Kit in hospital with ketones (orig: help please - feeding advice for an increasingly picky eater)

Status
Not open for further replies.

egwv

Member Since 2022
Hi all,

TL/DR: Kit is hungry but won't eat and is increasingly weak/wobbly, and I am increasingly worried that she's not getting enough food.

I've been quiet on here since Kit was diagnosed last December because we got into a pretty good rhythm for the first handful of months with injections and timed feedings (Purina Pro DM pate). In March Kit decided she no longer liked the Purina Pro DM so I switched her to Fancy Feast Classic Pate.

Since then Kit has gotten increasingly picky with her food. We'll go for about a week, maybe two weeks with one brand of food before she turns her nose up at it. I rotate her between Purina Pro DM, Fancy Feast Classic Pate, and also Nutro Feed Clean Perfect Portions. She gets her wet food 4x per day in her autofeeder plus two main meals at her injection times. I leave out about 1/4c Dr Elsey's chicken kibble for her to snack on as well (this is shared with her brother Henry). She gets Churu tube treats and dried chicken treats as before-and-after glucose test incentives.

A couple weeks ago I took Kit for her regular checkup and she was diagnosed with a mild bladder infection was put on antibiotics for a week. She completely lost her appetite and the only thing I could get her to eat was watered down TikiCat Velvet Mousse and Churu tubes (she also got the antibiotic side effects of diarrhea and lethargy). She's been off the antibiotics for a week now, and her interest in the idea of food is back but she's rejected actually eating all food options except for Churu tube treats. I've tried watering down her canned food (all brands), adding Churu on top, mixing in Purina FortiFlora powder, all with decreasing effectiveness. She still goes to her autofeeder right before it opens but she won't eat her food.

I'm worried she's not getting enough food, especially during the day when I'm at work and can't monitor her (I've been getting up in the middle of the night to check on her and try to get her to eat something). As she's gotten pickier with her food, she's also been getting weaker and wobblier in her legs - she's been walking with her back legs flat-footed for over a month, but today I noticed she's started dragging her back toes. Complicating things is her brother Henry who has started eating her food once she's rejected it, which makes it hard to leave out food for just her.

I've emailed the vet but I wanted to check here in case anyone has advice on what I might try to feed her, or you have tips/techniques for a cat who is interested in the idea of food but doesn't like the options. I hit a wall tonight when I opened up every brand of food and she was like "Nope, I just want to eat Churu."

(Just a note to say I'm writing this right before heading to bed, so if there are replies in the next 8 hours or so I won't respond to them until tomorrow morning.)

Thank you,
Emma
 
Hi Emma,
She still goes to her autofeeder right before it opens but she won't eat her food.
That sounds like nausea to me. I think Kit might be nauseated and if I were you I would get some anti nausea meds from the vet and see if that helps. Ask the vet for some Ondansetron or cerenia. Ondansetron is better for nausea and can be given 3 times a day.

food, she's also been getting weaker and wobblier in her legs - she's been walking with her back legs flat-footed for over a month, but today I noticed she's started dragging her back toes
This sounds as if Kit has diabetic neuropathy. This happens to diabetic cats who are not regulated. The treatment is to try and get the BGs back down to normal levels and you can also give a medication called methyl B 12 which you can get from lifeline.com and it is called Zobaline or you can get it locally in the US. I will tag @Diane Tyler's Mom as she knows what it is called in the US and where to get it.

I also think you are holding the dose too long. If you are following SLGS you can increase every 7 days if needed. And Kit definitely needs an increase to 3.25 units.

Here is a link to STIMULATING A CATS APPETITE
I’m not sure how much this will help as I think she need an anti abuses medication.
 
Newman often comes for his food and then just sits and looks at it.

I found that if I crumble Pure Bites freeze dried chicken bites and sprinkle a small amount of the crumbles over the food, he is literally shoving my hand out of the way to eat the regular Fancy Feast pate topped with chicken crumble. Once he gets started he usually eats it all.

I have given Zobline for hind leg weakness. I think it works well, but it does take some time depending on the degree of weakness. It comes in a capsule which can be opened and sprinkled on their food.
 
