Kitten PMPS 322, 0.1u, +2 277, +4 88. The hell?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Catannc

Member Since 2012
So just after taking her BG, loading her syringe, and with semi-raw chicken hands she decides that NOW is the perfect time to release the pint of urine that she's been holding for 24 freaking hours on me (unless she snuck one in yesterday). But I got it, let's just say raw chicken on my hands was the least of my worries afterwards. But thank god no ketones cause I hadn't been able to test her in a while because she's so sneaky. Hoping for a no purple day!
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, No Ketones!

Well, I actually get to go to work today....1 for 6 shifts worked this week, thankful I've had the time off to get Kitten straight but god I need a new job. I'll get a +3 before I go. Not sure if I'll have to work this evening, so DH may be in charge tonight. I'm leaving him guidelines, but if anyone is normally online her PS will be about 6:30pm and he may need some assistance....he knows what her doses look like in the syringes at least.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, No Ketones!

Life always gets in the way.....

Your 197 was a lower preshot than you have shot .1 into so hope your +3 will give you an idea of where things are headed. I am sure you will leave out plenty of food or have DH put out food at strategic times. I should be around this evening if he needs help with pmps.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, +2 131, +3 96 No Ketones!

Actually I shot a full 0.1 into a 199 on 3/7 pm, which is why I opted to go skinny today...wasn't sure I'd be home. A skinny is almost shooting the zero line, so not much less I can do...I'm guessing it's really about 0.05u. She's +3 96 so I feel comfortable, and she's getting her snack in a couple minutes.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, +3 96, +7 123. No Ketones!

what a nice cycle, and no big bounce after yesterday! Just checking in
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, +3 96, +7 123. No Ketones!

Yeah, I was worried about a bounce after those low numbers, but not much of one if you can even call her PMPS yesterday a bounce. Makes me think her body was okay with it. I'll never shoot that high a dose again. I'm not sure what she got down to today, wish I knew so I could see what to do with her dose. My guess is my skinny 0.1 is about 0.5, not more than a hair under the zero line on my u-100's and the syringes all look like they're printed accurately, I do check. I could pull around a 0.75 if needed, but I just don't have enough data yet on what she's doing at the moment...because I think she's getting more active with less and less insulin. I would like her to stay green for a little more of the day than I expect she is right now.

I got out of work early just because I was nervous and wanted to check on her, most likely I'm thinking I'll have to go back tonight but the extra hour of driving is worth it for peace of mind.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, +3 96, +7 123. No Ketones!

Nice looking cycle. It is nice to have a regulated kitty, She is also safely under the renal threshold consistently. Nice milestones to check off. You are doing so well!
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, +3 96, +7 123. No Ketones!

Anyone know if it's okay if I pull a couple of syringes with different doses early, label them, and leave them in fridge for DH? Her doses are so tiny it'd be the easiest way to make sure they're accurate, I will be at work until about +3 PMPS.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, +3 96, +7 123. No Ketones!

Catannc said:
Anyone know if it's okay if I pull a couple of syringes with different doses early, label them, and leave them in fridge for DH? Her doses are so tiny it'd be the easiest way to make sure they're accurate, I will be at work until about +3 PMPS.

Yes, this is totally fine and what I did with my pet sitters!!!!
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 197, skinny 0.1u, +3 96, +7 123. No Ketones!

Thanks, I set him up a skinny and regular 0.1u, he knows how to do a 0.2 if he needs to. He'll be on here if anything unusual happens, unfortunately I think she's gonna be on the high end tonight, gave her a snack at +7.5 just to see what P was doing...and she went from +7 123, +8 193, +9 189 so I think Mr. P is either not visiting us today or isn't very active after mid-cycle. I don't see a high PMPS being a bounce if she throws one. I'm thinking my basic guidelines for tonight are rising 180-225 skinny 0.1, 225-350 reg 0.1, 350+ 0.2. If you all could chime in on this, be great if DH has a scale to use for the evening....
 
Re: Kitten. Please weigh in on dose scale for PM for DH!

