Keppra side effect?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi and welcome to you and Dr Little Kitty.
I can't help you with the Keppra sorry but I am sure someone will be able to help you.

If you would like some help with getting Dr LK dosage right, we can help you with that, no problem.
Can you tell us what type of insulin you are using and the dose please?
Are you home testing the blood glucose?
It is not hard to do and it will tell you how the insulin is working in Dr LK's body and when to adjust the dosage.
Most of us use a human meter. There is a pet meter available but they are very expensive to run and the human meter is fine and is what our 2 dosing methods are based on.
If you live in the US a lot of people use the ReliOn prime meter which can be bought from Walmart.
Here is a link to testing the blood glucose. If you do it yourself there is no need to go to the vets for curves.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

And we use a spreadsheet that is colour coded to enter the data from the blood glucose levels.
Here is a link to setting it up. If you have any trouble doing it, we will help you
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Aks us lots of questions, we are very happy to help you
Bron
 
Hi I have 2 male brothers, Tyler is the diabetic and his brother Perry is not diabetic but has been taking Keppra for over 10 yrs now, has never developed diabetes, every now and then I will check is BG just for the hell of it. Perfectly normal BG
 
Thank you. I’ve actually just talked to my vet about it, and she says that Keppra can cause insulin resistance, so it may have caused my cat’s diabetes. I’m glad Perry is okay, though. Hopefully he never gets it, but I guess it’s good you’re checking occasionally, just in case (even if it was just for the he’ll of it lol).
Good to know, I wish you all the best with Dr Little Kitty
 
I’m glad to hear that. Haha. His name came about because for the first time ever, when I got him, I just couldn’t find a name that seemed to fit. So I was calling him little kitty because he was the smallest one in the house at the time. I asked friends, and when I was babysitting one friend’s kids, they came up with loads of names, and insisted that I keep them all. So actually, his full name is Sēnor Pepe Doctor Little Kitty. But his medicine comes labeled “Dr Little Kitty,” which the vet thinks is hilarious. Here’s a picture.
He's a beautiful kitty
 
Caninsulin aka Vetsulin here in the US. So you must either be in Canada, or possibly the UK?

Does your cat get more than the usual 8-10 hours of blood glucose control from the Caninsulin?
Would you be willing to share your latest blood glucose curve numbers with us?
We’re moving him to four units now, so hopefully that will be enough to give him a better curve so he can gain some weight back.
This statement from an earlier post struck me.
Diabetic cats can be exceptionally hungry, as their bodies can not process all the food they eat properly.
How much food does LK eat a day?
He may need more food.

I know you only asked about the keppra and diabetes, but there are lots of other ways we can help.
If we are being too "snoopy" or inquisitive, let us know and we'll stop.
 
All the dry he wants? I'm sure theres a reason but dry food is packed with carbs. sigh
When removing dry food from a diet testing IS essential as kitties BG numbers can drop to a very low range. I hate even approaching this because I know there are reasons people feed dry food.
 
I've taken the curve results, and added the cycles and the + hour times that we use. + hours are counted after the dose of insulin is given.

LK curve test 2 - 1 April 20

AMPS 1) 08:45 - 32.1 mmol/l (or 576.2 mg/dl)
08:50 Breakfast + 3 units injection
+2 2) 10:45 - 27.6 mmol/l (or 496.8 mg/dl)
+4 3) 12:45 - 20.9 mmol/l (or 376.2 mg/dl)
+6 4) 14:45 - 26.9 mmol/l (or 484.2 mg/dl)
+8 5) 16:45 - 26.3 mmol/l (or 473.4 mg/dl)
+10 6) 18:45 - 34.4 mmol/l (or 619.2 mg/dl)
PMPS (+12) 7) 20:45 -
dinner at 20:50 + 3 units jab

A couple of observations.
1. With Caninsulin, it's recommended that you wait about 20 minutes after feeding, to give the shot of insulin. That is so the food has time to digest and get into the bloodstream to counteract the faster onset of this insulin. That is not an issue for LK right now, but it could be one later, if the higher and higher doses drop his BG levels a lot.
2. Doesn't look to me like the insulin is lasting much past 6 hours. But that quick BG rise at +6 could partially be from the dry food.
3. Dry food is almost all high carb. Grain free does not mean low carb. Ingredients such as peas, potatoes, tapioca, and other starch sources are substituted for the grains.
4. Feeding after the insulin has been used up, has "pooped out", simply leads to the BG levels rising in the last half of the cycle. You might think about feeding in the first half of the insulin cycle only.
5. If those are the tiny 85gram tins of food, that doesn't sound like enough.
6. If you take away the dry food, Dr LK's BG levels are likely to drop by 5.5 mmol/L (100 mg/dL) basis points or more.
Here is a list of feline diabetic appropriate foods available in the UK. Food Info for UK.

The RVC (Royal Veterinary College) in London, did a study a few years ago, a diabetes remission clinic. They found that Prozinc works better in cats. Of course, if your cat is getting good blood glucose control, the study did say there was no reason to switch from Caninsulin.

Here is a link to the study. https://www.rvc.ac.uk/Media/Default/small-animal/documents/feline-diabetes-guide.pdf You and your vet may find this study of interest.
 
I’ll ask my vet about the other insulin, but she did say that caninsulin is standard here.
It used to be the standard. In fact, it used to be the first insulin vets in the UK had to use because of regulations, but not for several years now.

His dry food is in fact high protein and low carb senior food. His vet thought it would be fine after she looked at the nutritional breakdown.
I'm not aware of any low carb dry foods available in the UK. Which dry food is it exactly that you are feeding?

From that RVC study, about food:
"Carbohydrate content should be as low as the cat will eat. Current recommendations are ≤12–15% of metabolisable energy (ME) carbohydrate, with protein content ≥40–45% ME (low carbohydrate, high protein diet), though others quote <7% of ME (Zoran and Rand, 2013; Sparkes et al, 2015). Wet food is preferred to kibbles as the carbohydrate content is usually lower."

(2018) AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats actually recommends <12% carb content.
"Carbohydrate intake should be limited because carbohydrates may contribute to hyperglycemia and glucose toxicity. The TaskForce recommends a diet of approximately 12% ME, recogniz-ing that there are a variety of expert opinions on this topic."
 
Okey dokey. Hope all goes well with your cat and she gets better control of the diabetes.

Sorry, you posted just before I sent my previous response.
Bye.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top