TheBowHuntress
Member Since 2012
Purring - is the cat exhibiting customary signs of contentment or happiness?TheBowHuntress said:I gave him 1-2 drops more of his insulin AMBJM said:You can use some of the secondary monitoring tools in my signature link.
What size are the pee puddles?
How are the 5 Ps?
How much water is being consumed? Include how much is being added to his food.
How's his appetitite? Any food left after eating?
Once you get to WalMart, pick up more urine ketone strips, as well as the glucose test strips. And by the way, our shopping partner ADW carries the strips for the Confirm under the brand Arkray Glucocard 01, as its the same meter, just labeled for WalMart.
I suspect you may safely drop your 'no shoot' number to 190 with the ReliOn meter. As you get the test data accumulated, the no shoot number can be lowered so long as the nadir is always above 50 and so far, it has been, even with the other meter, which tends to read lowish.
As far as increasing, jumping an entire unit is too much. At most, a dose increase or decrease would be of 0.25 units, and only if the nadirs stay between 50 and 150.
Playing - will the cat play and interact with others? Plays a little as is his norm but in the past basically usually looks at me like "yeah, right", he stretches his self up the cupboard where his food is and makes sure he leaves some claw marks (I did cap him in the past, but he hates it so my husband told him to take them off and leave him be)
Preening - is the cat maintaining its fur and cleanliness? He does clean himself (as well as my Nigel grooms him--who has a grooming disorder...LOL)
Peeing - occurs, and is a normal volume? Peed this morning before AMPS exceedingly--about a 6" clump and peed this PM at 1:00 pm (+4 insulin injection) a very normal amount. Dranks a lot of water this AM.
Poohing - fecal material is formed and passable? Yes
I always add water to his food...on the average, I would say 15% of his can of FF is water. Also, as is his norm, he usually doesn't purr HOWEVER as his norm he licks my face to wake me up and gets toilet paper off the roll for me when I sit on toilet!!!