Kitty 4/15 questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Well, I shorted the dose last night. Her pmps was 351 and I shot around 2.5 (maybe 2.6)-- my intentions were to shoot 2.8, but I know I was a little short--my syringes don't have .5 marks. So, this morning the preshot number was up to 450--uh. I gave 3.2 this morning.

I am starting the fluids at home today--should be interesting!

From this morning's numbers, I think I know that 2.5 is too low and she probably is a 3 unit cat. It will be interesting to see what today brings.

I am still hoping the insulin was the problem with her high levels recently. She seems like she is feeling good and at least I know she has not been this high for 48 hours--first time I can say that in awhile.

Here's hoping for good luck with the fluids and lower numbers!

On a positive note---ketones negative this morning!

Any Thoughts regarding the dose?
 
I think 3 - 3.2 units would be fine. It will be interesting to see how the fluids impact the bg levels. If you have any problem with the fluids, be sure to post over on Health. We have lots of experts.

Hopefully time for a curve this weekend?
 
One question about the fluids.

Do you know if the timing of the fluids matters in regards to the insulin? Let me see if I can be clearer--- should you give the insulin and the fluids at the same time, or should you space them out?

I might pm Laura and see how she does it for Harley.
 
Are you warming the fluids before you give them? That can help make the process more comfortable for Kitty.

I never noticed a BG drop with Yoda when I gave him fluids, but many people here have had their kitty drop the day that fluids are given. You just have to figure out how Kitty responds and adjust accordingly. Sorry it is so ambiguous, but this is definitely one of those things where every cat is different!
 
I love that negative ketones. Like you said, you are narrowing in on a dose that works for Kitty. Some mid cycle tests this weekend, even a curve, with the new dose will help you see. Paws crossed for some nice #'s today on the increased dose.
 
I just talked to the vet and she said to go ahead as planned with the fluids--it should be fine.

So--I am setting things up!

I think I am hyperventilating--does that count as breathing?!
 
kse said:
One question about the fluids.

Do you know if the timing of the fluids matters in regards to the insulin? Let me see if I can be clearer--- should you give the insulin and the fluids at the same time, or should you space them out?

I might pm Laura and see how she does it for Harley.

Hey Kim, Saw your post on Health and came here to answer. For what it's worth I do not give Harley's juice bar at the same time as the insulin. He's on 3-4 injectible meds. including insulin so I do those AM/PM 12 hours apart and do the fluids either at Noon (lunch time) or late at night.

Unfortunately there is no set formula for how much fluids will lower BGs because it really comes down to how much Kitty is dehydrated. Dehydration artificially raises BGs so rehydrating her on a daily basis should tend to lower her BGs to what they would be if she were able to drink enough water on her own to keep hydrated. The advice you got on Health to test and see how Kitty is reacting to the fluids is about the best anyone can suggest. That ECID thing. :-D

Daily fluids are an excellent idea for Kitty because they should help prevent another DKA by flushing out any ketones should they start to arise. :mrgreen: Plus she'll be so much perkier!

I personally don't see a lot of BG lowering effects with Harley but his situation is complicated with him being on prednisolone, which causes insulin resistance, just switching insulins so his correct dose has not been determined, the pancreatitis is very dehydrating plus he's now an unregulated diabetic so the kidneys are functioning at reduced efficiency.

Hope this helps!
 
kse said:
I just talked to the vet and she said to go ahead as planned with the fluids--it should be fine.

So--I am setting things up!

I think I am hyperventilating--does that count as breathing?!

I hear you sister, the first time or two with fluids can be scary for both Kitty and bean. Sticking those big needles into your kitty is very daunting - how can this possibly be therapeutic? But it literally is a lifesaver.

The first time I did Harley's he tried to jump and I ended up with 50ccs in him and about 50ccs in his fur. Now it's old hat and he feels better afterwards so he tolerates it.

Hang in there - Kitty will thank you someday. :-D :YMHUG:
 
Hey Laura, thanks for the answers and support!

I am hoping the fluids will help.

I hope Harley is Good!
 
Glad the fluids went well with Kitty and that she is feeling good.

I am impressed too, Kim. You are one tough momma!

:mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top