Thank you Bron and Linda. I will ask my vet about Zobaline and Ondansetron. This morning I tried giving her (all watered down) a little bit of Fancy Feast mixed with lots of Churu, with FortiFlora mixed in and Purebites chicken crumbled on top and she still wasn’t interested. I ended up using a baby spoon and syringe to get some food into her before I left for work. She did eat a whole Churu tube and some of Dr Elsey’s kibble so at least I know she’s eaten something.

My vet is a little on the conservative side when it comes to increasing Kit’s dose because she knows I’m out of the house for work and can’t monitor her during the day since I’m her only caretaker. I will ask her about a dose increase though. When Kit did the big food changeup late March/early April I did notice that her glucose levels went up and they’ve been averaging higher now than earlier this year.

I appreciate your responses and advice!
-Emma
 
. I will tag @Diane Tyler's Mom as she knows what it is called in the US and where to get it.
For the neuropathy
You can order this Methyl B-12 . I have used it for years and a lot of other members use this Methyl B-12 , just open up the capsule mix it in with the wet food add some water, it's tasteless.

The Zobaline is too expensive

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
14.49 for 100 capsules
Give one a day



Once you get Kits BG under control this will help with it also.
Tyler had diabetic neuropathy and it took about 1-2 months and he was back to jumping, running etc.
I did see an improvement every 2 weeks
You can start it now if you want to
 
Thanks for the Vitacost link, Diane. I just ordered some. And it is nice to read that Tyler improved - I miss Kit joining me on the couch, and coming up the stairs with me!
 
Just an update that I took Kit to the vet this morning for an abdominal ultrasound because the vet was concerned about her symptoms. Nothing scary turned up (no cancer/tumors). She did show some enlargement of her liver and pancreas which the vet said are consistent with being diabetic, and she has some thickening of her intestines which the radiologist wants to re-check in 3 months but he thinks they might just be benign polyps.

My vet gave Kit an injection of Methyl B-12 which she said should last about a week, and then I'll start giving Kit the Methyl B-12 pills. The vet also prescribed Cerenia for nausea (8mg pill a day for the next 8 days), and told me if Kit's still not eating by Saturday then she would look into appetite stimulants. Kit also got some subQ fluids.

I bought some Beech Nut baby food (chicken in broth and turkey in broth) and will try giving that to Kit tonight.

Once Kit is more-or-less back to eating normally the vet will have me increase Kit's insulin dose, but she didn't want to increase it while Kit's appetite is still low.
 
Just an update that I took Kit to the vet this morning for an abdominal ultrasound because the vet was concerned about her symptoms. Nothing scary turned up (no cancer/tumors). She did show some enlargement of her liver and pancreas which the vet said are consistent with being diabetic, and she has some thickening of her intestines which the radiologist wants to re-check in 3 months but he thinks they might just be benign polyps.

My vet gave Kit an injection of Methyl B-12 which she said should last about a week, and then I'll start giving Kit the Methyl B-12 pills. The vet also prescribed Cerenia for nausea (8mg pill a day for the next 8 days), and told me if Kit's still not eating by Saturday then she would look into appetite stimulants. Kit also got some subQ fluids.

I bought some Beech Nut baby food (chicken in broth and turkey in broth) and will try giving that to Kit tonight.

Once Kit is more-or-less back to eating normally the vet will have me increase Kit's insulin dose, but she didn't want to increase it while Kit's appetite is still low.
Thanks for the update. I am glad there was nothing too bad in the ultrasound.
If the cerenia does not work, you could try ondansetron which is better for nausea then cerenia.
I can see you have given a couple of different doses of insulin over the last few days. Are you going back to the 3 units twice a day for now?
 
I can see you have given a couple of different doses of insulin over the last few days. Are you going back to the 3 units twice a day for now?
My vet gave me general advice to give Kit a 1/2 dose if her preshot was lower than 180; last night her preshot was 187 and she hadn't eaten much all day and was going to be fasting starting at 9pm so I gave her a 2/3 dose since she was so close to the 180 threshold. Specifically for this morning since Kit was fasting the vet wanted me to give her a 1/2 dose. But the plan is to do 3 units twice a day until Kit is eating more normally, then my vet will probably raise the dose a bit.

