Kitty 5/6--we've got yellow!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
HELP! I can't believe it... Kitty's amps was 404 this morning, I was debating an increase-- but, decided to stick with the 3.4.

Tonights pmps 269!! What do I shoot?

I need to shoot in 30 minutes.
 
Yea, I like the yellow--- but, I don't feel as comfortable shooting them!

We have had little experience with them. I think this is our 4th yellow in 3 months!
 
Nice color. I hate to see you lose any momentum. You have shot 3+ units in the low 300s and you are almost there.

Can you test tonight - like at +3 and +6? If so, I think I would consider 3 units. Are you comfortable with that?

Hope someone else weighs in before you have to shoot.
 
She just ate 1.25 cans of FF.

I was thinking 2.75 conservative and 3.0 agressive. So, I'm not far from you.
 
Yay for yellow! Go Kitty! I'm not a dosing expert, but if you're home to watch her and can get at least one test in tonight, I would go with 3u. She hasn't ever had a really low nadir.
 
Yeah for 269. You did great!

If you can get a +3 or +4 that would be great and it will give you the info of how this dose works on this PS for future decision making.
 
Glad you got a yellow PS!

IMO there is no need to lower the dose unless:

- PS is under 200 (in which case you can wait til they hit 200 and then shoot the full dose, or shoot a *slightly* reduced dose if the PS is over 180 - at least 75% of full dose, possibly more than that)

- nadir is under 50

- drop is too steep

- there are signs the dose is too high such as inverse curve, late drop to a lower next PS, clear rebound from steep drops, etc.

- other wonkiness suggests a reduction is in order :mrgreen:
 
Out of curiousity, what is your fear of shooting the full dose on a PS that is yellow? Given her history, I'd be a lot more scared of the higher numbers than the lower ones right now. I think you will feel a lot better if you can get her in blue & green #s, and I think you will likely need more insulin to get there (although I reserve judgement til there are some mid-cycle #s, so at the moment I am just guessing).

I don't know if it helps, but with Bix I went through a stretch where I was just completely terrified of getting the lower numbers and risking hypo, and I really gave him too little insulin for several months. I don't like to watch others in a similar place - learn from my mistakes!!! :YMHUG:

Those may not be your concerns, so feel free to tell me to mind my own business if I am off base. ohmygod_smile
 
You are spot on with your observations Joanna!

It is hard, especially as someone fairly new at this, to shoot the same amount on red preshots as on yellow preshots---Especially when I realize, Kitty gets so much more insulin than most cats here. In my narrow mind, it is hard to get the math to work---even though I know it does not work like that.

As I get more experienced, I hope I get more comfortable shooting the lower ps. I realize I am taking baby steps toward getting there--- 2 months ago, I would have dropped the dose last night to 2 or 2.5 units.

I value your opinion, so please continue to share your thoughts concerning Kitty. And, we agree on another thing--- I think I will need to increase her dose a little more before getting in optimum numbers.

Thanks for your input!
 
Looking forward to hearing the next numbers! Got to tell yourself the change of scenery (colors) is a good thing, you are moving in the right direction and not too fast. Keep it up, you are doing great.
 
Some things that helped me are:

- Think of it in percentages. If you got a drop from 400 to 200, you can predict on a 200 PS your drop on that same dose will be to 100. It's not flawless of course, as we all know often the #s are all over the map, and ECID applies. But that's the general concept with PZI as I understand it.

- If you aren't getting a good nadir on the dose on the higher PS, there's not a need to reduce on the lower PS. Where you start wanting to reduce is if you hit a perfect nadir from a high PS (which is a problem in itself b/c of the steep drop, but leaving that aside for the moment), then yeah, on a lower PS you may need some adjusting to allow more room for the nadir. But when you didn't get even a blue nadir, there's not a lot to be worried about in that same dose on a lower PS.

- Try taking the risk on a cycle when you can monitor. Once you see some lower blues and greens and get through it successfully, it builds your confidence and helps you feel more comfortable with the higher doses. To get Bix regulated I basically had to grit my teeth, shoot the higher doses though I am sure I was shaking at the time, and then hover and monitor to be sure I didn't overdo it. It was tough, but definitely worth it. I don't mean doing anything unsafe or taking a dumb risk, just shooting the actual doses they need (which for me was tough). It's sort of like merging on the highway when you are tired and just want to go to bed - if you follow your instincts and don't put on the gas you'll probably cause an accident, you just have to suck it up and hit the gas (insulin) and go. Ok I am not the world's best driver :roll: might be a bad example. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top