Kitty 5/12 RED, RED, RED

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
amps 451

Kitty woke me up at 3 am to eat--not starving, just wanted to eat! So, I fed her a little--only to be waken at 3:45 to her throwing up the food. Okay--this could be kidneys, hairball, ketones, I'm a cat syndrome, who knows what. I know I should have waited--but I went and got more food to be sure she was okay and didn't throw up any more before I had to leave. So she ate about 1/4 can FF and got back on the bed and went to sleep, while I cleaned the carpet-- no signs of any additional sickness. I tested her amps 2 hours later--451. I am certain the food did not help that number. I increased her dose and shot 3.5/3.6--as close as I could get it.

So--why the increase in preshot numbers lately? I know we all say PZI has no expiration--but, I have had the vial 1 month today-- and that is about the time I started noticing increased numbers on the other vial. Any suggestions?

Maybe I can go home and get a mid cycle number today-- that would help wouldn't it?

Fluids today sometime!

I know it is a marathon---but has that distance been increased from 26 miles to 52 miles?
 
Yes, your marathon is starting to look like a triathlon. :mrgreen: The throwing up can cause the bg level to go up - even if just because vomiting is stressful. Just chalk it up to a bad morning. Did you read Denise and Shake's thread? Her day isn't starting out very well either. Shall I start singing "The sun will come out tomorrow" for you guys? No, you don't want that!
 
hmm PZI usually lasts for months. Have you put a meat thermometer (or other thermometer) in the refrigerator to see what the temperature is in there? I usually keep mine right around 40 for my insulin.

Sometimes you get numbers quirks and there is no rhyme or reason. For example - Oscar lately. I have no clue ohmygod_smile
 
Just called the vet.

She had spoken with the technical rep for Prozinc last week--the rep said Prozinc does not expire, but she would not go as far to confirm that it cannot lose potency. I am taking Kitty in tomorrow for bloodwork and I will be starting a new vial. The vet and I agree that the new vial dropped Kitty's numbers last time, so it is worth a try to see if she can get back in the low pinks with a change. This might not help at all--but, in the data gathering it will help confirm if the prozinc is losing potency after the first month. The $100 for the vial, is a lot cheaper than fighting DKA!

Well--before I commit to the new vial, I am going to try to go home and get some midcycle numbers. Maybe I am not being fair basing it on high preshots--the last time the movement stopped during the cycle also.


I thought it was interesting that my vet also said that the rep said 99 percent of the cats on Prozinc need it twice a day. I sure wish she had spoken with her three months ago!
 
Just checked Kitty +5 387.

This sure reminds me of the movement before the new vial.

I will check again at +8 or +9.

Does anyone think I should not have increased the dose?
 
Hi Kim,
I am going over all my stats and I am wrestling with questions, as you are .... Payne is great! she is back to doing all her cat stuff (chasing bugs, greeting people, plotting to get outside birds, sleeping :) her blood is good and as I said, she is Payne again. But the last few days her #'s have gone up considerably. Now, like you, like all of us ..... I'm playing detective. Is it the meter? the strips? the insulin? food, stress, etc. etc.

As far as the ProZinc, I love it! it has taken us some time but I find it to be such an easy insulin. I have never seen a difference in old/new bottle and #'s. It is forgiving and also lets you do off the track things, like I do with Payne. (what might be keeping her alive .....? )

Also, I wonder about diabetic cats that throw off ketones and have gone into DKA? Every time I try and lessen her insulin, we have problems. She needs that full 12u a day! Maybe things change after time has passed between the DKA and ? maybe they need more insulin during that time? As I said, I am just trying, once again, to figure my little sugar cat out.

Nancy and Payne (watching a moth in the sun .... not long now!)
 
Maybe and probably not the insulin-- but, I'm taking no chances--I just got a new vial.

It will be interesting to see if it changes anything. If nothing changes, I will donate the 1/2 bottle, if anyone wants it.
 
+8.5 390

So today--

amps 451
+5 398
+8.5. 390
pmps 380

I will shoot out of the new vial tonight. It can't hurt anything!

Wish us luck!!!!
 
We have everything crossed here for you both!
Good Luck, and hopefully you will see a change with the new vial

Denise and Shakes
 
I gave the fluids at +10--- and the pmps was 380. So, the lowest test of the day was +12(pmps).

This is the first time I have seen the fluids appear to have an immediate impact on the bg. In fact, we have been seeing high numbers on the test after the fluids.

I gave 3.4 from the new vial tonight.

So today--- I have no idea what we learned!!'
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top