I'll keep Ondonsetron in mind if the Cerenia doesn't seem to be working. Kit did eat some Purebites dried chicken right when she got home this afternoon, and she ate most of the Beech Nut turkey baby food that I gave her (though I only gave her half a bottle). We'll see what happens overnight for her two timed autofeeder meals...
 
I haven’t been testing for ketones but I do have some test strips in my supply box and I’ll see if I can get a sample tonight. Is this something you do daily? Weekly? I am still learning about what they are.
 
I'm stuck again.

Kit hasn't shown any improvement over the last few days, in fact she's rejected even more food options. She won't eat the BeechNut babyfood I bought her and she's even rejecting the PureBites dried chicken. I tried giving her nutritional yeast as a topper a couple days ago which she seemed to like, but tonight with dinner she wouldn't eat it. I even bought a can of tuna for her (in water, no salt) and she wasn't interested. She is licking up a tiny bit of pumpkin right now but her trend is anything she eats one night she won't like the following morning. The only thing she's consistently eaten is Churu tube treats and I don't know how nutritionally practical those are as a main food source (not to mention expensive).

I found the FDMB info page with the recipe for the "liver shake" so I will try that. I ordered some feeding syringes which should arrive tomorrow.

I still haven't hit the right timing to catch her urinating to take a ketone test; I'll update if/when I do that tonight or tomorrow.

I'm going to contact my vet tomorrow and ask about Ondonsetron, ketones, and syringe feeding.
 
Thickening of the intestines is consistent with IBD. Both my cats have/had it and if that’s what she has, ondansetron is what worked. Cerenia never did much. I would try it if I were you.
 
I had a cat with hyperthyroidism who had a neg reaction to the meds. She stopped eating almost completely. I arranged radiation treatment for her but in the meantime my primary concern was getting calories into her.

There's a nutrient dense high cal gel called nutri-cal. You can find it in pet stores or on amazon. So what I did was get a 30 ml feeding syringe. I put a teaspoon of nutri Cal in it along with very smooth cat food. The velvet mouse Tiki would work. I used that and I think natural instinct duck because it was a high call smooth pate. I filled the rest of the syringe with the food and slowly squirted it into her mouth. and a few times a day I feed my cat that way. It was messy but it got her over the bump until she was eating on her own again.
 
Since then Kit has gotten increasingly picky with her food. We'll go for about a week, maybe two weeks with one brand of food before she turns her nose up at it. I rotate her between Purina Pro DM, Fancy Feast Classic Pate, and also Nutro Feed Clean Perfect Portions. She gets her wet food 4x per day in her auto feeder plus two main meals at her injection times. I leave out about 1/4c Dr Elsey's chicken kibble for her to snack on as well (this is shared with her brother Henry). She gets Churu tube treats and dried chicken treats as before-and-after glucose test incentives.

I know it's tough, my cat was doing that too with the wobbly legs. I woke up in the night hearing her flop over on the hardwood floor. The first thing I thought about was that diabetic neuropathy. I thought she was at her end. But she's OK now, 3 weeks latter.

My cat is into her 20th year. She was diagnosed with diabetes in 2009. Now she has renal failure and high blood pressure. So 12 sounds young.

So Daisy and me have been through a lot. I can tell you what is working for us for us, but be cautious with the information.

I wonder what kind of auto feeder you use, does she always eat from that?

I elevate Daisy's food and water bowls on large empty margarine tubs. The saucers and salad style bowls sit securely into the concave margarine tub support. Easier for the cat to eat.

I only feed the various flavors of Fancy Feast. I gave up on the diabetic food a long time ago. I made her some phosphate binders, the commercial versions worried me because of the sucrose content. She eats primarily pates, but keep some gravy versions ready for when she won't eat.

When feeding pate, I squish it flat and add 1 tablespoon of Campbell's brand no salt chicken broth from the box container. (She doesn't like the no name brands as much)

She also likes sockeye salmon juice from the wild red pacific big cans, 2 tablespoons on one elevated saucer.

219e6dec-3acd-4947-84a2-28ce687cc2dd.__CR203,300,1393,862_PT0_SX970_V1___.jpg


She also likes 2% lactose free milk, 4 tablespoons on an elevated saucer. Sometimes I crunch up her high blood pressure pill in the milk saucer, she always licks it dry.

