Kitty 3/28 amps 488

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Here we go again.....up.....down..... and a lot more up than down.

Kitty has to board at the vet this week (ummmm), I have no choice. I am away on business and there is no one to give her the insulin. I know I am not doing a very good job of getting her numbers down, but I really hate to take her to the vet. I am sure she will be fine--but, it is bad when you don't trust anyone to take care of your cat. I checked for ketones last night---still negative, but a little pink (trace) appeared to be showing through. I am going to get the vet to keep a check on that and to do a uninalysis and be sure there is no sign of the UTI lingering.

I know the vet will spot check some numbers, so hopefully I will have more data this weekend. I know everyone says that vet numbers are not really good and normally elevated---but the vet's test have actually had lower/better numbers than my test. I was going to spot check or curve her this past weekend--but decided against it, since the vet probably would not have increased or decreased her dose on my recommendation. I am expecting the vet to want to increase Kitty's insulin--but she always wants to jump up or down in whole numbers. I want to go up .25--so I am going to ask her to do that,if she thinks an increase is warranted.

So, I kind of gave Kitty the weekend off and just enjoyed her company. She still is acting good---drinks more than the others, still hungry ( a lot), pooping--and was stalking the birds through the windows this morning.

One thing I have noticed is, about 2 to 3 hours after receiving her insulin she gets a lot calmer--- I assume that is the insulin working and putting her body in a better state. I am not sure, but she appears really peaceful a few hours after the insulin.

Wishing all of you good numbers and a Great day!

Kim & Kitty
 
Re: Kitty amps 488

We'll be sending good thoughts to Kitty at the vet this week and hope you can have a bit of a break also.

I think increasing by .25 instead of a suggested unit (if that is what he says) is a good idea. And a curve asap when she gets home.
 
Re: Kitty amps 488

I want to get a curve as soon as she gets home. I know it is needed for the group to help me with dosing.

Last week, I could have used a break--between the high numbers and DKA--whew!! But, I am back in my game now and want to help her. I really hate I am going to be away.

Hopefully they will monitor her closely. I think they will.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top