Kitty 5/28

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
7/28

amps 373 shot 3.7
+1.25 352
fluids
4.75 277

mdms 239 shot 3.5 (new vial...might be zippy)
*3.75 227 not so zippy!!! BUT, liking the low yellows!

pmps 364 ?


Well, we are off to a yucky start this morning... Internet is down.. So a quick phone report!!

amps 373-- still pink, but going the wrong way. I shot close to 3.7. She threw up this am-- so, I gave her pepcid. I think the Ptitis might be "waking up"!

Yesterday, was the first day recently that I didn't give fluids...I will give her some this morning. They seem to really help her. So, not a great start, but hopefully it will get better!

Wishing everyone a great day!
 
Hope the day gets better for you and Kitty!
and I hope she feels better soon!

Denise and Shakes
 
Have they ever evaluated Kitty for IBD? Usually I associate vomiting more with IBD than pancreatitis. ECID, but often kitties with pancreatitis morph into IBD. I've seen some specialists say they think that undiagnosed IBD actually is the trigger for pancreatitis many times. The inflammation in the intestines causes bacteria to back up into the duct area, causing inflammation and infection. Cats apparently have a common duct shared with the pancreas and liver that goes into the intestines (I think that's the correct way of saying it) so issues in one area tend to cause problems in others. That's why combination liver, pancreas, and intestinal conditions are often present in many or eventually show up. Shaikha has thrown up in past attacks, but usually it is IBD flaring or a fever that's the cause I think. She had several episodes of puddle poo last night so I'm afraid the Fancy Feast and food changes, along with general inflammation will be making the next week or so not so pleasant.

If the vomiting continues you can try Cerenia, which is specific for it. I've not tried it before but it supposedly helps. If you suspect nausea, which is also often quite present (and can contribute to vomiting), then something like ondasetron is usually enough to get that in check. Shaikha is usually on ondansetron or anzemet, depending on how bad things are. She has pretty bad IBD on top of the pancreatitis, and that alone causes plenty of nausea in addition to her liver issues.

She was high again this morning as well, so I increased her dose too. We'll adjust together! She'll be getting fluids in a little bit plus some bupe.
 
mdps 239 shot 3.5 out of new vial

(the increased 3.7 produced the lowest tid preshot we have seen--hate I had to drop back to 3.5--BUT...new vial)


I left the vial out this morning for 5 hours....might be okay, but I don't want any what ifs....so, I started a new vial on the Beautifully low Yellow preshot!!!

I did reduce back to 3.5.....just in case it is a little zippy!
 
No zip with the new vial....but, we are taking small steps...she has been in the mid to low yellows for 11 hours---that is her longest stretch of not seeing pinks or reds since dx! We take pleasure in every small step!
 
Better than the reds and pinks that Shaikha doesn't seem to want to leave today! We will likely need to increase dose again this evening. Enjoy the yellows! Hopefully I'll get my girl back there soon.
 
that is wonderful news!!
keep up the good work Kitty (and Kim too!)
I dont think you should worry too much about this insulin,
I have left mine out for 10 hours in 90 degree heat and it was fine....
 
Okay, so much for the yellows...in 4 hours Kitty is up to 364...Her body does not like being low or near the blues.

Shooting 3.7 from the new vial!

Any other suggestions before I shoot?
 
You're already past me, I never really got the hang of TID. Hopefully the TID pros can chime in! I think I missed 3.5 somehow, did you blow through that already? I do get a bit nervous with the more rapid increases on TID, but it's nice when she gets lower PSs like she is doing at least some of the time now. I'd try to be a little patient with it and make sure to hold each dose at least a couple days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top