Kitty 5/13 Pink amps & YELLOW pmps-- lowest ever!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning,

Okay, so I got the new vial of Prozinc yesterday and shot out of it last night. I will not draw any conclusions yet, but I did get an interesting reading this morning. She did have fluids last night, but the same can be said for two additional times this past week--and neither resulted in pink preshots.

Interesting is where I will leave it for now. Just gathering information--right Sue?!

amps 332--lowest in a week and the first one not in the red!

shot 3.4
 
Re: Kitty 5/13 Pink!

You got it - data gathering. Pink is prettier than red. ProZinc should last longer than that. Any chance you are storing it on the refrigerator door?
 
Re: Kitty 5/13 Pink!

No, storing it on the shelf.

I agree that it is expected to last longer--and I am not even willing to say it is the insulin at this point. But, it is interesting.
 
Re: Kitty 5/13 Pink!

I don’t mean to hijack your thread Kim, but is storing the insulin on the fridge door bad? Because we have always kept it there....
 
Re: Kitty 5/13 Pink!

My understanding is yes--do not store it in the door. It gets moved too much--everytime the door is opened-- and can effect it negatively. It should be stored where there is little to no movement--on a shelf.

I saw Ashers ss this morning--pretty flat yesterday. I hope today is better!
 
Re: Kitty 5/13 Pink!

Some people say that the stuff in the door doesn't stay as cool, especially if you have a family that keeps opening the fridge. That being said, I kept our PZI in the door and never had a problem.
 
I am getting more convinced ..... Pmps 241-- lowest ever.

So, is it the insulin?
 
hmmm... quite interesting! Have you checked the temperature inside your fridge yet? It is odd that your vials may only be lasting 1 month.
 
I haven't checked the temp-- but, I checked the setting and it is set on 3- with a range of 1 to 6. I will see if I can find a thermometer and check it. But, no food freezes or spoils in it.

I will try to check it tonight. I think you said last night that 40 degrees was ideal-- correct?
 
Glad you're getting better numbers! Interesting about the insulin. I just may have to go get another vial....hubby left it on the kitchen counter for 1.5 hrs! Grrrr.....and I've gotta leave her with him for 5 days! Are you taking her to the beach?
 
Yea, she's going with me. I have a large crate in the back set up for her-- I hope it works well!
 
If it is the insulin I think you definitely need to call the manufacturer, that's just not right, especially with the price tag, jeeps!

When you have changed vials you have also lowered the dose a hair right? I wonder if it's some results of that rather than actually being a new vial? B/c it's not like you got much better #s for several days on the last vial, it was more like a couple better #s here and there but not dramatic improvement. And if you look at the #s on the last vial there are yellows interspersed here & there, so it might just be reading too much into the occasional good number?

I'm increasingly uncomfortable with her #s, especially given her DKA history. Have you thought of posting on Health for more eyes on the SS and ideas? I am thinking you need to do *something* differently, I'm just not sure what. I don't see where you could have missed the right dose, but at the same time it doesn't look like the dose increases are getting you any better numbers. You can't really decrease much though due to the DKA risk.

I would consider switching insulins, or doing something like adding a fast-acting insulin to the mix. You need to do a lot of spot tests though to do something like that. You might let the vet do it, I'm not sure if that's a good path or something, but I really think she needs something to bring her down from these numbers.

Sorry to be the downer of the night. :evil: I know you are excited about the yellow PS, I hope the trend continues, but I'm worried that it won't, she just hasn't gotten good results so far on any of the doses you have tried, and I don't see what other dose to try right now.
 
Barbara - I wouldn't worry about it being left out for only 1.5 hours. That isn't long enough for much to happen.

Kim - 40 is a little lower than most fridges are usually set at, so you may have to bump down the temp just a smidge. I keep my insulin on a middle shelf and set my meat thermometer right next to it to check on occasion. If you do have to change the temp, do it in small increments so you can see what kind of temperature change it will create.
 
I found a thermometer-- it has been in the refrigerator 40 min-- 45degrees.

I checked the lot numbers on the last 2 vials and they are the same. They are both still in the refrigerator The new vial is a different lot number.
 
Joanna-- yes, I have lowered the dose because I suspected something was going on with the insulin and I wasn 't comfortable shooting the higher dose.

The biggest difference I have noticed in the new vials hasn't been the preshots , it has been the movement during the cycles. When I have started new vials it seems like we get more drop in the cycle. Prior to the last new vial, the vet had discussed insulin resistance with me. We did a lot of test to rule out things, and nothing showed up. So, we tried a new vial and she had a 300 point drop that day.

I agree, this has been frustrating and we haven't gotten very far. I could tell yesterday she was drinking and peeing more. Today, she has slept a lot and has not been drinking or peeing a lot.

Maybe I will post on health. Thanks for your honesty and thoughts!
 
Congrats of the good PS numbers!

[quote="Kim - 40 is a little lower than most fridges are usually set at, so you may have to bump down the temp just a smidge. I keep my insulin on a middle shelf and set my meat thermometer right next to it to check on occasion. If you do have to change the temp, do it in small increments so you can see what kind of temperature change it will create.[/quote]

Also sorry to jump in, but I learn something new every time I read this board, even after 7 years!!!
ohmygod_smile I have been storing my insulin in the fridge door for all this time, too, just because it seemed safer (less likely to get tangled in something and pulled out onto the floor! Wouldn't be good, even with the foam vial covers!). I too will check the temperature and probably change my storage spot! Thanks for the info. Maybe we could put this suggestion/caution someplace more prominent, so newly diagnosed owners can see it readily?
 
That's a great idea Victoria. I'm too tired to get my mind around where it should go, but if you feel inclined to look at the sticky and see if it jumps out at you where to put it, let me know and I'll see if I can figure out how to get it updated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top