? Kekoa No Shoot AM because did not eat, came home to food throw-up and PMPS is 89, do I dose? Helps?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anela

Member Since 2017
This morning I skipped Kekoa's injection because he would not eat for no known reason. I tested him and he was 101 at AMPS. I decided to skipped the insulin because I wasn't going to be home to monitor and I wasn't sure why he didn't eat at all.

I was relieved to see him (via cam) eat at 9:30am (I left the house at 6:30am). He revisited the room to eat at 1:30pm and has been pretty consistently going in and out of the room to eat. I'm now noticing via the cam (its 4:30pm) that Kekoa is circling around their food bowl looking around for scraps or crumbs. He's done this a couple of times already in the past 15 minutes. He's never done this before (at least in the past few months that I've actually been monitoring them).

Do you think he's super hungry because he didn't get his injection this morning (normally 0.10 of Lantus)? Am I expecting to come home to a really high BG?

I just wanted to get a jump on this as I may have questions on dosing when I get home.
Thank you!
 
Maybe he just got his appetite back and wants to make up for lost time? Glad he decided to eat for you. Hope he's not too high when you get home. :bighug:
 
Just got home and found that he threw up some of What he ate today, a little more that I’ve seen him throw up before which explains why he was searching so vigorously for food. His PMPS is 89 (no insulin this AM),

He is eating very well right now, kind of ravaganous (spelling).
 
He’s really going to town on his food, kind of scary. Not sure if I should take it away to slow him down.
 
Can you monitor him if you shoot? Got test strips and high carb food/honey/corn syrup?

You’ve shot lower numbers before and he is eating, hard to tell if he is going up or coming down, typically if you’re concerned you would stall a bit without food so you could see if he’s going up or down. You can shoot, give a reduced dose (drop), or skip, what do you think?
 
I have not dosed yet. I took bowl away, however he did eat allot more than usual in one sitting and he’s looking for me now. If you think giving him a drop is ok I can do that, however I’ll be away from home for a couple hours this evening (Friday Church commitment). I should be back by +3.5 - +4.
 
I would take it away in case you need to boost his numbers later. I assume you gave him his evening insulin?

I took it away but have not gave insulin yet. Kind of wondering if he’ll throw up again. Or is he throwing up because he didn’t get his insulin?
 
with a PMPS of 89 and you're unsure if he'll eat (and if he'll keep it down) it's probably safest to just skip again tonight

Lantus is great because they don't have to eat a certain amount before it's safe to give (since you usually have 2-3 hours to get them to eat before it "kicks in") but with the throwing up all day, it's probably not worth the risk tonight

If he continues with the vomiting, he should probably see the vet tomorrow though
 
with a PMPS of 89 and you're unsure if he'll eat (and if he'll keep it down) it's probably safest to just skip again tonight

Lantus is great because they don't have to eat a certain amount before it's safe to give (since you usually have 2-3 hours to get them to eat before it "kicks in") but with the throwing up all day, it's probably not worth the risk tonight

If he continues with the vomiting, he should probably see the vet tomorrow though

Thank you Chris. I was trying to do just a drop and shave a just a little, he might have gotten a tiny bit. And yes, will definitely take him in if he throws up again. Hope my guy is ok, he’s just been through so much lately. Thankfully my vets office is open all weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top