20301822001_front_a06_@2.png


And on that elevated milk saucer, she likes just about a tablespoon of Whiskas milk treat.


81-s8uR11YL._AC_UF894,1000_QL80_.jpg



And she just now has discovered she LOVES these new Fancy Feast Broths drizzled over her pate:

FF%20Broths%20Mixed%20Family%20Shot.png

And a teaspoon of nutritional brewers yeast flakes sprinkled over her plate.

shopping


It has been grown and used as a nutritional supplement for years. Brewer's yeast is a rich source of minerals -- particularly selenium; protein; B-complex vitamins, and chromium, an essential trace mineral that helps the body maintain normal blood sugar levels.

Daisy also gets vitamins and supplements. B-12 injection, Vitamin D drops.

With diabetes, and now renal failure, I read cats are prone to nausea. Diabetic ketoacidosis. Like how we get acid indigestion.

So I grind up a few Pepcid AC pills which I dispense with a micro measuring spoon I got from amazon.

I do have a tube of the Nutri Cal, but I've only used it for the rare occasions where I've given Daisy too much Lantus.
(That was so scary I keep a big plastic syringe attached to a corn syrup bottle with a rubber band)

I'm afraid the Nuti Cal might have too much sucrose.

Good luck.
 
Kit ate some Churu tubes overnight and a few Churu tubes this morning, and I'm going to pick up an appetite stimulant from the vet and some a/d food today. I got a prescription for Ondonsetron though I think I have to order it online so it'll be a few days before she starts on it which means she'll still be on Cerenia for a bit. And I'm going to blend up the Liver Shake ingredients today so it'll be ready when my syringes arrive.

Ketones testing questions:
I still haven't caught her urinating so I haven't checked for ketones yet (she is drinking and urinating, I just have bad timing). Even though I've read the info pages on ketones I still don't fully understand what they are/when to worry. I have the test strips; I just dip the end in her urine, and then compare the color to the chart on the bottle, correct? The instructions on my bottle say to wait 40 seconds but the Feline Ketoacidosis info page says 15 seconds. My bottle has 6 color blocks ranging from beige to dark maroon and the numbers are in mg/dl (0 ,5, 15, 40, 80, 160) and mmol/L (0, .5, 1.5, 4.0, 8.0, 16). Should I look at the mg/dl number or the mmol/L number? And at which number is the scary point when I have to take her to the emergency vet?

Thanks for the support. I've been so stressed out by this lil kitty.
 
I finally caught Kit urinating! I took pics of the strip at 15 seconds and 40 seconds but I can't figure out how to attach them here (I tried the "upload a file" button but it says I don't have permission). To my untrained eye it looks like she's between the 1.5 and 4.0 mmol/L color squares. Should I worry? (I also send the photos to my vet).

Kit did wobble to her kibble dish all on her own after breakfast and ate some, and when I gave her some dried chicken mixed with nutritional yeast she ate some of that too. And she started mewing for food a little bit ago. Right now she's snacking on more Churu.
 
I finally caught Kit urinating! I took pics of the strip at 15 seconds and 40 seconds but I can't figure out how to attach them here (I tried the "upload a file" button but it says I don't have permission). To my untrained eye it looks like she's between the 1.5 and 4.0 mmol/L color squares. Should I worry? (I also send the photos to my vet).

Kit did wobble to her kibble dish all on her own after breakfast and ate some, and when I gave her some dried chicken mixed with nutritional yeast she ate some of that too. And she started mewing for food a little bit ago. Right now she's snacking on more Churu.

You must read it at exactly 15 secs. Anything more or less is invalid.

Usually the strips will indicate neg, trace, small, moderate, etc. If she has anything more than “trace” at 15 secs, she need to see a vet immediately.
 
Last edited:
I just caught her right after she peed and tested a puddle and she's at the 1.5 color which is "small" so I guess we're going to the emergency vet today.
They should check her blood ketones first. If they show elevations, they should give her fluids and check the rest of her panel. She really needs calories and you will need to find a way to get them in her. Can you syringe feed her? Also, IF she does have DKA, there has to be an infection somewhere and she will need broad spectrum antibiotics.
 