I wouldn't think you'll see a bounce tonight but who knows. I would stick with a s.1u on any bg in the 200's. That's what you shot last night into a 266 and ended up with a blue AMPS.
 
Re: Kitten. Please weigh in on dose scale for PM for DH!

So I gave her the food at +7.5 and I'm thinking that threw her off...but I expected it when I saw her +9. She threw a 322 pmps, I strongly felt it was food influenced, will not feed after nadir again...had DH shoot the 0.1u because I am almost 100% that it was not a bounce, +2 277 and coming up in 10 minutes on +4. Kicking myself because she was having such an awesome day and I really feel that she wouldn't have had any purple today if I hadn't thrown that late feeding in there, very disappointing. I'm telling myself that she's doing great, and is so much better than she was, and at least I learned something by doing the late snack......but :cry: .
 
Re: Kitten. Please weigh in on dose scale for PM for DH!

Cathy -

Think of it as a learning opportunity. Don't beat yourself up over it - it's just ONE number! One cycle. Tomorrow is another day - and you'll be able to respond to the different situations because of today.

Looking good Kitten!
 
Re: Kitten PMPS 322, no more late snacks! 0.1, +2 277

Alright, very tired and I thought it was 10:45....it is not. Somebody almost got an accidental +3 test!
 
Somebody could have used a +3 test. +4 88. DID she bounce? Why is it ALWAYS an extreme with her. She's eating her snack, it'll hold her so no worries, but jeez....you can't stop watching her for a second.
 
So I can't figure what's going on....Normally her +2 predicts pretty well where she's going...I never would have expected this kind of drop, so did Mr. P decide ti suddenly kick in....Should I just stick to skinny 0.1u?
 
That 322 may have been a bounce. There's a gap between that +3 96 and +8 123 that may have included a low enough number to cause a bounce. You're playing with such tiny doses and adjustments that it is mind-boggling that they make that much of a difference, but it sure looks like they do.

I'd stick to the skinny dose unless you see a 300 that you are 99.9% certain isn't a bounce, I guess. I'll be up for a couple hours if you get any more numbers.

Carl
 
+4.5 112. So I'll just stick to straight skinny 0.1's unless she's only around 200....may go to shooting a zero then, especially if I'm not going to be home like this morning.
 
True, should have retested...but pretty sure it is a good test because of her 4.5 after food.
 
Don't even know if drops are going to be useful, smallest drop is 0.05 and I SWEAR that her skinny 0.1 is 0.05. I can go to shooting on the zero line which has to be like 0.025....but this is getting ridiculous! I mean, I guess going from a skinny 0.1 to a regular 0.1 is really doubling her dose, but I have no wiggle room at all. Wish there were pediatric insulin syringes out there. Other option is feed her and let her run NS....but I don't think she'll always drop on her own and then I could be dealing with a high number PS and not have any idea what the insulin is going to do. This is really tiresome! I'll get a +5.5 to make sure, since she's over 100 now I think she's fine....this cat is going to be the death of me, I'm getting like 5 hours sleep max.
 
You need to learn from Kitten how to do "cat naps". Maybe just let her sniff the vial if you can't measure in drops....

Carl
 
No sh*t, do you think the placebo effect works on cats? Because I'm about to get some sterile saline and start injecting that instead!!! I wish I could nap, but I just end up starting awake every 10 minutes. 10 minutes til hopefully her last check of the night, she's normally done by +6. Wonder what number I get to look forward to in the morning?

+5.5 123

Only thing I can think of is adding more carbs back into her diet, but that seems stupid.
 
sorry I missed the excitement!

Your cats pancreas is def. starting to sputter to life. You're probably going to have to go off the 12/12 schedule as you can probably see for yourself, and just give doses as needed.... (who knows, maybe she'll never need another dose.... fingers crossed)

Your cat is so sensitive to the insulin (and you are giving the smallest doses) you'll probably have to wait until kitten is well above 150 and you KNOW she is rising before shooting. It might take a bit longer to completely get off insulin that way but better than risking hypo...

thoughts?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top