Kazi 6/29 AMPS 379 +5:306 +6:335 +7:388 (Advice?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda

Member Since 2010
Kazi has been throwing some of the highest numbers I have ever seen the last several days.

I thought maybe it was getting into dry food- I caught the bowl not picked up a couple of times from the other cats. It was empty at the time- but that doesn't mean she wasn't the one to empty it. I also caught her stealing a bit from the dog's bowl.

That said, yesterday night she threw me a nice normal (for her) PMPS of 252. Her AMPS was 379. This morning my meter is saying AMPS of 379 again.

So...what would your first step be here?

My insulin SHOULD be good for nearly 2 more weeks, however this is a pen I picked up from Nicole here on the board and it would have been in her fridge for a few months (unused). Given the sudden spike I wonder if that could be it...?

My meter. Could be my imagination, but it seems to take longer to give me a reading lately. I've tested my strips- they give me a normal reading. So would that indicate both strips and meter are okay?

Lastly...maybe an infection of some kind? She is acting normally but I know that can cause high numbers.
 
Re: Kazi 6/29 AMPS 379 (Abnormally high #s- advice?)

Unopened, the shelf-life of Lantus is a couple of years. I doubt that Nicole would have passed along Lantus that was beyond its expiration date. As long as you don't see any floaties in the pen, it's probably fine.

An infection is a possibility, but I'm not sure that's what's going on. Certainly keep an eye on how Kazi is feeling and if things change, then a vet visit to rule out a problem is a good idea.

I think there are two other possibilities that are more likely. If you look at 6/27, I think Kazi bounced off of the blue number. Without some numbers to fill in the blanks, it's hard to know if numbers have gone a little lower and there's a bounce. The other possibility is that Kazi needs more insulin. He's been at this dose since 6/20 and you've not seen any green. It may be time to raise the dose.
 
Re: Kazi 6/29 AMPS 379 (Abnormally high #s- advice?)

I just want to pop in and say I wasn't meaning to accuse Nicole of anything. Insulin is clear, no floaties and she gave me the original box to store in- originally purchased in December. :) I am off work today, and go in late tomorrow so I will get a chance to check her BG frequently today to see what we get. Hopefully that will shed some light on things.
 
I am picking up another meter tonight if I can find them at Walmart for $20 again. Just curious to see if mine has been dropped one time too many...if not it cant hurt to have an extra.

Not sure what to do here- a bounce would have me thinking I back off the dose a bit, but if it is needing more insulin she needs more! She has rarely been in the pink since DX in march so this is confusing and frustrating as heck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top