Kit cat AMPS 307, PMPS 94 dosing question?

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hey there.

So, Kit's AMPS was 307, and she received 1 unit of Lantus. Her PMPS was 94, I stalled for 20 minutes, and it went up to 106, at which point she was fed. The last time her numbers were below 150 and I didn't shoot, she was back up pretty high the next test. I haven't been able to do a lot of mid day testing, as I'm at work for pretty much all of the time between her morning test and the +10 time.
I guess my question is what I should be doing in this situation. Stall again? No shot? If it's in the evening I'm around to check her, but if it's a low AMPS number, I hesitate to even do a token dose since I won't be around. I am planning to do her first curve tomorrow. Thoughts?
 
Hi !
Just wondering if you had a chance to review the two dosing methods ( TR vs. SLGS ) and which you are trying to follow? SLGS doesn't recommend shooting anything under (150) to start with.
You don't have a lot of data for after the insulin is given or overnight, so I am not sure you should dose anything. If you could try and grab +1 or +2 BGs , it is helpful in times like this to know if your kitty continues to rise even after the insulin shot until the next dose starts to kick in. Is it possible to grab more test sometimes before bed?

If you could go to the drop down menu under the THREAD option to the right of your post and select EDIT TITLE you can add a question mark to your post to draw more attention. I also put " dosing help" in the title or " stalling" so people know I'm waiting for a response
 
Hi !
Just wondering if you had a chance to review the two dosing methods ( TR vs. SLGS ) and which you are trying to follow? SLGS doesn't recommend shooting anything under (150) to start with.
You don't have a lot of data for after the insulin is given or overnight, so I am not sure you should dose anything. If you could try and grab +1 or +2 BGs , it is helpful in times like this to know if your kitty continues to rise even after the insulin shot until the next dose starts to kick in. Is it possible to grab more test sometimes before bed?

If you could go to the drop down menu under the THREAD option to the right of your post and select EDIT TITLE you can add a question mark to your post to draw more attention. I also put " dosing help" in the title or " stalling" so people know I'm waiting for a response

I'm doing the SLGS method. I can definitely get a couple of tests in tonight. Weekends are easier for me to get more in between tests after dosing for morning shots. And she and I have been working up to tests more often. She's less excited about it.
 
I think 106 is too low for you to shoot at this point. Your lowest preshot you have given insulin is 166.
She probably dropped lower than 94 doing the cycle as well.
I would skip the shot.
 
With the SS can you stack in the PMPS box.....94@+12, 106 @+12.20 please so everyone can see what happened.
Are you able to get any more tests in during the cycles?
For example it is highly recommended that you get a before bed test in every night as that can tell you if Kit is going to drop lower that cycle as many cats do drop lower at night. If the before bed test is the same or lower than the preshot number then it is probably going to be an active cycle and it would be wise to set the alarm and get up later and test to see if the BG has dropped low.

Also are you able to get any more tests in during the day? You don't have many tests in at all.
You could maybe get a +2 before you go to work or a +10 when you come home, and on your days off do a curve or get several tests I during the am cycle. Don't neglect the pm cycle as that is just as important as the am cycle and we base the dosing on the lowest number in the cycles not the preshot. All data is valuable.

I think I would reduce the dose to 0.75 units for the next dose...not this one that you are going to skip..
Technically she hasn't earned a reduction but I think she probably dropped lower than 94 during the am cycle and as you are not testing much I think it would be safer to reduce and you have had to skip a few shots because of low preshots.
 
I'm doing the SLGS method. I can definitely get a couple of tests in tonight. Weekends are easier for me to get more in between tests after dosing for morning shots. And she and I have been working up to tests more often. She's less excited about it.


My cat used to try to bite me.
I started setting up to test , not testing and giving him a low carb treat. Then I'd act like I was going to test...grab his foot ( or ear, but we use paw pads) and give him a reward. By the time I got to testing more....he was just looking for the treat. Now that he feels better and we are on a schedule- he just sits in his testing spot when it's time or randomly (when he wants a treat I think).
You'll get there
 
With the SS can you stack in the PMPS box.....94@+12, 106 @+12.20 please so everyone can see what happened.
Are you able to get any more tests in during the cycles?
For example it is highly recommended that you get a before bed test in every night as that can tell you if Kit is going to drop lower that cycle as many cats do drop lower at night. If the before bed test is the same or lower than the preshot number then it is probably going to be an active cycle and it would be wise to set the alarm and get up later and test to see if the BG has dropped low.

Also are you able to get any more tests in during the day? You don't have many tests in at all.
You could maybe get a +2 before you go to work or a +10 when you come home, and on your days off do a curve or get several tests I during the am cycle. Don't neglect the pm cycle as that is just as important as the am cycle and we base the dosing on the lowest number in the cycles not the preshot. All data is valuable.

I think I would reduce the dose to 0.75 units for the next dose...not this one that you are going to skip..
Technically she hasn't earned a reduction but I think she probably dropped lower than 94 during the am cycle and as you are not testing much I think it would be safer to reduce and you have had to skip a few shots because of low preshots.

Unfortunately during the week +2 isn't possible. Her AMPS is at 630 and I have to leave for work by 740. I also don't get home until 445 or 5, so her AMPS can't really be earlier (during normal weeks - there are weeks during the semester I have 14-16 hour days that I'm trying to work out what the plan will be).
I can definitely get before bed tests, but that really means a +3 or maybe +4 test.
 
Unfortunately during the week +2 isn't possible. Her AMPS is at 630 and I have to leave for work by 740. I also don't get home until 445 or 5, so her AMPS can't really be earlier (during normal weeks - there are weeks during the semester I have 14-16 hour days that I'm trying to work out what the plan will be).
I can definitely get before bed tests, but that really means a +3 or maybe +4 test.

Ok, so the pm cycle is important if you can't get tests in during the am cycle. On your days off try and get some am cycle tests in.

Do you leave food out during the day for Kit?
A lot of us have auto feeders that open at set times during the day.

A +3 or +4 at night is great if you can get those tests in consistently during the PM cycles. I'd get a +2 and +4 as often as you can then sometimes a +3. If you are up later get a test then too.. the more data we can have the better it is to see what is happening.
If there is no testing during the cycles, the cat could be up high at preshot, drop low during the cycle, then up high again at the next Preshot and we would not know that the cat is responding to the insulin.
 
Back
Top