Killa +10 89, +11 94, +12 89, +13 75, +14 99 (I'm stuck)

Status
Not open for further replies.

willow & killa

Member Since 2011
Killa woke up starving this morning! +10 = 89 (ate breakfast 2oz ff), +11 = 94, +12 = 89, +13 = 75, +14 = 99 haven't given insulin today...not sure what to do????

I wanted to do a curve on killa this weekend but got nervous to give insulin since his numbers have been lower than usual. I know i should be excited that his numbers are going down but instead i'm nervous that they will go too low. From what i've read in regards to shooting low numbers, I shouldn't give insulin when his BG is below 150? correct? besides the weekends i'm not home during the day to observe him.
Thinking i should go down to 1.25 or 1 unit bid?

I'm using ReliOn, when compared to my vets numbers it was 30 points lower, do others take that into consideration when testing and shooting?
Slowly but surly i'm getting the hang of all this ;-)

THANK YOU!
 
I'm hoping someone else pops on w/ more advice, I can't stay w/ you today. We don't want newbies to give insulin without someone watching over you below 150, not to never shoot low. That is our goal.

These are very low numbers especially since he has eaten so recently. How many times have you skipped in the last few days? This will at least bump you up.
 
You didn't shoot last night either? Then this is a very full shed or he needs less insulin. AT over 2 hours past shot time we usually skip. I'm sorry I have to leave right now, the safest thing would be to skip again.

Do the curve to though, you will get lots of great info. This could be the start of something good, paws crossed!
 
Ann & Tess said:
You didn't shoot last night either? Then this is a very full shed or he needs less insulin. AT over 2 hours past shot time we usually skip. I'm sorry I have to leave right now, the safest thing would be to skip again.

Do the curve to though, you will get lots of great info. This could be the start of something good, paws crossed!

Will do! thanks Ann and Tess....cute kitty
 
If you shot 4 hours late and then skipped this morning's shot, you can move your PM shot time back to wherever you want it.

What would you think about reducing your dose to 1.0u? I'm thinking that by reducing, you should be able to safely shoot twice a day.
 
I think that's what Sienne is suggesting, 1u tonight. Numbers may be a little wonky for a while, but you can always go back up. You may be high tonight due to the skipped shot too.
 
Ann is correct -- you can just reduce to 1.0u tonight and you can shoot at whatever time you need to shoot to get back on schedule.

Also, when you have a minute, could you put together a Profile on Killa? You attach the Profile to your signature just like your SS.
 
Thank you for all your help! Started Killa on 1u tonight and will see how it goes.
I will also start on Killa's profile as soon as i can.
Good night
 
Nice greens on Killa :mrgreen:
Way to go buddy!

Willow - it'll get easier, or at least that's what I keep telling myself :smile: :lol:

Edit to say: OMG! I just realized you're almost my neighbor! :-D wow! I mean seriously sorry you need to be here - but it's so awesome to know someone's close by, just in case - you know :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top