Ketones at .06

Status
Not open for further replies.
Only time I gave this to him was when I brought him back from hospital after the DK incident.
I'm freakin out a bit I cant afford another $10K
Give tablet now
 
So I gave him 2.25 units of insulin 3 and 1/2 hours ago I did not think you were supposed to give insulin again till 12 hours on?
 
I gave him one spoonful he will only eat the Tiki which is 0% carbs I think he would eat more but scared to give him too much at once and then he's sick. I'll wait 10 minutes and then give him another small spoonful.
How much food does he need?
 
Now hes crying for food so given him bit more.
So what next


1) how much food does he need
2) how long do I wait to see if he is sick (he threw up 1 1/2 hours after his dinner this evening) and had bad diareah
3) how much more insulin do I need to give him
4) what do I need to do through the night
 
Ok ignore last post yours had not come through at that point

Do I need to check his Ketones again tonight? Not sure how quickly they will go up or down
 
See how’s he’s doing. I would feed whatever he will eat but small amounts until you are sure he will hold it down. Drinking is good. I would test bg in two hours. If feeling better and able t keep food down I would not test ketones again. If not eating or not keeping food down I would check ketones again.
 
Is this happening because he needs more insulin? He's on 2.25 should I increase this to 2.50 tomorrow morning will this help at all?
 
Ketones do fluctuate quite a bit over a 24 hour period. Just keep him hydrated. Did you give him Cerenia or Ondansetron? I know you gave one or the other, but I am wondering which one.
 
Should say 2.25 I was contemplating an increase based on Suzanne’s comments but so far have not increased.
It’s a typo I’ll correct it when I can get to the desktop. Kaz is curled up on my lap and I don’t want to move him
 
Should say 2.25 I was contemplating an increase based on Suzanne’s comments but so far have not increased.
It’s a typo I’ll correct it when I can get to the desktop. Kaz is curled up on my lap and I don’t want to move him
And so he’s keeping the food down I hope this means - since he’s curled up with you. Make sure his snacks are quite liquidy if he will tolerate that.
 
I gave him a tiki pouch. Pouch food tends to be more liquid. He has eaten the entire pouch in three small sittings and would ear more if I was to give it to him but too much food may make him sick. Going to test the BG in an hour. The nausea medicine is Cerenia.
 
Ok so he ate small meals throughout the night and his Ketones are now 0.4 he looks better. I am giving him 2.5 for his shot.

I have to leave him for a few hours as I have a meeting thats already scheduled by owner that I cant miss but going to try to get back by lunch and then work from home for rest of day.
He is well enough to leave his BG was in the yellows.
 
Hi Hendrick

Me too. It's been a while since I was that scared I thought I was going to have to take him to the hospital. The heat also broke last night. Still warm in the house but at least now its going from the 90-100 to the 80's so I'm hoping to get the entire house into the high 60s. Sure this will help.
 
Excellent, Claire. I hope his ketones will be even further down at next check. They’re trending in the right direction.

Thanks Suzanne still have an uneasy feeling. If I did not have to leave him this morning I wouldn't but I have really important meetings I have to attend the next two mornings.
He seemed pretty normal when I left have to admit I forgot to check the litter box as I'm a bit tired but as of 2.30am the box was clean. I think he only had the really bad bout of diareah right before he threw up.
 
If I have not already said it please know how thankful I am to your help and tiffmaxee last night. If I hadn't had the help I would have gone to the ER as I was scared after what happened last time.
So thank you
 
Thanks Suzanne still have an uneasy feeling. If I did not have to leave him this morning I wouldn't but I have really important meetings I have to attend the next two mornings.
He seemed pretty normal when I left have to admit I forgot to check the litter box as I'm a bit tired but as of 2.30am the box was clean. I think he only had the really bad bout of diareah right before he threw up.
Well, the Cerenia is supposed to last for 24 hours- so hopefully no vomiting today. I wonder what in the world caused the diarrhea. Poor boy.
 
Should I continue with the nausea meds again today.

Actually don't 100% know what caused the diarrhea I can only put it down to the heat. He eats the same food and all the food he had up to that point had not been refrigerated. Hes not always keen on food after it comes out the fridge.

I used to open three different foods a day and give the first half in the three morning snacks and then the rest in the three evening snacks so he had a variety. However he does not really like food after it comes out the fridge so I was splitting the can between the three snacks. So as I mentioned his weight is up so I have also been reducing his food intake but I can't imagine this has anything to do with it.

Have to step away nearly 7am here and I have meeting soon which I have to prepare for.

Thanks again.
 
Should I continue with the nausea meds again today.
That's probably a kind of "wait and see" thing. I would be guided by his behavior. If he seems off and hasn't eaten snacks when you get home -- or, since I think you are able to come home early today, if he doesn't want to eat his snacks or just licks the top of the food and walks away, or if he is licking his lips a lot, I would go ahead and give a Cerenia. Obviously, if he starts vomiting again you would give it, but I'm hoping that this won't happen and you can head it off based on symptoms. It was perhaps just a one time incident. It seems like he's done this before (although I don't recally if he had diarrhea also at the time or if it was just vomiting... a hairball?) Let's hope he's back to normal today. I hear what you are saying about all the food, too. A lot of cats don't like the food once it's been opened. I know he's not getting it while it's cold, so that can't explain it. Sometimes even I think it starts to smell differently after it's been opened. Warming in the microwave can help with some cats.
 
So been home about hour half. Kaz ate everything I left him and his BG is now 160 nicely in the blues. There was no diarrhea. He is eating half a companion Tiki meal now. I can see that his numbers are dropping but I want to keep him on the Tiki for now as he tolerates this food well but I know its 0% carbs.

My gut says that now the heat has broken he's going to go back to his normal self and his BG will drop I would not be surprised to see greens within the next 24-48 hours.

I did increase the dose to 2.5 as I know the Ketone issue signifies lack of insulin.

After last night I was thinking that maybe I should add some additional items to my medicine box. Anyone used any of the following products:- I'm contemplating buying all three

upload_2022-8-10_15-28-43.png
upload_2022-8-10_15-29-24.png
upload_2022-8-10_15-29-55.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-10_15-28-43.png
    upload_2022-8-10_15-28-43.png
    183.6 KB · Views: 208
  • upload_2022-8-10_15-29-24.png
    upload_2022-8-10_15-29-24.png
    327.6 KB · Views: 208
  • upload_2022-8-10_15-29-55.png
    upload_2022-8-10_15-29-55.png
    148.1 KB · Views: 190
@Suzanne & Darcy

He ate the two meals I left but this one hes thrown up unless my other cat ate what he threw up. If I don't stop Sam he will do this. I'll try and do another Ketone now.
Do I have to wat the full 24 hours or can I give him another nausea tablet now I'm worried about his main meal in 2 1/2 hours which I need him to eat in order to give insulin especially as his number is in the blues now.
 
I gave Kaz sick tablet 4-5 hours early but I could see that I have a problem. He ignored the first 4 foods offered but finally he ate DM which is for diabetic cats but also has carbs of 10% which I am not that keen on.

So far been ok has thrown up so fingers crossed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top