Thank you for the copy-paste trick! Below is the first 15sec test I took around 10am this
morning (my local time is almost 2pm now). When I took another test around 12:15pm and her color matched closest to the 1.5 color. I looked at pictures of a different brand of strips and they listed 0.5 as “trace” and 1.5 as “small” so I decided to not wait to hear back from my regular vet and went straight to
the emergency vet. I’m waiting over an hour now to be seen at the emergency vet so hopefully we’ll get a doctor soon.
upload_2023-6-17_14-3-3.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-17_14-3-3.png
    upload_2023-6-17_14-3-3.png
    453.4 KB · Views: 563
The pic actually looks like it could be somewhere between 1.5 and 4.0. Good call on going to the ER. See if they can give you a few ondansetron there to take home with you. ERs usually have a lot of meds at hand. The AD is a great option to syringe feed. It’s way smoother than regular wet food and with a little water mixed in, it’s easy to dispense with the syringe. You’ll have to do that until she’s eating again. Minnie had a feeding tube out in because she wasn’t easy to syringe feed while Bobo is so i don’t have to worry about a feeding tube with him.

whatever you do, do not stop giving her insulin. That would make the ketones worse. Hopefully you’ll get some answers there and she’ll be on her way to recovering. I know it’s scary, but you caught it and that’s all that matters now!
 
Thank you for the copy-paste trick! Below is the first 15sec test I took around 10am this
morning (my local time is almost 2pm now). When I took another test around 12:15pm and her color matched closest to the 1.5 color. I looked at pictures of a different brand of strips and they listed 0.5 as “trace” and 1.5 as “small” so I decided to not wait to hear back from my regular vet and went straight to
the emergency vet. I’m waiting over an hour now to be seen at the emergency vet so hopefully we’ll get a doctor soon.View attachment 67049
I agree on that ketone strip if you took the photo at exactly 15 secs. That definitely looks to me like it warranted a vet visit immediately. Please keep us posted.
 
Kit will be taking a spa weekend at the emergency vet until Monday morning when I'll take her to the hospital to see a specialist. Thank you all for encouragement for going to the ER vet today. Hopefully they can give her the right fluids and food to get her through this episode. I also feel like I have a lot more tools for dealing with this if/when it happens again.
 
Kit will be taking a spa weekend at the emergency vet until Monday morning when I'll take her to the hospital to see a specialist. Thank you all for encouragement for going to the ER vet today. Hopefully they can give her the right fluids and food to get her through this episode. I also feel like I have a lot more tools for dealing with this if/when it happens again.
Can you please share what they told you or are keeping her for? What treatments are they giving her?

One thing I’m concerned about is she needs more insulin. If a kitty has DKA, sometimes they will use a bolus insulin like Humulin R to get the BG down. Did they address her insulin needs? And will they be feeding her? How did her labs looks?

One other thing I noticed is you said her vet gave her a methylB12 injection. While this type of injection exists, it’s not common at vet clinics. Usually to encourage eating or address GI issues, they will give a B12 injection in the common form of cyanocobalamin.
 
Last edited:
They are giving her fluids and food, and will be administering her insulin and doing glucose testing. I don't have results from her labwork yet (blood and ketone). I brought my own insulin (lantus) for them; I don't know if they will change the dose or type of insulin for her ketones. Should I call them about this? They are an emergency-only clinic so they don't have specialists over the weekend.

This is what I'm getting:
upload_2023-6-17_17-35-18.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-17_17-35-18.png
    upload_2023-6-17_17-35-18.png
    171.4 KB · Views: 547
They are giving her fluids and food, and will be administering her insulin and doing glucose testing. I don't have results from her labwork yet (blood and ketone). I brought my own insulin (lantus) for them; I don't know if they will change the dose or type of insulin for her ketones. Should I call them about this? They are an emergency-only clinic so they don't have specialists over the weekend.

This is what I'm getting:
View attachment 67053
Are they going to call you with lab results? Usually ERs can run those labs while you are still there. When they call, you can ask what their plan is for her insulin. Occasionally, if a cat has DKA, I will see the ER temporarily stop the Lantus so they can give the bolus insulin more often to try and get the BG down quickly but Kit’s numbers aren’t that high. She just needs a little more insulin.

