Kitten PMPS 266, +2 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Catannc

Active Member
I was so hoping for a no purple day. At least I got up because I needed to move her shot time back again because of her funky am cycle yesterday. It's the first time she didn't just dip her furry little paws in the greens, so I guess her liver didn't care for it much. Maybe tomorrow, hopefully she's settle into the lower numbers.

Cathy
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, }+2 183

well, at least the day's not going to be flat. Shot pretty close to 0.3u, hopefully get some greens in there.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183

Holy crap, she just got within 3 feet of snagging a squirrel!
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183

You're right, that's a bounce from those greens yesterday. We usually say don't shoot the bounce, it will clear out by itself and if you raise the dose because of a bounce number when the bounce clears you could have too much insulin on board.

Can you get some mid cycle tests in today?

Isn't it amazing how well she's doing on a small dose.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183

I agree with Robin. I was a little nervous when I saw you increased your dose on a bounce...please try to test today!
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183

yep, I was planning on watching her today because of the dose and bounce, figured it's such a small amount she'd be fine. Dose increase is because I started using a sliding scale. Not many people are around PS on here, so I just went with what I thought. Hopefully she'll be fine, last night nothing surprising happened, but we'll see. Going for +3 right now.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183

You are doing good, just be aware that the sliding scale is not accounting for "bounce" increases in the BG number. The scale is assuming there is no bounce. The bounce will clear on its own and does not need additional insulin or an increase to clear.

You are on top of it, you will be fine!
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183

Well, you will see whether shooting the bounce or not shooting the bounce works best for her with these mini doses. (It may be a completely different dynamic than when shooting regular doses - I don't know.) I am thinking she may drop sort of fast but you know how to regulate that with food.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183, +5 83

So okay, little surprise but +3 is 53. She's eating her snack, check on 15's but no major intervention unless numbers continue to tank or signs of hypo...and she does go into a stupor if she's hypo at least.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183, +3 53

I would start feeding and treat it like it was going to continue to drop....this is EARLY and a big drop and we suspected it was possibly too much.

I would be proactive.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183

Oops. Now we know. Don't shoot the bounce even with mini doses. And the idea that cats don't hypo on mini doses is out the window too. She seems incredibly sensitive to insulin!

I would plan to pretty quickly move to gravy and then Karo if you get below 40s. It is early in the cycle and you could be working with this for 3 hours or more - since the pancreas is in the game. I can keep an eye on you for the next hour or so and then will be out the rest of the morning. If you need help and no one is around here, go to Health.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183, +3 53

Well, guess somebody had to be the guinea pig. Watching her.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183, +3 53

Holding at 55 +3.25. Maybe she'll be okay. So much to remember....::smack forehead::
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183, +3 53

Good, I would get everything set up so it's close at hand to grab if you need to quickly.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302 +11PMPS, +2 183, +3 53, +3.25 55

+3.5 49, fed her a little more.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49

I agree with the feeding. I can't open the SS, but when is your normal nadir?
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49

she tends to throw the about the same numbers at 4 and 5. She's +3.75 and 62. Food seems to be hitting now.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49

Normal nadir on a good dose looks like aroung +5 or +6. Not counting some of the early fast drops she's had lately.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49

Just remember, the food will push her up, but it might not last long.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

I will keep checking her, hopefully she'll continue to hold for me. Staying with her normal food for now.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

Good, staying with the low carb as long as you can will help. Do you have any medium carb food on hand, 10% to 13% carbs?
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

I'll check, got some stuff that I'm pretty sure is really high carb wet...actually lists sugar as an ingredient. Her food is only about 3% carb and I have some that is around 6% I think
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75 62, +4

Well, I have 6% and lower and then probably pretty high carb wet and dry.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

It looks like the food is holding him pretty flat--given the meter variance.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

If she normally gets 3% then IF we need to feed higher carb go with the 6% next.

The best tip I ever got here was to write the carb % on the top of each can with a sharpie so that it would be clear if you ever needed to find a higer carb food in an emergency. It paid off at least twice for me.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

Good tip, dumbie me had gravy food in my cart yesterday and then thought "she's not going to need this on such as small dose!"

