband makes fun of me when i go to bed at 9 or before!
 
Remission isn't on our radar-- I would just love to get Kitty regulated -- 200 preshots and 100 nadirs.

Hopefully you will get Shakes in remission.

Tell DH to be nice!!
 
Kitty has not had a very good day, by yesterday's standards. She has slept a lot and not been very active.

Her eye is watering on the side the teeth were extracted. But, probably the most telling symptom of her day-- is her lack of interest in dinner. She has eaten some during the day, but she only ate about 1/4 of her food tonight. She did eat some boiled chicken I keep for treats-- but, I had to hand feed it. She has always been an eater and this is not like her.

I know abs can be hard on the system and she is on 2 pretty powerful ones-- so maybe that is effecting her. It seems like every other day I am trying to determine what is going on.

I continue to hope that she will improve on so many fronts!

BG is up also-- pmps 390---Shooting 4.25. I did not test her any today, because I could tell she wasn't up to it.

Did get a neg ketone test today.


She might be in some discomfort-- but, the vet gave no pain meds.
 
She wanted to come outside, so guess where we are? You got it-- outside! She is laying on her side-- with her head on the walk. She really acts off.

Just went and read about the side effects of clindamycin---most common loss of appetite.

So, is this what is going on?
 
My vet is out if town.

We have an ER vet in town that I can take her to if necessary.

I have looked at the incision and don't notice anything abnormal-- but, she seems lethargic to me.
 
Okay-- now diarrhea or yucky loose stools. I think this is probably the abs- but, I'm not liking this.
 
Kim,
Just a reminder and I know that you know this but not eating is important in a cat that has already gone into DKA .... in fact, with Payne this is my line in the sand. It could be the dental but I would watch ketones now, if you see them and not eating ohmygod_smile sorry.

I just spent three days NOT going into DKA with Payne .... one day she was getting almost 18u insulin, some R. (do not duplicate Payne is a very hard to regulate kitty and a vet was guiding me) I finally think it was adding in some middle carb food and it set off her pancreatitis. Some high dose cats do better with a tad more carb, she is not one of them. So in time, you will learn more, reject some and it will work.

Remember the DKA, how she was, looked and acted and if you see those symptoms, then get her to the vet! my thoughts and prayers are with you.

Nancy and Payne
(who didn't have to spend 3 days in ER!!)
 
AB's do those things to me too. Nausea, loss of appetite, etc.

I'm sorry but I think not giving her enough pain meds is cruel. Why make her tough it out, poor Kitty.
 
Last time my Moms cat was on ab's for a uti he got the runs and they had to prescribe something to stop the runs so he could stay on the strong meds. Poor Kitty :(. So sorry she's having a rough day. Hope tomorrow is much better for her.
 
I am so sorry Kitty is not feeling well
I know the AB;s will give loose stools
I will say a prayer that she is feeling better soon!

Denise and Shakes
 
I am with you Nancy.

I have checked twice with the urine strips for ketones today-- most recent test 1 hour ago. Both were negative.

She ate a little more about an hour ago. I will not hesitate to take her to the ER. She is alert and doesn't have that glassy eyed look I recall with the DKA. I am carefully monitoring her and plan on hanging out with her throughout the night.

She likes to sleep on the den floor-- so, I am making my pallet!

Thanks for the thoughts-- no one that hasn't experienced DKA can begin to imagine the magnitude of it. It is awful.
 
I am praying that she will not have the DKA's
I have not experienced that, thank god,
but I here its terrible

hopefully its just the meds and she will feel better soon
 
Sorry to hear you two are having such a difficult and worrisome day. Really sounds like it could be te antibiotics. Good job with the ketone testing! Good luck tomorrow.
 
I'm sorry Kitty is not feeling well today! I know what you mean about having to constantly try to figure out what is going on with them! It's just mentally exhausting. Kitty & Thumper are about the same age....she will be 16 on Aug 1st!
 
Oh no!!! C'mon cool Kitty, please feel better soon! :YMHUG:

I would 100% call the vets in the AM and ask for more pain meds. If they argue I would say you just want to try it for a day and see if she does better, since she seemed so much worse after you stopped the meds.

I had a civie who had surgery a few years ago and we did the pain meds like normal for a few days. After they ended (why is that ALWAYS on the weekend?) she seemed off and then w/in 24 hours had stopped eating. I called Monday morning and asked for more pain meds and then she seemed better after that - I took her in as soon as they had an appt that day, and it turned out she had a painful complication from the surgery. It was pretty awful, but the part I felt good about was that I had insisted on getting the meds that morning rather than waiting until they could see her to evaluate. At least I kept her comfortable for that extra little stretch in there.

And definitely if you think the ER is in order I wouldn't hesitate to go. Worst case it turns out it wasn't really needed, and hopefully they could at least give you some pain meds for her there to tide her over til morning.

But hopefully she gets feeling better and no need... but just in case, just wanted to mention all that. Sometimes you have to push them for what you think is right in my experience. Not that the vets are neglectful, I think they just aren't seeing it minute to minute and so sometimes just don't realize - they think by x number of days, meds shouldn't be needed, or whatever.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top