When she gets home, we really need to work with you on dosing so you aren’t holding doses too long or skipping shots. I’m sorry to say but your vet has not done Kit any favors. We would not have suggested you hold doses for so long that clearly weren’t working.
 
I'll call the ER vet later tonight if they haven't called me first and ask about the insulin dosage. And yes, any help with tweaking dosing in the future would be great to help get Kit's numbers lower. These past couple weeks have been so scary and I really don't want to repeat this, especially today's ketone ordeal. How frequently should I be testing for ketones? Or is it dependent on how Kit is reacting to the insulin?
 
I just talked to the emergency vet. He said Kit's ketones were high (5.9 when 0-3 are normal). Her blood sugar levels were 327 at 4pm and 322 at 7pm (I know that the levels go up when the cat is stressed, Kit is generally in the low-to-mid 200s on my ReliOn Premier meter). They gave her the regular lantus dose (3 units) at her regular time but are giving her a continuous short-acting insulin drip and checking her blood sugar levels every 3 hours and adjusting as necessary. He agrees that her lantus dose is too low and might adjust it to 3.5 units in the morning. He is also going to take another urine sample in case she still has a UTI (she was treated for one 3 weeks ago, so maybe the antibiotics didn't take care of it or maybe she came down with another one) but he isn't putting her on antibiotics yet. He told me that it'll take a few days of her being on fluids to get her ketones back to normal but it is do-able.

One interesting thing he mentioned that I wanted to check with folks here about is that he prefers vetsulin over lantus. He thinks it is more reliable. Though he also said his opinion might be based on the fact that he only sees emergency cats that come in when the lantus isn't working well. I'm curious about people's thoughts on vetsulin vs lantus?

What a day/night. I am snuggling Kit's brother Henry close tonight and keeping my phone ringer on high. I appreciate the support you all have given me on this!
 
I just talked to the emergency vet. He said Kit's ketones were high (5.9 when 0-3 are normal). Her blood sugar levels were 327 at 4pm and 322 at 7pm (I know that the levels go up when the cat is stressed, Kit is generally in the low-to-mid 200s on my ReliOn Premier meter). They gave her the regular lantus dose (3 units) at her regular time but are giving her a continuous short-acting insulin drip and checking her blood sugar levels every 3 hours and adjusting as necessary. He agrees that her lantus dose is too low and might adjust it to 3.5 units in the morning. He is also going to take another urine sample in case she still has a UTI (she was treated for one 3 weeks ago, so maybe the antibiotics didn't take care of it or maybe she came down with another one) but he isn't putting her on antibiotics yet. He told me that it'll take a few days of her being on fluids to get her ketones back to normal but it is do-able.

One interesting thing he mentioned that I wanted to check with folks here about is that he prefers vetsulin over lantus. He thinks it is more reliable. Though he also said his opinion might be based on the fact that he only sees emergency cats that come in when the lantus isn't working well. I'm curious about people's thoughts on vetsulin vs lantus?

What a day/night. I am snuggling Kit's brother Henry close tonight and keeping my phone ringer on high. I appreciate the support you all have given me on this!
I figured they would give her a bolus which is the short acting insulin. We would only raise her dose to 3.25u based on her BGs that you have. It’s good he’s looking for a source for infection.

Vetsulin is a huge step backwards. My guess is he doesn’t really understand how Lantus works. And because many vets don’t fully understand how it works or how to manage the dosing, I can imagine he sees a lot of cats whose Lantus isn’t “working well”. It’s good he recognizes it could be because he only sees a certain subset of Lantus users. If someone does not understand how to use Lantus and dose it properly, it’s not going to work at its optimum but it’s a much, much better insulin than Vetsulin. Vetsulin is a harsh insulin that can drop the BG very suddenly. Lantus is a much gentler insulin.

If you will post every day when she gets home (although we hope you will post daily while she’s in hospital and let us know how she’s doing), we can help you improve the dosing and her regulation.

I would also suggest you start posting in the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars insulin support group here where you will learn much more about Lantus.

