Kit Cat AMPS 219, +5@73, +5:20@74, +5:40@75, +6@67

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hey folks - so, Kit's morning numbers have been above 150, which is where I shoot, but her evening numbers have been under 150, where I haven't been shooting, for the last 4 days. She's been above 300 a couple of times, which makes me question the no shoot the night before. She's currently on .5 units of Lantus. She had been dropped to .25 due to going below 90, but after a few days of her going above 300 (minus a 71 that I question), I moved her back up to .25. Is it possible a good dose is between .25 and .5 as she continues to trend down?

If I switch to TR and start shooting lower - do you shoot the same units when she's lower? How do you know what to adjust to if you adjust? As a note - if it's between 150 and 200 I've been shooting .1 as a token dose to ensure she doesn't lose the depot. Thoughts? Am I completely messing it up in the manner I'm doing?

Edited to add - after I posted I checked at +5 and she was at 73. I'm testing again in 20 minutes, but she had also been eating when I got home, so that will possibly bump it up.

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
With TR you shoot the same amount of insulin. The Earned reduction number is lower, under 50. You definitely test enough for TR. The yellow sticky explains how TR works. Post daily and you will get all the help that you need.

Max was a bouncer. I did have to add and decrease in smaller than .25 increments and calipers really helped with that.
 
That cycle tonight looked good. Why don't you stick to dosing at 0.25 units for a few days. That'll give the depot a chance to build again too. The caveat is that if she goes below 90, you'll have to reduce again. Provided of course if you stay with SLGS for dosing,

If I switch to TR and start shooting lower - do you shoot the same units when she's lower? How do you know what to adjust to if you adjust? As a note - if it's between 150 and 200 I've been shooting .1 as a token dose to ensure she doesn't lose the depot. Thoughts? Am I completely messing it up in the manner I'm doing?
If you follow TR, you still shoot the same dose if the preshot value is lower, as long as they are above 50 (human meter) at shot time. Of course, some people work there way down to shooting that low. When you shoot low, cycles tend to be much flatter. Even under SLGS, once you have the data to do so, you can shoot a low as 90. Remember, we determine how to change the dose based on the nadirs or low points, not the preshot values.
 
Back
Top