I think she'll be okay, +4.25 is 65. She responds strongly to ANY food, and she's always hungry so I'll just stick on low carb right now.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

Just checking in!

You're doing great monitoring, keep it up. As long as kitty is acting normal giving the food should work well, hopefully kitty isn't a picky eater! First time I got a big bounce like that followed with a bit too much insulin Cello stayed in the 40's for at least 5 hours, but was totally fine.......(just for a bit of reassurance)
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

Glad she's coming up. I would keep testing for a while longer to make sure she stays up.
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

Glad to see you on here, I remember you saying that low numbers were alright for your kitty.

She's only had a couple of tsp of additional food other than what she normally would have eaten at this point, so she'll continue to eat for me if needed. Trying to be conservative with treatment so I don't get a huge surge....she is super sensitive to insulin, food, and extremely sensitive to carbs!
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

I will keep watching. At what point would you suggest going to 30 minute tests? She's starting to give me that look when I approach her....
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.5 49, +4 56, +4.5

I think you are fine going to 30 mins.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.5 49, +4 56, +4.5

Thanks, kim...don't want to hold y'all up from your day anymore...+4.5 72 and I think we'll be good...check in a half hour.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.5 49, +4 56, +4.5

Yes, I think you are okay!
 
Re: Kitten bounced AMPS 302, +3 53, +3.25 55, +3.5 49, +3.75

Rob & Harley (GA) said:
The best tip I ever got here was to write the carb % on the top of each can with a sharpie so that it would be clear if you ever needed to find a higer carb food in an emergency. It paid off at least twice for me.

This is a GREAT idea - something it wouldn't hurt any of us to do! Thanks Robin!
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 302, +3 53, +4 56, +5 87

Grayson & Lu said:
Cathy - you've done exceptional - again!

Thanks, you know I didn't even really get panicky this time....yes the number was low, but she was going about her day doing her normal cat stuff. I would shoot a little lower if I had to do it again. She sure was happy to get extra food though! Little piggy. She now is folding her ears down when she sees me coming.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 302, +3 53, +4 56, +5 87, +6 117

she is coming up nicely, you can probably give her poor little ears a break :P

aren't they stoic!
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 302, +3 53, +4 56, +5 87, +6 117

Yes, wasn't going to test her again til later. She's a very small chunky cat so her poor little ears are only about 1.25 inches long, she doesn't have as much area to test on, poor little thing.

She also just found my other cat's wet food (6%), but I was right behind her so she didn't get much. Must remember to check that the door is latched.
 
Re: Kitten AMPS 302, +3 53, +4 56, +5 87

Catannc said:
.... She now is folding her ears down when she sees me coming.

:lol: I guess that's what she gets for riding the big kids' roller coaster!

Really, it's just a ploy to get some more yummy treats! :lol:
 
Re: Kitten +11:30 246, dose?

Alright, so half hour til shot. Sliding scale would have called for me to shoot 0.2, shot fat 0.2 (probably 0.25 ish) this am and we all got to experience the fun of that. Recommendations for tonight? Just go back to the flat 0.1 if she stays around 250 or fat 0.1 at 300+?
 
Re: Kitten +11:30 246, dose?

Hmmm. Last time you got a 252 on 3/6, you shot a skinny .1. You got an amps in the high 180s that you were able to shoot fairly fast and she didn't go too low overnight. I'm a fan of being more more daring in the daytime, more cautious overnight. I'd vote for .1, maybe skinny?







Edited to be clearer.
 
Re: Kitten +11:30 246, dose?

Well, you've been having all kinds of excitement! Hopefully she will go OTJ soon!
 
Re: Kitten +11:30 246, dose?

Skinny 0.1 sounds good to me, let me see where she's at real quick. I need some freaking sleep.....didn't realize how exhausting this was gonna be...gotta be like have a newborn almost.

Barbara, me too....hopefully we'll start seeing some longer cycles soon.
 
Re: Kitten +11:30 246, dose?

Catannc said:
I need some freaking sleep.....didn't realize how exhausting this was gonna be...gotta be like have a newborn almost.

It's really a good thing but you have gotten thrown into the fire right away! It is exhausting sometimes but then you get breaks & get more used to what's gonna happen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top