You should check her ketones once a day when she’s in BGs greater than 200 and a few times a week when she’s below 200. She might be ketone-prone going forward so it’s important to watch them.

I hope you get some rest tonight and we hear good news tomorrow.
 
@egwv

How is Kit today? Be sure you get all her BG readings and doses while she’s in the hospital so you can put them on her SS. I hope she’s much better.

As a suggestion, you will get more “eyes” here to help while she’s in the hospital if you can change the title to something like “Kit in hospital with ketones”. To change the title, click on “thread tools” on your very first post in this thread and then “edit thread”. You can also choose a prefix like a “?” If you have questions. That will get a quicker response but please take it down once the question has been answered.
 
Just to add to what Marje said about Vetsulin, it’s also called caninsulin because it was made for canines who have a much slower metabolism than cats. It’s harsh and short lasting so cats are not protected the full 12 hours. Stick with Lantus it’s the best insulin for Kit. Vets just don’t know how to dose. We follow 2 protocols here. I followed the one called TR and got Bobo in remission last month. He would still be diabetic if I had consulted a vet. I’m not saying all cats will go into remission. Bobo had a few things going in his favor, Minnie never did but she was regulated and recovered from severe neuropathy all thanks to the guidance here.

Minnie was also hospitalized back to back for her IBD and a cardiac arrest. She recovered from both and the support from this forum kept me sane. We’re here for you!

Let us know how she’s doing when you hear from the ER.
 
Last edited:
I just came back from visiting Kit - gave her some snuggles and some food (she tried to crawl into my lap while I was standing, poor boo). The ER clinic says they don't like to force-feed diabetic cats so they called me to suggest I come in to try to get her to eat. She willingly ate a Churu tube treat and I was also able to syringe feed her about 20cc of watered-down a/d food (probably about a 1/6 can equivalent). They increased her lantus dose to 3.5 this morning. The IV insulin dose was 6 overnight but they increased that to 8 this morning. She is also getting Cerenia in the IV. I put some Mirataz ointment in her ear to see if that help stimulate her appetite. They will test her ketone level again today. I forgot to ask about her urine test results so I'll ask about that tonight (I'll probably go in again to give her dinner if she's still not eating willingly). No vomiting, no diarrhea, in fact she pooped while I was there and it was huge and solid so I wonder if she is constipated.

I filled in Kit's spreadsheet with her BG levels - they're not exact on-the-hour so I put the specific times in the notes.

Thank you all for checking in!
 
She did eat some A/D food from a syringe (I gradually squeezed it into the side of her mouth and went at her pace) and she was licking it from my fingers by the end of the second syringe. Part of figuring out what food she'll eat is also *how* she'll eat it, like she prefers to lap Churu directly from the tube instead of from a plate. So I might try putting the A/D food in a used Churu tube and see if she'll take it that way. I asked and the ER does have A/D food too. When she comes home I'll make up the liver shake and try that too.
 
She did eat some A/D food from a syringe (I gradually squeezed it into the side of her mouth and went at her pace) and she was licking it from my fingers by the end of the second syringe. Part of figuring out what food she'll eat is also *how* she'll eat it, like she prefers to lap Churu directly from the tube instead of from a plate. So I might try putting the A/D food in a used Churu tube and see if she'll take it that way. I asked and the ER does have A/D food too. When she comes home I'll make up the liver shake and try that too.
So glad she seems a little more interested in eating. You could also mix the tube with a little food to get her interested.
 
I’m also glad she’s eating some. When you are seeing ketones, food and water are crucial. Have they discussed her labs with you yet? I was hoping to see what her ketones look like today and if they are diagnosing DKA or just high ketones.
 
I’m visiting Kit right now (nice long visit, over an hour of snuggle time). She still won’t eat from the vet techs but she ate all the food I brought with me (40cc of a/d mixed with churu, and a churu tube). She was hungry but needed assisted feeding for the a/d mix. The churu tube she ate on her own and I wish I brought a second one.

Her ketones today were 4.1. Urine test results haven’t come back yet. I asked the doctor about DKA or high ketones and he didn’t understand the question (he says they are the same thing?) — I don’t know enough about ketones either to clarify.

