Kim's friend -- Risky is out of hospital!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarthaPaige

Member Since 2011
THANK YOU FOR YOUR THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS. And thank you Kim for posting updates on Risky as I had no INTERNET! I now have Internet....Risky is home after being admitted and hospitalized for 2 nights with a UTI, high fever and 1+ ketones.... When he was discharged today (about 4 hours ago), he had no fever, negative ketones and his BG was 350. 9:00 p.m. is when I need to give him Insulin. I just checked his BG and it was 423.... and negatives ketones. The vet recommended that I give him 2 units of ProZinc... I was giving him a fat 1.5 before being admitted. I need all of you to help me determine the amount of ProZinc to give. THANK YOU! MarthaPaige
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Hi Martha....
First off welcome to PZI land. we are a great group of people and we are here to help you.
First I know you said you shoot at 9pm. could you possibly hold off for a little bit while we get together
and discuss. If you scroll down you will see that we were discussing your situation last night
and hopefully that thread will help you.
I will be right back
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

If you scroll down to New prozinc kitty-Help
that thread is about you and Risky
can you please read that and then we can talk
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Welcome Martha, any friend of Kim's is, of course, a friend of ours :)

Kim has spoken of you and we already have some comments but this was just mostly a hi! glad you and Risky are here! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

298 at pmps...

She is trying to feed FF and tuna and leave the dry off tonight. She will retest in 3 hours. Ketones negative and she is willing to test tonight...How much should she give him?
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Hi Martha,
You said he will eat tuna. Has he tried Friskees or 9-lives tuna? Those are low-carb choices. Too much tuna/seafood isn't the greatest choice either, but, if he'll tolerate one of those, we might be able to mix with some other chicken, turkey or beef flavors and just make him think he's eating tuna.
We must find a canned food he will eat and toss out that dry stuff! One of the reasons he would need higher doses is because dry food is higher carb food. But, I can't say for sure, but his initial starting dose may have been too high, and combined with dry food mostly diet, would be a reason that his dose just keeps getting bumped up.
Most kitties start on 1 unit BID. It could be that his "correct" dose is lower than 2.5, so his "right" dose might have been missed right from the start.
You aren't doing anything wrong, just following vet advice. It could be that the advice wasn't quite right from the get go.
Glad you are here! We WILL figure Risky out!
The weakness in his legs is most likely "neuropathy" which often goes hand-in-hand with diabetes. Often, just getting the diabetes under control will fix it. Some people use Methyl b-12 to help cure the problem. I haven't, but other here have.
Carl
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

ohhh, if she stops the dry tonight then I would reduce to one or 2 units
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Well, remember, last night I suggested adjusting to "zero" and test like crazy. But definitely no more than 1 unit. IMO.

Carl
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Hi Martha!

I'm relatively new myself, so I don't have any dose advicefor you. I did want to say welcome, however. This is a good group of helpful folks. Hang in there, we're rooting for you & Risky.
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Sorry I started another thread without reading this one completely....but, I just posted in the other thread.....I might would skip until in the morning and test around 6 am and start over with a clean slate. SHe knows ketones are negative and she is willing to test whenever necessary.
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Yikes, which thread does Martha go to for the advice?
I'm with "zero units" tonight.
Kim, I don't see Martha on the forum right now. Can you call her?
Carl
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

THANKS TO ALL!!! I can't begin to tell you how much better I feel with YOUR support. If needed I will stay up with Risky all night. As we say in the south "Bless his little heart"! I did not give him his 9:00 p.m. insulin. Since Risky would not eat the Tuna/Fancy Feast mix at 9:00 tonight ....I gave him 2 pounce treats and tested him about 1 hour after the treats. At that time (10:10 p.m.) he tested at 313. At 10:15 I gave him 2-3 tbsp. of his dry Science Diet Lite..... I will test him again at 11:15 p.m. So when I test him at midnight.... at what level would you give him insulin or not??? His last dose of insulin was at 9:00 a.m. Again, THANK YOU and I do feel welcomed! Martha Paige (Kim's friend)
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Martha--be sure to read the comments regarding Risky under the thread I started....Immediate help needed....there is more insight there..
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Hi and Welcome to our group,

Seriously I would skp tonight's shot no matter what bg you get and start fresh tomorrow.
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Hope we have good news this am. It was encouraging that he went down with just a small change in food, but I am concerned if he is not eating well. I hope she can get him to eat some wet lo carb soon so the insulin can be adjusted safely.
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

I feel sure Martha will post... But, here is a quick update. She tested last night at + 18 (no insulin) and he was 368. She fed him some tuna and a little dry. His amps was 477-- she shot 1 unit and fed tuna and the dry. I told her to feed the dry today--he grazes. We know what he will do with no insulin, now we need to see how much the dry effects his numbers without the high dose.

Ketones negative and she is vigilantly testing. She is doing a curve every 2 hours today and will post his numbers.

Is everyone comfortable with this? Do you see any possible problems?

Thanks for the help!
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Amps 477. Ate tuna and dry. Shot 1 unit
+2. 586
+4 519
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Definitely need to at least find a lower carb dry.... kitty gets a 25% boost from breakfast.

Carl
 
Re: new member -- Kim's friend

Welcome Martha and Risky to PZI.
You have come to the right place for help, lots of knowledgeable, supportive people here that will help you and Risky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top