Kazi AMPS:188, +4:199 +5:188 +8:146 (Day 6 of Lantus)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda

Member Since 2010
We are on day 5 of the Lantus (switched from Vetsulin). So far I am pretty pleased- though a little confused, as I have yet to figure out where the nadir is for her! Kazi has a fun habit of dropping off a bit after her insulin has peaked, that doesn't seem to have changed with the insulin switch!

The next day I will be able to stick around to check her will be Sunday, so I was really hoping to have a solid idea of how the Lantus works with her. I AM pleased with it so far- none of the crazy drops we had with the Vetsulin...but I am unsure what I would safely call a no shoot number at this point. I was thinking 150 for the moment? Does that seem reasonable with the bit of data I have from the past few days? My schedule really doesn't allow for 'helpful' spot checks- her shot is right before I leave for work in the AM, and I don't get back until almost 9 hours later. My next day off isn't until Sunday. :?
 
Hi,

fantastic results so far :mrgreen:

Some cats do have a double dip-no exact reason that I know off-just part of kittys pattern and something you need to be mindful of.

As for no shoot number. Jojo is a vet tech and until she fell really poorly last year was a constant support in LL. I know she said a kitty couldn't really hypo on .1u of insulin, just not enough insulin to cause it.

If that is what you are giving and you know your cat will eat if numbers drop lower, stick with this and get a curve on Sunday.
Other thing your doing is that .1u is giving beta cells chance to heal (like using a crutch :mrgreen: ).

However, need to remember you can see your kitty, I and others can't. You have to be comfortable with what your doing.

Way your going I see distinct possibility of a party in the future :mrgreen:
 
welcome to Lantus Land! Kazi is looking GREAT already. :mrgreen:

Kazi is surfing nicely today. If he stays in this range, it's fine to shoot. He might dip a little bit before PS, the "double dip" is common with Lantus. Even so, if he's in the 130's or 140's you can shoot, since he has been surfing in this range all day. The idea is that by shooting a surf, he can hopefully keep on surfing alllllll night long. :smile:
 
Libby provided great information.

Are you able to get spot checks during the evening cycle? We generally like to encourage people to get at least one spot check in during each cycle in addition to the AMPS and PMPS tests. You should probably be seeing Lantus doing it's work -- you have a "shed" built by now and all of the insulin is available to work on BG numbers.
 
She gets her shot at 8:45- about 15 minutes before I leave for work. I don't think I can stay up until 1:45 on a regular basis. I can snag a +9 when I get home from work, and some earlier spot checks off her PM cycle, but I don't know how much good those will do me? This is one of the only perks to the vetsulin-- I could do 'good' spot checks on her and still get to bed in time to not be a zombie the next day. I don't know how you all do the random spot checks during the day- I KNOW I am not the only one to be gone for work from 9-5!

Tonight we went from a +9 of 147 to a PMPS at what is technically +11.5 of 264! We need a hair pulling emoticon here! :twisted:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top