Her BG levels have come down to the low 200s (I will update her spreadsheet when I get home). They haven’t given her the lantus dose yet and will do that after I leave. They are raising that dose to 4 units.

I’m picking her up bright and early tomorrow morning to take her to a different facility to see a specialist and hopefully will have more specific information later tomorrow.

Thanks for following along, I really appreciate knowing there are folks looking out for us!

Edited to add that I was able to spend almost 2 hours snuggling Kit, and I have updated her spreadsheet. The ER clinic isn't administering her lantus at 6am and 6pm so her spreadsheet times might get wonky from here but I will put as much info as I can in her notes.
 
Last edited:
I’m visiting Kit right now (nice long visit, over an hour of snuggle time). She still won’t eat from the vet techs but she ate all the food I brought with me (40cc of a/d mixed with churu, and a churu tube). She was hungry but needed assisted feeding for the a/d mix. The churu tube she ate on her own and I wish I brought a second one.

Her ketones today were 4.1. Urine test results haven’t come back yet. I asked the doctor about DKA or high ketones and he didn’t understand the question (he says they are the same thing?) — I don’t know enough about ketones either to clarify.

Her BG levels have come down to the low 200s (I will update her spreadsheet when I get home). They haven’t given her the lantus dose yet and will do that after I leave. They are raising that dose to 4 units.

I’m picking her up bright and early tomorrow morning to take her to a different facility to see a specialist and hopefully will have more specific information later tomorrow.

Thanks for following along, I really appreciate knowing there are folks looking out for us!

Edited to add that I was able to spend almost 2 hours snuggling Kit, and I have updated her spreadsheet. The ER clinic isn't administering her lantus at 6am and 6pm so her spreadsheet times might get wonky from here but I will put as much info as I can in her notes.
I would discourage them from increasing the Lantus dose already. It takes time to fill the depot from a dose and it seems this vet doesn’t understand how different Lantus works. He should leave the dose at 3.5u for at least 4 cycles and then only raise if nadirs are above 300. They can bring the BG down with the bolus.

Ketones are the precursors to DKA. If you get them under control quickly, provide fluids and food, and address any infection, you can ward off DKA.

I hope there is a specialist that knows more about Lantus, ketones, etc. Usually, they will send you to an internal medicine specialist and I’ve yet to meet one that understood a tenth of what we know here, sadly. But, the ketones need to come down more so it will be interesting how they propose to have that happen. I’m just glad she’s eating for you because that is huge. It doesn’t matter what you get her to eat…the crucial thing is that it’s lots of calories and fluids.
 
Ketones are the precursors to DKA. If you get them under control quickly, provide fluids and food, and address any infection, you can ward off DKA.

Is DKA a permanent condition, or is it something that can go away with proper management? I keep reading info pages on them but I still don't understand fully. Is Kit going to have another layer of special needs on top of her diabetes?
 
Is DKA a permanent condition, or is it something that can go away with proper management? I keep reading info pages on them but I still don't understand fully. Is Kit going to have another layer of special needs on top of her diabetes?
As Larry said, with proper treatment, it can resolve but once a cat has had DKA, it could be prone to another episode so it’s very important to ensure the kitty has the insulin it needs at the correct dose, is hydrated by drinking water or having it added to food, and eats enough calories.

Here is some info on ketones and DKA.
 
I just dropped Kitsune off at the hospital but the internal medicine specialist won't be able to see her until the afternoon. In the pickup/transport/drop off shuffle I didn't get a chance to see her BG readings from overnight. I also didn't feed her, but I left a bunch of syringes of a/d food with the vet techs at the new facility. I'm at work today, but work is closer to the new hospital than home is.
 
I just dropped Kitsune off at the hospital but the internal medicine specialist won't be able to see her until the afternoon. In the pickup/transport/drop off shuffle I didn't get a chance to see her BG readings from overnight. I also didn't feed her, but I left a bunch of syringes of a/d food with the vet techs at the new facility. I'm at work today, but work is closer to the new hospital than home is.
Just be aware there are times when they might not have time to spend trying to feed her so if she’s reticent to eat for them, I have found at many places, they don’t pursue it. I’m hoping it will be different where she’s at if they know she has ketones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top