Barbara
Member Since 2011
For several weeks my cat has been showing trace ketones on the pee strips. She's showing no other symptoms & I've had her to the vet twice & they keep saying she's fine. I put water in her food to the point it's soupy. I have been raising her insulin but didn't change last week since I was out of town. I raised her dose today by .2 & now her PMPS is 125 then 20 mins. later it was 129. I got the Precision Xtra meter the other day & started testing her ketones. On Sunday it was 2.0 then 4 hrs later it was 1.2, Monday it was 1.4 so off to the vet she went. She had a fever & some faint "crackly" breathing so they put her on antibiotics. She's had 2 doses of Zeniquin. When I did the second BG tonight I decided to check ketones thinking for sure they would be better. Not so, now it's reading 2.3 the highest reading I've gotten. Anyone have any idea what might be going on? She's acting fine & eating well. No vomiting & not dehydrated. I'm totally confused! She just got her 3rd dose of med & I had to feed her so no shot tonight. I will check BG in a couple of hours.